We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast

20310 Callon Dr Corner of Penny Road and Callon Drive, Topanga, CA 90290-3701
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (95)
Room & Suite (56)
Dining (10)


GreenLeaders Gold level
The Topanga Canyon Inn is the Premier Bed and Breakfast in Topanga, California. Hiking, bird watching, geocaching and mountain biking in Topanga State Park starts right out the doors of our Inn. Shopping, dining and greater Los Angeles start 15 minutes away. Malibu and fabulous beaches with surfing are just down the hill. We have eight individually decorated bedrooms with varying views. All bathrooms are private, some en suite with a bathtub and some adjacent to the room, with shower only. Our direct-booked prices include taxes and all amenities such as parking and wi-fi and a hearty breakfast. Guests are invited to use four different living rooms with balconies, decks, fireplaces and two kitchens where they may make complimentary tea, coffee, popcorn, cereal and enjoy fruit and cookies at any time. Museum quality fine art and pottery are visible throughout our Inn and beautiful, antique Stickley Craftsman furniture is featured in all common areas and several guest rooms.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Horseback riding
Car hire
Street parking
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Russian
234Reviews4Q+A69Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 142
  • 56
  • 13
  • 14
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mary R wrote a review May 2022
Eugene6 contributions
Hosted by Warren, He made us feel very much at home. He provided us with a beautiful full breakfast daily and offered great suggestions for day trips and local restaurants. The location is a wonderful retreat from the daily hustle and the hilltop views from this Bed & Breakfast are spectacular. We plan to return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Adrian N wrote a review Apr 2022
Polegate, United Kingdom339 contributions145 helpful votes
Rhett & Scarlett room. Actually booked this a year in advance which in covid times, coming from the UK and a no refund policy if booking that rate and not notifying within seven days was all part of a risky choice. Flying from the UK at present you have to covid test within 24 hours before flying, with both countries changing test requirements frequently, so could have been a complete loss. So that’s the risky side over. The actual stay. We landed in LA the night before and stayed in West Hollywood. The next two nights were at Topanga Canyon B&B. What a contrast. Both of us were amazed at the tranquility here. Yes the furniture is dated, I believe that’s the point. Every room is completely different. I’d have liked to have seen them all so we could decide on another for a return visit one day. Being the honeymoon room it is special. We sat in the evening looking out over open balcony doors as the sun went down listening to peacocks, turkeys and I’m guessing frogs/toads. Oh those noisy peacocks, but it is their neighbourhood! There is a joint communal balcony on this floor which we shared with other travellers in the morning and discussed travels. At breakfast it is a sit down and share with others, which compels you to join in conversation with others, which is not a bad thing. The common opening topic was peacocks at the top of the tree calling for a mate and we ensured Warren opened up and discussed the history of the place. So, now the basics. It’s at the top of a steep bumpy drive. Parking is tight but orderly with designated spaces. On entry paperwork and a briefing is completed. As stated all rooms are different and there are plenty of shared areas. We used this location as a base to explore from. Everything you need is in the communal areas. In the R&S room there is a jacuzzi bath, balcony, fireplace and large comfortable bed. Warren runs an orderly business and has rules in place for a reason, it’s his business. Would we return? Definitely. Absolutely recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: It is a bumpy ride up and parking can be tight. But that keeps it in a quiet area.
See more room tips
Diana C wrote a review Jan 2022
17 contributions5 helpful votes
Great service by Warren and his family. Christian helped us with the fire place and made a great breakfast spread. We paid for late checkout and ended up doing a conference call till 2 pm. Interior is very nice, albeit circa 1990. However, outside is gorgeous - great hike through state park.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Response from Warren Roche, Owner at Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jan 27, 2022
Actually, we were shooting for 1909, the year most of our antique Stickley, Limbert and Roycroft furniture was made.
Read more
miriana1234 wrote a review Jan 2022
Montreal, Canada73 contributions70 helpful votes
Spent 6 nights at this inn with my husband, while visiting our daughter who lives nearby. The inn is quite nice, a little dated, but comfortable. Our issues lay with what was agreed upon when we made the reservation, (requests due to COVID) which were not met, and the very poor customer service with the owner's employee, the person with whom we dealt with. There were some very awkward and uncomfortable exchanges between my husband and the employee which we did not appreciate. We travel quite a bit, and have stayed in all kinds of accomodations. We were never made to feel uncomfortable by any host, before staying at this inn. We essentially left early in the morning and came back late at night and so did not enjoy any of the guest spaces. There are several other very nice options where travellers to this area can stay, we will most definitely choose an alternative on our next trip.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
1 Helpful vote
Response from Warren Roche, Owner at Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jan 16, 2022
These Canadian guests stayed at our Inn while we were on our annual vacation and consequently only interacted with one person in management. They opted to not have breakfast and were gone from morning until night. Due to a problem with obtaining American currency they were not able to pay in full upon arrival as we had agreed upon and made several payments during their stay. Apparently they were offended, as senior citizens, by the business-like reminders of our 20 year-old manager (tested Negative for Covid).
Read more
ExploringCultures wrote a review May 2021
Napa, California48 contributions55 helpful votes
We booked one night at this B&B because it looked to have beautiful views and pleasant accommodations. The architecture is lovely and the room we booked into was alright although it did not have a view and had only a curtain for the bathroom. It’s a little on the rustic side but that wasn’t a problem for us. The young man that checked us in was very polite and helpful and the owner Warren was kind and helpful to us as we had taken a wrong turn, right next to their driveway and were up a steep and narrow dirt road. That was our fault and Warren drove up to back our car down to their driveway. Thank you so much for doing that Warren! We did not stay the night and forfeited our stay so we can’t comment on the accommodation. We are seniors and were very concerned that we would have difficulty getting out in the dark if we had an emergency. There were also a lot of stairs and they could be a challenge for us. That night a fire did break out in Topanga Canyon so we were glad we made the decision to leave although it looked like a beautiful and peaceful place. Our only wish is the descriptions would have given more detail in how steep and narrow the road is. We have a large car that is low and it was difficult to get around some of the sharp turns and rough roadway in some areas. We felt if we had an SUV or off road vehicle we would have felt more appropriate in the roads. Other than the last part of the roads, this B&B looks to be a restful, beautiful area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Topanga Canyon Inn, Owner at Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast
Responded May 28, 2021
Very nice people. I'm sorry they didn't stay as long as they were there. The gentleman had a very nice Mercedes 550 something which I backed down the hill after they had gone too far up the road. I parked it in the parking area and they checked in but decided to not stay. The private road is paved and two lane, but it can be intimidating for those who always drive on a flat city street or freeway. To show how one can get accustomed to it, I always drove my 1963 Lotus Elites up the road to my house 1/3 mile beyond the Inn and those cars are real road huggers.
Read more
Robin Behzad wrote a review May 2021
Chino Hills, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights for our anniversary and really enjoyed the uniqueness of this Mediterranean style B&B. We unfortunately arrived unknowingly that there was a large brush fire nearby so all the roads were closed to get to the property. The Owner guided us by phone to a back way that only residents knew of and then met us where we were stopped by police who were only letting residents in. The Owner and sons we met were very hospitable and the owners wife even provided homemade lasagna for our first night as all the restaurants in the canyon were closed due to the fire. Breakfast was very good and the room we stayed (Fred and Ginger) in was very nice and comfortable. Lots of charm and amazing views. I would recommend this B&B if you’re looking for someplace to get away from the norm, want to unplug from tv and phones and love nature and hiking.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Trisha T wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
If you’re looking for a quick getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city, this is the place! Wake up to the birds chirping outside your window and a lovely homemade breakfast. If you’re lucky, home baked banana walnut muffins and Warren’s fun life stories! The place is super quaint and clean with its own personality. My friends and I got ready for my wedding in the Casa Rosa common area - the view was so relaxing and everyone enjoyed so much! After the wedding, my husband and I came back to a beautiful romantic set up in the room with flowers, candles champagne and chocolates.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
JTinLA wrote a review Apr 2021
Los Angeles, California14 contributions
We had a wonderful weekend at this B&B nestled in the hills above Malibu. We are from LA, but wanted to get away and unplug for a few days. This place was just what we needed. Surrounded by nature, we felt miles away from the craziness of LA, with the comfort and service of home away from home. It's a great pair of buildings with unique and cozy layouts. The common areas are spacious and allow for lounging around or even chilling with a group around a fireplace. There are balconies all over the building and several great places to pull up a chair and just enjoy the view and the peace of the area. That was one of my personal favorite ways to pass the time this weekend. There is also a full kitchen and all appliances you would need if you wanted to stay in or were on an extended stay. The rooms are all very different and unique, so I can only speak for the Rhett & Scarlet room - absolutely wonderful. Spacious room, great views, private spa tub and fireplace, and a very comfy bed. Loved it! The staff was wonderful and it was great to support a truly family-owned small business. They gave you the space you wanted to have your own private time in the common areas, but were also available and helpful for anything you needed. They did service right! We are happy to have found our new little getaway from LA, without having to drive for hours, or worse, suffer through LAX. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend Topanga Canyon Inn to anyone looking for a quiet getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Chadlock wrote a review Mar 2021
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States16 contributions3 helpful votes
My daughter and I were looking for a place outside of Malibu to spend a few nights. Topanga Canyon was a good option for us because of expenses. It looked beautiful online (and is quite lovely in person) but we were really thrown by how high up it was. The elevations to get there were extremely vertical. In fact we missed the parking and ended up on a dirt road on a very steep incline. They were kind enough to come move our car for us. We are not Californians so are not accustomed to driving in these conditions. It's really in the middle of nowhere. The thought of driving into town on such steep grades with no road lighting hampered our anticipated experience. If we had known how it was situated, it might have prepared us better. But we ended up cutting our stay short by one night because there wasn't anything around it, no way to walk to places, you had to use your car. If you are looking for a retreat that is isolated, this would be a great option because the house has a full kitchen and it would be quite easy to stay on property. The architecture and design is lovely and homey. The breakfast was excellent. The only two dings we'd give on the property itself is there was a cat in heat who literally yowled all night, waking us up frequently and the shower had no pressure. If you do stay at this property, we'd highly recommend dining at the Inn of the Seventh Ray. It's magical.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Sightsee770932 wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
But-for the lack of staff wearing face masks, this is a quaint, clean, and lovely property. It is secluded, comfortable, and quiet. We were quite startled and uncomfortable that the staff did not wear face masks, as recommended by LA County and the CDC.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Response from Warren Roche, Owner at Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jan 7, 2021
Our staff is our family. All family members caught and recovered from the Covid 19 in January of 2020. We have since then been immune to this disease. No one in the family has even caught a cold and we have had our flu shots. We will put on a mask if you are uncomfortable and if you ask. Otherwise we consider it unnecessary and have zero faith that anything other than a N-95 or better face covering, regularly changed, has any chance of being effective; cloth face masks being little more than symbolic.
Read more
$279 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
topanga canyon hotel topanga, topanga canyon inn b&b
United StatesCaliforniaTopanga
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include The Getty Villa (4.8 miles), The Commons at Calabasas (4.7 miles), and Topanga State Park (1.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include King's Fish House, Sol y Luna, and Pedalers Fork.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Nike Missile Control Site (4.9 miles).