We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayfield
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 117: English reviews
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for several nights last month whilst visiting the area. All staff were friendly and helpful and we found the food to be of a very high standard both for breakfast and evening meals. There is a large car park The bar has a good range of well kept real ales. The rooms are a good size, clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank waiorongomai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A walking group of 16 of us came here for lunch after a lovely walk over Kinder where the heather was at its very best. We gave our order in advance so all was ready on our return. Lisa, the manager was very accommodating and reserved us some tables on the lovely sunny terrace. The lunch was excellent quality, well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Salkins
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel in itself was fine BUT and this is a big BUT and a warning for anyone who may consider booking a holiday there. The hotel holds wedding receptions and discos. We came back to our room 10.30pm after a very long day and looking forward to a good night sleep before embarking on a planned long hike the... More 

Helpful?
Thank lesleyread89
Lisa D, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

We were sorry to read your comments and, as we did on the night, apologise that you were inconvenienced for 90 minutes by the music from the wedding reception in the function room last Saturday. Whilst you were aware earlier of the wedding reception taking place, we (erroneously as it transpired) thought, as you yourself were also attending another wedding... More 

Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

We stumbled across this pub after a getting confused with our dates and being a little desperate for last minute accommodation for 6 people. Lisa and her staff were very understanding and caring. The meals were excellent- cheap and hearty pub fare. A good selection of beers and ciders on tap too - which we needed after a rather stressful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aussiesinmaine
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

The food was excellent. Coming from Devon it was great to experience northern pies – strongly recommend the cheese and onion one. Fantastic. The room was lovely. Very clean, nice comfortable bed, nice and spacious. The shower was really poor though and the extractor fan noisy. Breakfast fantastic and the serving staff both in the evening and the morning were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin R
Lisa D, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback and kind comments. We apologise for the poor shower (and the response on check out when you raised it). We are looking into how we can improve the pressure, given the constraints of a very old plumbing system and the building's listed status. We hope to have remedied this shortly. More 

Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

have to start by saying the staff were super slow to acknowledge us when we first arrived-we felt invisible! not a great start, however they made up for it later with their helpfulness and friendliness. we stayed in room 6 at the front of the hotel overlooking the carpark and village. what a lovely room-tasteful décor, super smart bathroom, lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank tracyp104
Glossop
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

Being fairly local we've been meaning to try the Royal for food for a long time but boy were we disappointed. The beer was flat and the food was terrible. The vegetarian lasagne (which had obviously been frozen and then microwaved) was flatter than the beer and the garlic bread was stale. I did send the bread back but round... More 

Helpful?
Thank GPBob78
Lisa D, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It is appreciated. We have checked all of our beers and can only think that maybe your pint was served in a glass which hadn’t cooled down sufficiently after washing? This would have caused the flatness you mentioned. We would have happily replaced the pint for you with a fresh one. Regarding the lasagne, we... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

Visited The Royal Hotel to celebrate my birthday, the bar has a great atmosphere and friendly staff. Food is good very good quality, in particular the braised beef pie. would certainly return here for a meal in the future.

Helpful?
Thank Brendan B
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

Called in today for lunch-was going to sit outside as we have a dog but was told we were allowed to sit inside-so we did, ordered the lamb hot pot, fish & chips & the slider burgers-the slider burgers that my son had were big, I had the fish, lovely & the batter was tasty & not thick! Husband had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charliered555
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016 via mobile

Had a mini reunion with university friends over May bank holiday weekend and decided to do some walking. After much deliberation we decided a hotel would be best way to do it and The Royal didn't disappoint. Located right next to the National Park and with great staff, friendly locals and good honest food. If you want a first intro... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ed K
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayfield
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
8.0 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hayfield
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lantern Pike Inn
Lantern Pike Inn
#1 of 1 in Little Hayfield
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kinder Lodge
The Kinder Lodge
#2 of 2 in Hayfield
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millie's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Hotel is an 18th century coaching inn set in the picturesque village of Hayfield, the gateway to the Peak District's majestic gritstone plateau of Kinder Scout. The hotel is situated in the heart of the village by the River Sett, opposite St Matthew's Church and next to Hayfield cricket pitch. This impressive Grade II-listed building with its oak-panelled bar and lounge areas and seasonal log fire provides an informal backdrop to a wonderfully relaxed eating and drinking experience. Our friendly staff are on hand to provide a warm welcome and serve you traditional cask ales, fine wines and home cooked food. A magnet for locals, walkers and visitors alike, we also have five en-suite guest rooms, a dining room and large function room for private dinners, parties, meetings and other events. There is also an outside seating area and parking for 80 vehicles. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Market Street | High Peak, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hayfield
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Hayfield, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing