We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 123: English reviews
Derbyshire
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Recently visited with friends for Saturday lunch. Really enjoyed the food - great presentation and great value for money. Made to feel very welcome.Lovely village location and dog friendly too. Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrissie55
Gateshead
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for lunch today and can highly recommend both the quality and value for money. The special steak and kidney pie was delicious and the tasters were very modern and interesting. The two/three course meal deals were very good value. We look forward to returning. One small thing please check toilet seat in the Ladies. It doesn't stay up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djne11026
Derbyshire
Reviewed November 4, 2016 via mobile

Just been for a meal with my wife and 2 children, firstly the beer I had asked for ran out as the barmaid pulled it and I really didn't fancy any of the others so she asked me which one I would like to have, so I suggested a couple I fancied, went back to my table and she bought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian T
Hayfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 19, 2016

I moved to the village this year, my first experience of the royal was disappointing because the staff weren't serving they were busy talking in the kitchen. My second experience yesterday was a busy sunny day. I was served straight away by who I'm sure was the owner lady, very nice. For my second drink and to order food I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank member110
Lisa M, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We were sorry to hear that you weren’t served in turn when you visited us last weekend. We did have three bar staff on that day but, as you mention, it did get very busy indeed. Our chef could see there were a lot of people waiting to be served and thought he would help...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 2, 2016

On a perfect summer day we could not resist the chance to sit outside in the attractive village of Hayfield and enjoying a traditional pub meal. It is a pity that only 1 table had any shade though as the sun was rather strong. My fish and chips was served quickly and the fish was excellent. Perhaps a few more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David F
Cambridge
Reviewed August 31, 2016

Hayfield is one of the most picture perfect locations I have been to. Simply breathtaking. The hotel is well priced and although the shower could have done with some updating, everything else was fine. There was a bit of noise until quite late but that's because it is also a popular pub. The breakfast was good and the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank melandjules
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 26, 2016

We stayed here for several nights last month whilst visiting the area. All staff were friendly and helpful and we found the food to be of a very high standard both for breakfast and evening meals. There is a large car park The bar has a good range of well kept real ales. The rooms are a good size, clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank waiorongomai
Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

A walking group of 16 of us came here for lunch after a lovely walk over Kinder where the heather was at its very best. We gave our order in advance so all was ready on our return. Lisa, the manager was very accommodating and reserved us some tables on the lovely sunny terrace. The lunch was excellent quality, well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Salkins
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 15, 2016

The hotel in itself was fine BUT and this is a big BUT and a warning for anyone who may consider booking a holiday there. The hotel holds wedding receptions and discos. We came back to our room 10.30pm after a very long day and looking forward to a good night sleep before embarking on a planned long hike the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesleyread89
Lisa D, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

We were sorry to read your comments and, as we did on the night, apologise that you were inconvenienced for 90 minutes by the music from the wedding reception in the function room last Saturday. Whilst you were aware earlier of the wedding reception taking place, we (erroneously as it transpired) thought, as you yourself were also attending another wedding...

Reviewed July 21, 2016

We stumbled across this pub after a getting confused with our dates and being a little desperate for last minute accommodation for 6 people. Lisa and her staff were very understanding and caring. The meals were excellent- cheap and hearty pub fare. A good selection of beers and ciders on tap too - which we needed after a rather stressful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aussiesinmaine
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayfield
8.0 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
8.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hayfield
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lantern Pike Inn
Lantern Pike Inn
#1 of 1 in Little Hayfield
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kinder Lodge
The Kinder Lodge
#2 of 2 in Hayfield
24 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waltzing Weasel
The Waltzing Weasel
#1 of 5 in Birch Vale
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Hotel is an 18th century coaching inn set in the picturesque village of Hayfield, the gateway to the Peak District's majestic gritstone plateau of Kinder Scout. The hotel is situated in the heart of the village by the River Sett, opposite St Matthew's Church and next to Hayfield cricket pitch. This impressive Grade II-listed building with its oak-panelled bar and lounge areas and seasonal log fire provides an informal backdrop to a wonderfully relaxed eating and drinking experience. Our friendly staff are on hand to provide a warm welcome and serve you traditional cask ales, fine wines and home cooked food. A magnet for locals, walkers and visitors alike, we also have five en-suite guest rooms, a dining room and large function room for private dinners, parties, meetings and other events. There is also an outside seating area and parking for 80 vehicles. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Market Street | High Peak, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hayfield
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Hayfield, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Royal Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask if there is a disco etc booked”
 of 5 bubbles lesleyread89, Aug 15, 2016 | Read review
“room 6 has a super smart bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles tracyp104, Jun 29, 2016 | Read review
“Room at the front was big”
 of 5 bubbles Rach1286, Sep 10, 2015 | Read review
“Let them know if you have any special requirements like a walk in shower.”
 of 5 bubbles 66761943, May 22, 2015 | Read review
“Book early and ask for a room with a bath :)”
 of 5 bubbles Tourist014, May 10, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay