We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Severin Sea Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Severin Sea Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 317: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would have rather stayed in a hostel than this hotel- at least I would receive friendly service. Upon checking in, the staff were pleasant. However, once in our room we noticed several things. The furnishings are old and in poor condition. I understand many Africa hotels have dated furnishings but they are usually taken care of and are in... More 

Helpful?
Thank NoExcuses_TravelOn
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear NoExcusses_TravelOn, Thanks for your valuable review which we would like to comment as follows: We are sorry that you were not happy with your room, please note that you booked our low cost room which are not equipped with rain shower or bathrobes. Those are the rooms in the Comfort Class. If you would have let us know we... More 

Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If this review was done on first impressions it wouldn't get any stars. We arrived at an empty reception yet it still took over half an hour to check us in. After check in we we had two porters to show us to our rooms. What a laughable experience! They had absolutely no idea where they were going and eventually... More 

Helpful?
Thank SiBaker64
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear SiBaker64, Thanks a lot for your positive comments regarding our Severin Sea Lodge, in particular about our food and service. We would also like to thank you for your valuable comments regarding your experience during check in. We will follow this up with our Front Office Manager. We have also taken note about your comments regarding housekeeping and will... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Value for money. At an amazing place. Nice staff and perfect rooms. The kitchen and the food is wonderful. It's the best at Bamburi beach. 2 nice pools and a great bar. The beach direct ro the compound is sugar white. The ocean is warm and save. A place you have to visit.

Helpful?
Thank Ron t
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ron t, Thanks a lot for your positive comments about our Severin Sea Lodge. Great that you liked everything from service and rooms to food and beach. We would be happy to welcome you again with a big “KARIBU” here at Severin Sea Lodge. James Owiti Resident Manager More 

Henlow, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you start with a great location by the beach on the coast you have a head start, but the Severin adds so much more. The accommodation (ours was in one of the many thatched lodges), the site, the service and the staff are all excellent. The rooms are clean, characterful and well-equipped with excellent verandas offering, in our case,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipMHenlow_UK
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Philip, We are pleased that you have chosen Severin Sea Lodge for your stay in Mombasa and that you have enjoyed it! Thanks for this great review about the hotel itself and our staff. Due to the high occupancy of the hotel we were serving buffet, however usually we have also set menus 2-3 times a week with various... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was booked at the lodge for 4 nights and ended up adding 2 more night. The new renovated rooms were big and clean. The garden beautiful and the service were nice. The breakfast was nice with a good variety.

Helpful?
1 Thank bunduki458
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear bunduki458, Thanks a lot for writing the nice comment about our Severin Sea Lodge here on Tripadvisor. We're happy you enjoyed and even extended your stay here at Bamburi Beach, and we'd be very glad to welcome you again soon! Best regards James Boho Guest Relations Manager More 

Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights. The welcome was good however check took a while. the rooms were quite run down and the bathrooms looked like they needed a bit of work. There wasnt any hot water when we stayed. There are two pools both of which are lovely although a bit cold. while we were there the hotel next door... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shaleen S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had the pleasure of visiting Severin Sea Lodge and my immediate thoughts ,"this secret needs telling!" The service was warm, friendly and quick, the atmosphere at the dinner dhow was magical. I didn't stay at the hotel but the dinner I had there was exquisite. Truly made my stay in Shanzu memorable. There was an after dinner disco which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Clare A
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Clare A, Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about our Severin Sea Lodge - especially the Imani Dhow - here on Tripadvisor. We are really glad that you enjoyed your evening with us and would be happy to welcome you again soon for a longer stay! Best regards James Boho Guest Relations Manager More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here whilst in Mombasa and I must say their hospitality was fantastic. Ask for the rooms on the new wing , they are meant to be so much nice as they have recently been refurbished. The hotel itself is really good to with two good size pools and a couple of bars scattered around the resort. The buffet... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pritesh_222
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pritesh_222, Thank you for your positive review about our Severin Sea Lodge. Great that you liked our rooms and our palm garden. Regarding the food please note that we are working on a new high season menu. Maybe next time you try our “Romantic Dinner” on our roof top terrace overlooking the Indian Ocean? Please visit us again! James... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016

Hi folks, we were brought to the Severin by our safari-around-Kenya guide Zomo, and it was a good move. On arrival, without a booking, they BUILT A RAMP for me. They were ready to help at any moment; into the pool, around the grounds, anything. Now, I love Kenya and Kenyans in general, and this hotel was not the only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mattharcla
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mattharcla, Thanks a lot that you have chosen Severin Sea Lodge for you stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your great comments about our service and our colleagues who are doing everything to make your stay with us comfortable. We would be happy to welcome you again in our... More 

Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016

had dinner reservations but the askaris were very rude to me and my family since we were residents...cant recommend it to anybody ....its terrible ..they only accept tourists..but when my sister went with her white husband they had no problem...

Helpful?
1 Thank Joysonia
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Joysonia, Thanks for your reviews on Trip Advisor in which you registered your dissatisfaction with the manner in which you were handled by our security guards last year September 2015 when you came to have your reserved dinner. It is apparent that the approach of our security guards at the gate was unfriendly, for which we wish to very... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

487 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (446)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (110)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (145)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.2 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
3.2 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#16 of 59 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
3.7 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#1 of 59 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
GPS Koordinaten: 3 59 13 Sud, 39 44 21 Ost ... more   less 

Additional Information about Severin Sea Lodge

Address: Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Price Range: $77 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Severin Sea Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Severin Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severin Sea Hotel Bamburi
Severin Sea Bamburi
Severin Sea Lodge Kenya/Bamburi
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay