We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 201: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville
 Click to rate
Centurion
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is situated outside town but not far from the N1 (major highway). The rooms are modern and spacious with a bar fridge, small kitchen and feels like home. The shower was small and I couldn't move around when showering (I am not a big man) but they also have a bath. The staff is courteous and the service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nkibi N
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here on several occasions as it provides a reasonable standard of accommodation in the Durbanville area whilst visiting family. Rooms are nothing fancy but are clean and the beds comfortable. There is a large choice at breakfast and we were looked after extremely well each morning by Ashley. The reception staff were very helpful and were able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MandyCol
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear MandyCol, Thank you for taking the time to review Protea Hotel by Marriott Durbanville. We are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this place with my Prokard vouchers for our one year anniversary. Room and amenities were good and average. There was no fridge in our room due to maintenance and the staff did very little to accommodate us in this regard even though we did complain and raise it with them. We were only given ice to keep our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yoemna E
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Yoemna, Thank you for your taking the time to privide us with constructive feedback on your stay. We do appologise for the inconvenence of a bar cooler not being in your room due to an unforseen electrical surge that blew one wings fridges. We can confirm that we have placed new bar coolers in the wings and look foward...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My third stay in a protea and was impressed by the no fuss four star product. Rooms large and clean and comfy bed. Bar and restaurant excellent. Staff friendly and efficient. Being South Africa wine in the bar amazing value.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StuckinBangers
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear StuckinBangers, Thank you for your kind review, we are elated that our three star hotel fulfilled your expectations of a four star product. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Mananager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at Durbanville last weekend, from the 17 to 19 Feb 17. Was checked into room 225. Since arriving, there was a smell in the main bedroom en suite just as you step inside the bathroom. I reported it but it was not sorted. I've stayed here before with no issues. I may go back, but not to Room 225.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed S
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Mohamed S, Thank you for bringing this to our attention and allowing us to rectify the problem. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

it was our pre-honeymoon celebrations after the Traditional union of the families. They made our stay memorable. The staff all went out of their way giving us the VIP service to add to yet another milestone and precious moments.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lilly959
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Lilly959, Thank you for your kind review and we are wish you and your husband all of the best. We will pass on your kind words to the rest of the TEAM. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

After an initial hiccup with my room booking, all sorted with excellent front desk staff sorting out another room for us. Good quality rooms, neat and tidy as always. Most importantly all the staff are really great, from front desk, waiters, cleaners, bar staff etc etc. A special mention to Ashley that always goes out of his way to have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard S
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Mr Richard, Thank you for your kind words, we are sure to pass on your review to the TEAM. We are pleased that you continue to enjoy your stay with us. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed February 17, 2017 via mobile

Always a pleasure going here. Friendly staff, superb atmosphere and clean inside and out. The business rooms are great and well equipped with printing and scanning facilities. Pizza's are great as a quick snack.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robin F
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Robin, Thank you for taking the time to review Protea Hotel by Marriott Durbanville, we are elated that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 3, 2017 via mobile

Our original hotel double booked so we were asked to stay here for 1 night. Poorly designed hotel with no lift and tiny pool in middle which had do not cross tape wrapped round it. Looked like murder scene.i asked why - they wanted to get grass to grow. TV remote back missing, bedside la,p didn't work, only left 1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Sue, Thank you for taking the time to constructively provide us with feedback on your stay. Due to the drought and water restrictions, we have had so beacon off our grass section in order to protect the grass over the long run and do apologize if this caused any inconvenience. With regards to our room experience, we wish to...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed February 3, 2017

My family and i always stay at this hotel when we in Cape Town and i must say we always enjoy our stay. They offer excellent service, be it at front desk or at the dining and lounge area you will feel like the most important guest. The hotel is also in a great location, its in the middle of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Makgomo
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Makgomo, Thank you for taking the time to review Protea Hotel by Marriott Durbanville. We are elated that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

269 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (202)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durbanville
11.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
14.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
306 reviews
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 106 in Cape Town Central
567 reviews
12.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
896 reviews
12.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amongst the vineyards of the Durbanville Wine Route, Protea Hotel Durbanville is the ideal venue for business trips, conferences, training and team building, or simply a relaxed base from which to explore the region. The hotel boasts Standard and Deluxe rooms offering extra-length king size beds, en-suite bathroom with shower and bath, executive desk with multiple electrical points, air conditioning, tea/coffee facilities, LCD flat screen TV with USB port and mini bar fridges. You are spoilt for choice as Protea Hotel Durbanville also offers one or two-bedroom apartments ideal for families, long stays or sharing business people. The apartments offer a kitchenette, luxurious lounge and private en-suite bathroom with double shower. For your convenience, the hotel also offers 11-hour room service and a complimentary shuttle service to the main office parks and shopping centres in the area. Protea Hotel Durbanville’s conference facilities are custom built to provide you with a professional and seamless event experience, with a touch of the extraordinary. Complimentary Wi-Fi broadband internet access is available throughout the hotel and conference venues while the 24-hour business alcove includes PC access and printing facilities. Add into the mix a funky pool terrace area serving the best wood-fired pizzas around, a relaxed restaurant and a warm and vibey bar lounge, perfect for after work or pre-dinner drinks. The hotel is surrounded by D’Aria Wine Estate’s award-winning vineyards and the Durbanville wine route offers an excellent choice of restaurants and wine tasting venues. Adjacent to the Magic Forest walking and mountain bike trail, the hotel is perfect for the energetic types. The area is a shopping Mecca boasting the renowned Tyger Valley and Willowbridge Shopping Centres close by. If it’s nightlife you are after, the buzzing Tyger Valley Waterfront and Edward Street will keep you entertained with cocktails and music. For those travelling with the family, there are many attractions to keep everyone busy. Protea Hotel Durbanville – Value Beyond Expectation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville

Address: 99 Jip de Jager Drive, Vineyards Office Estate | Tyger Valley, Durbanville 7530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Durbanville
Price Range: $90 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“room with a patio area is quite pleasant”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 weeks ago | Read review
“better to call or email to make your requests for extras”
 of 5 bubbles lilly959, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“Main Hotel rooms are the best!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Makgomo, Feb 3, 2017 | Read review
“Have a room facing the vineyard - very quiet and a nice view”
 of 5 bubbles melvino2016, Jan 29, 2017 | Read review
“make sure you are given the room you paid for.”
 of 5 bubbles 836abbiem, Jan 6, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question