We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ye Olde Fighting Cocks

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ye Olde Fighting Cocks
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

474 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 468: English reviews
Start your review of Ye Olde Fighting Cocks
 Click to rate
Great Sutton, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

A thoroughly enjoyable stay. The accomodation was clean and well maintained. Our host Tony was a real gentleman and couldn't do enough for us, including supplying us with a Lemsip. Food was delicious with very generous portions. Arnside is a delightful place. We will definitely stop by again. Thank you for your hospitality.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Went to this hotel Saturday 18th February for a short break with my wife as a birthday treat from my children. Found hotel very easily and check in was quick & easy, shown to our room (silver dale) which was more than adequate for our needs. Had a few drinks & a lovely meal in the viaduct restaurant in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely Place & we enjoyed our stay. Thought the meals in the restaurant were beautiful (Gammon & Chips & Sirloin Steak & Chips) we would definitely go back. Could have had a better breakfast as it came across a very small portion for a Full English & was a little disappointed by this but other than that found the stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nadinew1992
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed 2 nights, id read reviews and was really looking forward to staying. Arrived to a room which wasn't cleaned to a high standard at all, mattress filthy. I have nothing positive to say about the food, I had the fish, inedible! The breakfast in the morning wasn't much better, sausage was a very poor quality cheap option and was...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Kate N
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Thank you for being so sad and leaving a fake review after watching our hotel win C4's 4 in bed repeat filmed over years ago shown yesterday YOU, YOUR REVIEW AND YOUR IP ADDRESS HAVE NOW BEEN REPORTED TO BOTH TRIP ADVISOR AND THE LOCAL POLICE.

Blackpool
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second visit to Ye Olde Fighting Cocks and this time we sampled a Deluxe Room. We had e-mailed in advance and had asked for a room at ground floor level. On arrival, we were told that there were no ground floor rooms in the main building, but had been allocated a room on the first floor which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan H
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, I have a staff meeting in the morning and will show them your comment's. We look forward to seeing you again soon To keep up to date with special offers and Music Nights follow us on face book which is Fighting Cocks Arnside

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Crackin Christmas dinner , huge portions and all home made, no frills no fuss and and everyone sat together gave a great community feel and really helped us get to know some locals. Amazing value for what we got, couldn't even take a bite from the mince pies after we'd been fed so well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, We look forward to seeing you again soon To keep up to date with special offers and Music Nights follow us on face book which is Fighting Cocks Arnside

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes olde fighting cocks is a great place for a get away ,the facilities are very good ,the rooms have everything you need to a great standard, The food is very good ,with plenty of choice, And all the staff were met was very friendly and helpful especially Andrew who is a credit to the establishment .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wiganshunter
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, I have a staff meeting in the morning and will show them your comment's. The kitchen upgrade has enabled us the further improve our food We look forward to seeing you again soon To keep up to date with special offers and Music Nights follow us on face book which is Fighting...

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a lovely one night stay. Initially slightly disappointed that we had a side estuary view rather than a room at the front, but this was more to do with the details given on Booking.com at the time of booking, in no way any blame of the hotel and despite the less spectacular view from the room we had, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, I have a staff meeting in the morning and will show them your comment's. I am pleased you enjoyed our lovely breakfast We look forward to seeing you again soon To keep up to date with special offers and Music Nights follow us on face book which is Fighting Cocks Arnside

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place was empty when I visited (admittedly midweek in january) which made me a bit suspicious of why. However, room was clean and warm with a view across the estuary. It was quiet despite it being a bar that had sports on the TV. Breakfast was good. Cereals, toast, fresh fruit and yoghurt and then a cooked breakfast. So...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank martin c
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to leave a review, In January we will never be fully booked apart from Fri and Sat nights, and new have the highest occupancy rate in the Lakes !! We look forward to seeing you again soon To keep up to date with special offers and Music Nights follow us on face book which is...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tony made use feel welcome as soon as we arived even upgrade our room coz was my birthday. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant had a good selection of food at reasonable prices. Would recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa f
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, I have a staff meeting in the morning and will show them your comment's. We look forward to seeing you again soon To keep up to date with special offers and Music Nights follow us on face book which is Fighting Cocks Arnside

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (128)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnside
2.5 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
874 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
#1 of 2 in Milnthorpe
159 reviews
1.6 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
419 reviews
4.6 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Ye Olde Fighting Cocks

Address: The Promenade, Arnside LA5 0HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Arnside
Price Range: $61 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ye Olde Fighting Cocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Fighting Cocks Hotel Arnside
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Ye Olde Fighting Cocks staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Ye Olde Fighting Cocks staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The deluxe rooms are worth paying a little bit extra.”
 of 5 bubbles BlackpoolTrevor, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a room with estuary veiw”
 of 5 bubbles Wiganshunter, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“If you want a full on view of the Estuary ensure you check carefully when booking as some rooms are side estuary views.”
 of 5 bubbles mandyb787, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Estuary room”
 of 5 bubbles Z2563VXlisaf, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms in the converted barn are easy access !!”
 of 5 bubbles Evisonit, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question