We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Crown Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 293: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to visit Birmingham in November of 2016 and on the way we stopped in The Crown Hotel just for recharging energies to continue the trip during UK. Our stay in the hotel was fine, nice and in a quiet room. Very nice breakfast with hot and cold buffet. After a quiet and relaxing night we decided to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was rudely accused of smoking in my room by the manager when I don't even smoke. The rooms are cold and dirty, the food barely palatable. I shall be instructing my company not to use this hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chazza23
Reviewed January 14, 2017

My friend and I decided to have lunch here today. I chose peri peri chicken, chips and coleslaw. It looked like it all been slopped on the plate, a massive pile of inedible foul looking coleslaw, peri peri chicken in alot of it's own juices and some lukewarm chips. Not good at all. My friends fish and fish was edible...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patricia C
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 9, 2017

The value for money was exceptional, the staff were very efficient and nothing was too much trouble.It is a very old coaching inn so you have to expect low beams and sloping floors in some bedrooms.. This all adds to its character of the place. The only slight criticism is the lack of a mirror by a plug in the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christinebF7859PR
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 6, 2017

we booked for over New Year the parking was very hit and miss the rooms where constantly cold when we complained the management said they only having heating on from 2pm which due to weather conditions which was minus figures was not sufficient the heating should be on at all times during winter months and the residents can control themselves...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joy C
Saltash, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 4, 2017

Hotel is old and a bit tired but this was more than made up for by the friendliness of the staff and the cost for the 3 night - 4 day Christmas break. We had 2 rooms, one for myself, my wife and our adult disabled son and one for my elderly mother. if you want a modern luxurious hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cluff69
Brackley, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 2, 2017

We looked for a venue for my fathers 87th birthday celebration and decide on the crown. Whilst it was more about the occasion than the food etc the meal we had was to a reasonable standard and enjoyed by all. The location was good and staff set tables for our group of 18 in the main restaurant overlooking the High...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davebw0lves
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 2, 2017

Went for a New Year break first impressions were favorable.We were given our key by staff we couldn't understand so after eventually finding our first thing we noticed was that the room was freezing cold.After trying unsuccessfully to turn on the radiator I went to reception to be told we were unable to regulate our own heating as it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank geoff w
ManagementTCI, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed the new years party. The heating goes on as soon as you check in to the room so it might take half an hour or so to heat up and the temperature can be altered by the guests in the room, every room also has an electric heater if needed....

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

We booked 3 rooms. The location is excellent, right in the middle of town. The towels were clean and toiletries were provided. There was aTV and yes and coffee making facilities. One double was very small and cramped. The heating and hot water worked in the rooms but they were very tired and scruffy. The blinds didn't work in one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Medoin
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay you are correct the hotel is not a modern branded hotel like e.g travelodge we are traditional coaching inn all the rooms are individually decorated and every room different, if the room was not to your liking if you had mentioned it to reception we would have immediately rectified the problem...

Brackley
Reviewed December 31, 2016

Firstly we were sat in the bar and not the restaurant for our Christmas meal. The main meal didn't come with any vegetables. Lamb was fatty and inedible. When we asked for veg and gravy we were greeted with a frost reception. Turkey and potatoes were frozen. Pigs in blankets were not cooked. When we asked to speak to the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nadine70Del62
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

All of our christmas day lunches comes with gravy vegetables potatoes all the ingredients are locally sourced and are not frozen products. what in fact happened was you left without paying and a member of staff had to follow you outside to get you to pay for your food and then still did not pay the full amount and were...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brackley
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Silverstone
Premier Inn Silverstone
#1 of 2 in Silverstone
539 reviews
7.7 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
7.4 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#1 of 3 in Towcester
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#5 of 7 in Chipping Norton
624 reviews
7.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
281 reviews
10.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Food & drink at the hotel
Crown Restaurant
Crown Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: 20 Market Place | Brackley, Brackley NN13 7DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Brackley
Price Range: $58 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Brackley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Crown Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“avoid over air conditioning units”
 of 5 bubbles joyc157, Jan 6, 2017 | Read review
“Didn't stay only had Christmas lunch”
 of 5 bubbles artistoxford, Dec 25, 2016 | Read review
“dont book a room at the front the clock chimes every hour through the night!”
 of 5 bubbles Yarco3, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“Ask to see the room before accepting it”
 of 5 bubbles LondonJennywren, Nov 12, 2016 | Read review
“Try another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Spydog007, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question