We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville

Cancelon$118*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$219*
$118*
Great Deal
$126*
$143*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 209: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

One of the better hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. I shared the unit with a collegue. It has 2 bedrooms, a downstairs and upstairs one, ensuring complete privacy, It also has a lounge and kitchen, Very clean, comfortable and modern, yet understated. Staff were friendly. The hotel looks out onto the Durbanville vineyards,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tripadviser2903
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST, Thank you for the kind review and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Durbanville. We take pride in the cleanliness of our property ensuring that our guests arrive in a room that sparkles, along with professional service all round. Your compliment will be reverted back to the relevant...

Turku
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Protea is a good choice if you are travelling with your own car and if you don't want to stay in downtown Cape Town. Hotel offers apartments style accommodation and the quality was very good if not excellent. Breakfast is plentiful and comes with good variety of choices. Wi-Fi tended to require periodical check-ins but otherwise worked nicely. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jussi T
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Jussi, Thank you for the time you have taken to write us a review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durbanville and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soonest. We will revert your comments back to the relevant TEAM members and esnure we keep exceeding GUEST expectations. Kind regards...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My fiance and I had a voucher for pizzza@this hotel,it was our first time at this place as well and everything was amazing from walking through reception to getting to the restaurant,the service was unexplainable especially for me as I come from the hospitality field,craig as well as our waitress nucko(im very bad with remembering names)ANYway,id recommend this hotel to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naeema M
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Naeema, Trust all is well? Thank you for your kind review, we are sure to pass on your kind message to the TEAM. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Prokard members. Staying over for 2 nights. Accommodation modern but small. Romantic couples shower. Great vibe and food at poolside. Friendly and helpfull staff. Pity about the loud noise levels late into the night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ken S
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Ken, Thank you for taking the time to review Protea Hotel by Marriott Durbanville. We are pleased that you enjoyed our F&B outlet and enjoyed the friendly TEAM. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Cape Town
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A quiet and tranquil hotel tucked away from the hustle and bustle, staff very friendly and helpful, atmosphere relaxing and the Halaal foods that was catered was a delicious spread and variety. The conference facilities was adequate and fulfilled our requirements and expectations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AKIsaacs
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear AKIsaacs, Thank you for your kind review! We are elated that you enjoyed your conference with us. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A short 20 min drive out of Cape Town. The surrounding is quiet with very little traffic. There is a hiking and jogging trail 300 from the hotel in a vineyard. We stayed in a 4 sleeper loft with a small kitchen. Disappointed that the hotel does not provide any cutlery The rooms are modern and spacious. The shower was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charles s
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Charles, Thank you for taking the time to review Protea Hotel by Marriott Durbanville. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for taking the time to highlight some valid points in order for us to improve our level of service. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Mananger

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed April 9, 2017 via mobile

The staff had excellent service skills, they helped in planning my graduation dinner providing me with everything I needed. The rooms were great, both the single standing room and the 2 bedroom apartment style. Very happy with my stay

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bopeli
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Bopeli, I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to review our awe-inspiring property. We are pleased that you have experienced our great staff and service overall and that our rooms offered to you fit your preference perfectly. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future at Protea Hotel by Marriott...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed March 30, 2017

The double room was at a very good price, competitive, bathrooms spacious, aircon good, location beautiful, staff really had that human touch to them, you felt good interacting with them. Quick service. We were there for my Brothers funeral and they did not know and it was as if they knew and we were treated so well. I would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karenvanniekerk777
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Karen van Niekerk, Thank you for taking the time to review Protea Hotel by Marriott Durbanville. We are elated that you enjoyed your stay with us! Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Centurion
Reviewed March 23, 2017

The hotel is situated outside town but not far from the N1 (major highway). The rooms are modern and spacious with a bar fridge, small kitchen and feels like home. The shower was small and I couldn't move around when showering (I am not a big man) but they also have a bath. The staff is courteous and the service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nkibi N
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Nkiti, Thank you for taking the time to review Protea Hotel by Marriott Durbanville. We look forward to welcoming you back! Kind Regards Albert Smit

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed March 13, 2017

We have stayed here on several occasions as it provides a reasonable standard of accommodation in the Durbanville area whilst visiting family. Rooms are nothing fancy but are clean and the beds comfortable. There is a large choice at breakfast and we were looked after extremely well each morning by Ashley. The reception staff were very helpful and were able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MandyCol
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear MandyCol, Thank you for taking the time to review Protea Hotel by Marriott Durbanville. We are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

281 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (202)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (32)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durbanville
11.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
14.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
320 reviews
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
941 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
12.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 106 in Cape Town Central
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amongst the vineyards of the Durbanville Wine Route, Protea Hotel Durbanville is the ideal venue for business trips, conferences, training and team building, or simply a relaxed base from which to explore the region. The hotel boasts Standard and Deluxe rooms offering extra-length king size beds, en-suite bathroom with shower and bath, executive desk with multiple electrical points, air conditioning, tea/coffee facilities, LCD flat screen TV with USB port and mini bar fridges. You are spoilt for choice as Protea Hotel Durbanville also offers one or two-bedroom apartments ideal for families, long stays or sharing business people. The apartments offer a kitchenette, luxurious lounge and private en-suite bathroom with double shower. For your convenience, the hotel also offers 11-hour room service and a complimentary shuttle service to the main office parks and shopping centres in the area. Protea Hotel Durbanville’s conference facilities are custom built to provide you with a professional and seamless event experience, with a touch of the extraordinary. Complimentary Wi-Fi broadband internet access is available throughout the hotel and conference venues while the 24-hour business alcove includes PC access and printing facilities. Add into the mix a funky pool terrace area serving the best wood-fired pizzas around, a relaxed restaurant and a warm and vibey bar lounge, perfect for after work or pre-dinner drinks. The hotel is surrounded by D’Aria Wine Estate’s award-winning vineyards and the Durbanville wine route offers an excellent choice of restaurants and wine tasting venues. Adjacent to the Magic Forest walking and mountain bike trail, the hotel is perfect for the energetic types. The area is a shopping Mecca boasting the renowned Tyger Valley and Willowbridge Shopping Centres close by. If it’s nightlife you are after, the buzzing Tyger Valley Waterfront and Edward Street will keep you entertained with cocktails and music. For those travelling with the family, there are many attractions to keep everyone busy. Protea Hotel Durbanville – Value Beyond Expectation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville

Address: Vineyards Office Estate 99 Jip de Jager Drive | Tyger Valley, Durbanville 7530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Durbanville
Price Range: $107 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The double storey 2 bedrooms unit is awesome.”
Tripadviser2903, 1 week ago | Read review
“Far from hotel cleaning staff and check the shower for leaks”
charlessO9621TJ, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“homely feel, like cluster living but your own space”
karenvanniekerk777, Mar 30, 2017 | Read review
“room with a patio area is quite pleasant”
, Mar 6, 2017 | Read review
“better to call or email to make your requests for extras”
lilly959, Feb 19, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Cancelon
$118* /night
View Deal
Protea Hotels$126
Hotwire.com$143
AMOMA$219
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates