We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Aqua Wellness Resort

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Aqua Wellness Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aqua Wellness Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 503: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed December 28, 2015

Just returned from 4 nights at Aqua and couldn't have asked for a better resort. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful. It is a calm, peaceful and friendly environment - guests and staff alike. I went with a friend and next time I would likely go with a significant other instead - but we still...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
SharonatAqua, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Lauren, We are thrilled that you had such a good time at Aqua, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon -- with your significant other! Happy New Year! Sharon

Portland, Maine
Reviewed December 27, 2015

We chose the round trip Aqua service for transportation. Santiago stopped off at a store so we could get snacks & drinks for our suite. Eventhough he knew no English and us no Spanish we were able to make it just fine. The ride was very long to get to Aqua but was great to see the countryside & life...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WattsInMaine
SharonatAqua, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Dear WattsinMaine, Thank you for the thorough and lovely review of Aqua! It's wonderful to hear that you found the staff friendly and accommodating, and that you loved your Tree House Luxury Suite. With its large pool and two bathrooms, Roble is really something! And yes, what a treat to see 20+ monkeys outside your window! It sounds as if...

barcelona
Reviewed December 27, 2015

My husband and I stayed at Aqua for four nights. We had come from Morgan's Rock and in comparison we were quite disappointed with our stay at Aqua. The hotel certainly has potential as the location is amazing, however it just didn't live up to our expectations, especially given the price. Pros Relaxing, nice beach, cool watersport activities. The staff...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jetsetterbcn
SharonatAqua, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Dear JetsetterBCN, Thank you for pointing out all the "pros" of Aqua -- amazing location, nice beach, relaxing, cool water sports. I'm sorry you were disappointed by your Tree House Studio. I'm sure you would have been more comfortable in a Tree House Luxury Suite, which has a king bed and more space. And how terrible that you had issues...

Paris, France
Reviewed December 26, 2015

I don't know where to start. I wish I read a review similar to mine before going, I would have spent a much better Christmas. Let's start : - We ordered a car one month in advance for the transport between Managua and the hotel. At $250 we expected something decent. We got the smallest dirtiest Suzuki Small Suv. The...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank diplorob
SharonatAqua, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Dear Diplorob, I'm sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay at Aqua. Thank you, however, for saying such nice things about our staff. They do try very hard and you were at the resort during the busiest week of the year, so everyone was under a lot of pressure. That doesn't excuse the lack of beach chairs, or...

Phoenix, AZ
Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

This is paradise-everything from the all-wood bungalows in the trees with screen and solid glass doors you can choose between, to the beach and the this-can't be-real postcard pictures you will take-there is beauty everywhere. I stayed in two different bungalows during my trip. I preferred Dormilino to Yuca because it had a plunge pool and was all on one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachq45
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Dear rachq45, Thank you for the glowing review of your stay at Aqua in December. So nice to hear you found it "paradise," right down to the beach, the ocean views, the ceviche and the spa treatments. How fabulous to hear that after snorkeling and scuba diving all over the world, you were impressed by the variety sea life you...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed December 18, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one week at the beginning of our honeymoon. The suite was gorgeous with breathtaking views. However, we did ourselves a disservice by not coming prepared. My tips for other would be to get groceries/alcohol on the way there because the restaurant is crazy expensive, especially for Nicaragua. An average dinner for 2 with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hwilson33
Reviewed December 17, 2015

Aqua is a beautiful property. The food is sadly mediocre and they could work on making the ambience a little sweeter (feels lacking in character). Since they are pretty new my hope is that over the next few years they will work out the kinks. They should also invest in some more yoga props.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Boston Yoga S
Reviewed December 4, 2015

A beautiful resort in an incredible location. Friendly staff. Main criticism is that lack most resorts, apart from the organised activities there is not much to do. The nearest town is 20-25 minutes walk and is quite small, so you tend to stay in the resort mostly. WiFi was surprisingly good quality, enough to comfortably browse the web and some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joel H
SharonatAqua, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Hi Joel, So glad you enjoyed the incredible view at Aqua, and that you liked the staff. You mentioned that there is "not much to do" at Aqua, but in fact we have kayaking, hiking, swimming, surfing, horseback riding, not to mention day tours to Nicaragua's coolest sights. Many of our guests, however, come to Aqua do just enjoy the...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed December 1, 2015

Just got back from a really gorgeous stay at Aqua Wellness. Such a beautiful location, with the perfect combination of jungle and ocean. From the moment I was picked up at the airport I was made to feel extremely welcome. Rooms are perched in the treetops connected by a lofty boardwalk, each with their own outdoor plunge pool. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sandyt0es15
SharonatAqua, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sandyt0es15, So happy to learn you enjoyed your stay at Aqua, and thanks for going into so much detail about what a special place it is! Yes, Aqua is a perfect resort for a solo traveler to rest and recharge -- and just 2 hours from Miami! Best, Sharon

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed November 30, 2015

We arrived at Aqua after a long day of traveling, flight delays, and van ride. We rode there in a nicely appointed van, stopped for some beverages along the way, and were accompanied by an amazingly informative guide, Emer. On arrival, we received fresh coconut water, tapas, and the keys to our room. Our luggage was swiftly taken to our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica J
SharonatAqua, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Jessica J, I loved your wonderfully detailed review of Aqua! So glad you liked the tree houses, the comfy bed, the view, the baby turtles -- and the howler monkey wake up call! I agree that our staff is great, and they make you feel love for the people of Nicaragua! Come back soon! Sharon

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

870 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (613)
Viewed
Room/Suite (110)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (93)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (202)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (198)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Forest View Penthouse (33)
Viewed
Forest View Treehouse (21)
Viewed
Ocean View Luxury Suite with Pool (43)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Redonda
1.5 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
340 reviews
9.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
14.0 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#11 of 26 in San Juan del Sur
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
11.1 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Aqua is a luxurious eco- and wellness resort with a private white-sand beach on Nicaragua's picturesque Emerald Coast. Guest accommodations are set in beautifully crafted Tree Houses on a wooded hillside overlooking the ocean. All have decks; some have full kitchens and outdoor plunge pools. Guests enjoy yoga classes, spa treatments and hiking, and water activities including stand-up paddle boarding, snorkeling, kayaking, surfing and fishing. Our guides take guests for excursions to nearby colonial cities, parks and volcanoes. Aqua's open-air bar/lounge and restaurant, with its wood-burning pizza oven and menu of healthy international cuisine made with local ingredients, are directly adjacent to the beach. The lush forest that envelops Aqua is alive with spider and howler monkeys, and a wide variety of colorful tropical birds. Aqua is the perfect spot for a destination wedding, a honeymoon, an active family vacation -- or a serene getaway where you can enjoy nature and one of the most idyllic beaches in Nicaragua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aqua Wellness Resort

Address: 1 Redonda Bay, Playa Redonda, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Playa Redonda
Price Range: $214 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Wellness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Aqua Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Wellness Hotel Playa Gigante
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Aqua Wellness Resort staff and other travelers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Aqua Wellness Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a room with a kitchen, you will need it! Restaurant is really BAD”
 of 5 bubbles ancahe, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“get close to the water if possible and if wifi is important, don't stay in the upper deck of conziuelo room”
 of 5 bubbles janined842, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Get a space that features a plunge pool. You won't regret it. If you don't like walking, try to rent closer to the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles Y6267PWsamk, Nov 30, 2016 | Read review
“If a lot of stairs are an issue check to see if they have rooms closer to the restaurant, those dont have as many stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles nabglow, Nov 29, 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the top of the hill so you can walk the stairs and stay in shape! Don't complain.”
 of 5 bubbles 237peytonl, Nov 18, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay