We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 128: English reviews
Start your review of The Royal Hotel
 Click to rate
Stebbing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were enjoying a short break in Hayfield and decided to have dinner at The Royal Hotel. It looks like a traditional country pub, with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere and roaring log fire. I was expecting traditional pub food, but got so much more. The local pork belly was the most delicious meal I've had in a long time....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ragingebull
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed at the Royal for two nights with my wife and dog as we visited Hayfield to hike up to Kinder Low. On arrival the staff were more than welcoming and very friendly. The room was spacious and clean. The hotel was very welcoming to our dog as well. We ate in the bar both nights and thoroughly enjoyed our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Northern_Casual
bishops stortford
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great afternoon just sitting g by the fire eating snacks and drinking beer. The chips were to Fie for - real chips not processed and the cheesecake was tasty. Attentive service without being pushy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank manstondrive
Stafford
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely looking stone hotel situated a beautiful location. The rooms are modern,clean and comfortable. We spent Saturday night in the hotels bar (which had a nice atmosphere) and sampled the menu,yet again top marks for food service. The only downside,and the reason it didn't get 5/5 are that the showers in the bedrooms are so underpowered it's almost like washing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A group of 11 have just had a fantastic weekend. We all arrived from different parts of the country to a warm welcome, log fires, great service & fab food. We couldn't fault anything and will be back again soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichelleJSutt
Derbyshire
Reviewed November 29, 2016 via mobile

Recently visited with friends for Saturday lunch. Really enjoyed the food - great presentation and great value for money. Made to feel very welcome.Lovely village location and dog friendly too. Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrissie55
Gateshead
Reviewed November 25, 2016 via mobile

We visited for lunch today and can highly recommend both the quality and value for money. The special steak and kidney pie was delicious and the tasters were very modern and interesting. The two/three course meal deals were very good value. We look forward to returning. One small thing please check toilet seat in the Ladies. It doesn't stay up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djne11026
Derbyshire
Reviewed November 4, 2016 via mobile

Just been for a meal with my wife and 2 children, firstly the beer I had asked for ran out as the barmaid pulled it and I really didn't fancy any of the others so she asked me which one I would like to have, so I suggested a couple I fancied, went back to my table and she bought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian T
Hayfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 19, 2016

I moved to the village this year, my first experience of the royal was disappointing because the staff weren't serving they were busy talking in the kitchen. My second experience yesterday was a busy sunny day. I was served straight away by who I'm sure was the owner lady, very nice. For my second drink and to order food I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank member110
Lisa M, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We were sorry to hear that you weren’t served in turn when you visited us last weekend. We did have three bar staff on that day but, as you mention, it did get very busy indeed. Our chef could see there were a lot of people waiting to be served and thought he would help...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 2, 2016

On a perfect summer day we could not resist the chance to sit outside in the attractive village of Hayfield and enjoying a traditional pub meal. It is a pity that only 1 table had any shade though as the sun was rather strong. My fish and chips was served quickly and the fish was excellent. Perhaps a few more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David F
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayfield
7.4 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
8.0 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hayfield
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lantern Pike Inn
Lantern Pike Inn
#1 of 1 in Little Hayfield
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kinder Lodge
The Kinder Lodge
#2 of 2 in Hayfield
27 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waltzing Weasel
The Waltzing Weasel
#1 of 5 in Birch Vale
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Hotel is an 18th century coaching inn set in the picturesque village of Hayfield, the gateway to the Peak District's majestic gritstone plateau of Kinder Scout. The hotel is situated in the heart of the village by the River Sett, opposite St Matthew's Church and next to Hayfield cricket pitch. This impressive Grade II-listed building with its oak-panelled bar and lounge areas and seasonal log fire provides an informal backdrop to a wonderfully relaxed eating and drinking experience. Our friendly staff are on hand to provide a warm welcome and serve you traditional cask ales, fine wines and home cooked food. A magnet for locals, walkers and visitors alike, we also have five en-suite guest rooms, a dining room and large function room for private dinners, parties, meetings and other events. There is also an outside seating area and parking for 80 vehicles. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Market Street | High Peak, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hayfield
Price Range: $84 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Hayfield, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Royal Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask if there is a disco etc booked”
 of 5 bubbles lesleyread89, Aug 15, 2016 | Read review
“room 6 has a super smart bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles tracyp104, Jun 29, 2016 | Read review
“Room at the front was big”
 of 5 bubbles Rach1286, Sep 10, 2015 | Read review
“Let them know if you have any special requirements like a walk in shower.”
 of 5 bubbles 66761943, May 22, 2015 | Read review
“Book early and ask for a room with a bath :)”
 of 5 bubbles Tourist014, May 10, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question