We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Severin Sea Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Severin Sea Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 314: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was booked at the lodge for 4 nights and ended up adding 2 more night. The new renovated rooms were big and clean. The garden beautiful and the service were nice. The breakfast was nice with a good variety.

Helpful?
Thank bunduki458
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights. The welcome was good however check took a while. the rooms were quite run down and the bathrooms looked like they needed a bit of work. There wasnt any hot water when we stayed. There are two pools both of which are lovely although a bit cold. while we were there the hotel next door... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shaleen S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I had the pleasure of visiting Severin Sea Lodge and my immediate thoughts ,"this secret needs telling!" The service was warm, friendly and quick, the atmosphere at the dinner dhow was magical. I didn't stay at the hotel but the dinner I had there was exquisite. Truly made my stay in Shanzu memorable. There was an after dinner disco which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Clare A
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Clare A, Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about our Severin Sea Lodge - especially the Imani Dhow - here on Tripadvisor. We are really glad that you enjoyed your evening with us and would be happy to welcome you again soon for a longer stay! Best regards James Boho Guest Relations Manager More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here whilst in Mombasa and I must say their hospitality was fantastic. Ask for the rooms on the new wing , they are meant to be so much nice as they have recently been refurbished. The hotel itself is really good to with two good size pools and a couple of bars scattered around the resort. The buffet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pritesh_222
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pritesh_222, Thank you for your positive review about our Severin Sea Lodge. Great that you liked our rooms and our palm garden. Regarding the food please note that we are working on a new high season menu. Maybe next time you try our “Romantic Dinner” on our roof top terrace overlooking the Indian Ocean? Please visit us again! James... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hi folks, we were brought to the Severin by our safari-around-Kenya guide Zomo, and it was a good move. On arrival, without a booking, they BUILT A RAMP for me. They were ready to help at any moment; into the pool, around the grounds, anything. Now, I love Kenya and Kenyans in general, and this hotel was not the only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mattharcla
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mattharcla, Thanks a lot that you have chosen Severin Sea Lodge for you stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your great comments about our service and our colleagues who are doing everything to make your stay with us comfortable. We would be happy to welcome you again in our... More 

Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

had dinner reservations but the askaris were very rude to me and my family since we were residents...cant recommend it to anybody ....its terrible ..they only accept tourists..but when my sister went with her white husband they had no problem...

Helpful?
Thank Joysonia
Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is ok, Food is ok, but the location can give u some challanges at night. There is no tuk tuk or boda boda outside the gate, so if u like to go out at night u have to Call for a taxi. The Rooms are average, but the rates was good.

Helpful?
Thank thevikingNorway
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear thevikingNorway, Thanks a lot for your review here on Tripadvisor about our Severin Sea Lodge. Our hotel is located directly at Bamburi Beach with a lot of restaurants and bars close by. You can either walk at the beach or take a taxi which is also safer than taking a Tuk Tuk. Our Guest Relations Manager James Boho is... More 

Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spacious Rooms, and efficient services - Friendly staff, very hospitable, lovely pools, The breeze touches the soul as soon as you get a glimpse of it. The Swahili architecture and the tropical setup makes the place feel so relaxing.

Helpful?
Thank Mohamed M
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mohamed M, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your nice comments about our hotel! We would be pleased to welcome you again in our little paradise at Bamburi Beach. Karibu – Welcome! James Owiti Resident Manager More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Like the title says.... Run away fast. They will promise you anything you ask over the phone but when you arrive they will not deliver. They have no empathy. They don't even try to pretend. They simply talk down to you like you are a child or they are doing you a huge favor letting you pay them money to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Vikings9
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Vikings9, We have taken note of your review in the Trip Advisor and the reasons that prompted you to check out, even though you had a confirmed reservation. We wish to very sincerely apologize for the incident, although the circumstances under which you were aggrieved were not of our own making. You will recall that you booked and paid... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having read reviews and been to Mombasa several times we were keen to try the Severin Sea Lodge. It is in a lovely location on Bamburi Beach. Unfortunately we had a room down a corridor in pitch darkness with a view over a roof. The quilts were all single/double size on double/queen beds and did not reach the edges on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nelle785
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Nelle785, Thanks for your comments on the TripAdvisor reviews in which you expressed your liking of the food, friendly staff and swimming pool facilities. We have, however, taken note of your unhappiness with the room that you were allocated, which was surely not of your taste and more so that the air conditioning was noisy, prompting you to request... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

477 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (436)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (110)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (87)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (136)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.3 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 stars 888 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#17 of 59 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
3.9 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#1 of 59 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
GPS Koordinaten: 3 59 13 Sud, 39 44 21 Ost ... more   less 

Additional Information about Severin Sea Lodge

Address: Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Price Range: $68 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Severin Sea Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Severin Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severin Sea Hotel Bamburi
Severin Sea Bamburi
Severin Sea Lodge Kenya/Bamburi
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
#2 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay