We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostal y Cabanas Mangai Rapa Nui

Save
Share
Tu'u Koihu s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000 Chile
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
View all 7 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (84)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (4)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#4 of 101 Specialty lodging in Hanga Roa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
MANGAI RAPA NUI offers you more than four options to stay in Rapa Nui. Think according your preferences and needs then choose the option which suits you better. Start and live your experience in one of the three strategic points in Hanga Roa. Hostal; 05 rooms with private bathroom and common kitchen. Casas y Cabañas; with capacity for 08 travelers.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Airport transportation
Shared kitchen
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
195Reviews7Q+A2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 150
  • 33
  • 3
  • 1
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Marina F wrote a review May 2019
3 contributions
Our host was so helpful we ended up not needing a tour guide and the rooms were pretty decent. The kitchen was very useful for us to cook every morning and we were very close to the center of the city.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco V, Gerente at Hostal y Cabañas Mangai Rapa Nui
Responded Jul 7, 2019
Iorana Marina, Thank so much, we are very grateful that you have stayed whit us
Read more
kellywphotog wrote a review Apr 2019
New York City, New York132 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
Do not stay here. To be fair, most of the accommodations on Easter Island are basic, to put it mildly. I went by the Booking.com reviews, and thought I was getting a good place. The hotel room was clean, with the exception that every day brought a few more roaches. I’m from Florida, so I’m used to a roach or two…but three roaches a day seems excessive. The dealbreaker was when I woke up one morning and a flying roach hit me in the head and bounced into bed with me. After that I canceled my reservation for the remaining three nights and move into another hotel. Furthermore, for paying nearly $100 a night it would’ve been nice if some basics were included in the room, such as a fan, (because there was no air conditioning), wash cloths, a hairdryer, or even just a table in the bathroom so you can set your shaving kit on it. The hotel staff was kind enough and they did give me a refund for the three nights I canceled from my reservation. There is a communal kitchen in which you can cook your food. I ended up not using the kitchen since the grocery stores were so depleted. There are other hotels that have better amenities, such as a pool. Do yourself a favor and pass on staying at Mangai Rapa Nui.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Too many roaches
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco V, Gerente at Hostal y Cabañas Mangai Rapa Nui
Responded Jul 6, 2019
321/5000 Dear passenger, we regret the bad experience you had with us, unfortunately on the island we have excess of cockroaches, fly and mosquitoes. We fumigate every month, but after your experience we are fumigated every two weeks. We appreciate your opinion, which allows us to improve our weaknesses regards
Read more
gina wrote a review Jan 2019
Berkeley, California4 contributions5 helpful votes
Sympathizing with you, my fellow traveler from Belgrade. I wish I found your review sooner. I stayed at the hotel Mangai on 01.21.2019. After checking out from it I was charged again, for a missing towel this time, per manager Javier, whom I contacted immediately. As simple as that! I did not take the towel, but was charged nevertheless, being at the mercy of a keeper of my credit card data, Javier. Future visitors of the beautiful Easter Island might find these unfortunate comments helpful. Please, be careful in navigating through numerous lodging offerings.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco V, Propietario at Hostal y Cabañas Mangai Rapa Nui
Responded Jul 6, 2019
After this misunderstanding has been placed in each room regulation, where among all the points is stressed that the spoiling of a towel, sheet or other item will be charged to the passenger
Read more
Nikola Perišić wrote a review Dec 2018
Belgrade, Serbia5 contributions5 helpful votes
I stayed at Mangai Rapa Nui from November 21 to November 26. I paid for my stay in cash. During the stay everything was OK. Unfortunately, today they have taken the same amount of money from my Master Card. This means that I paid doubble price for my stay. My bank informed me that they gave an order for 353,95$ to be taken from my Master card. I was trying to contact them via Booking.com but no answer so war. I was also trying to reach them through telephone but no one is answering the phone. This is unbelievable!!!! Shame on you Mangai Rapa Nui!!! I will keep writing bad reviews on every site untill you return my money back!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco V, Gerente at Hostal y Cabañas Mangai Rapa Nui
Responded Jul 7, 2019
Hi Robbers Could you write us via e-mail please, info@portalrapanui.cl and we will try to solve this unfortunate problem. We always try that our guest have a nice and pleasant stay in our accommodation. we will waiting for yoy e-mail.
Read more
Vladislove69 wrote a review Oct 2018
7 contributions
Mangai Rapa Nui - perfect place to stay on island. Javier and Hian made me feel like I’m at home. Nice, friendly and very helpful people.🤘They know everything about island and will help you if you have any questions. Rapa Nui - is expensive island, this place is best value for money. Thank you guys!💪 Respect!🤜🤛
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco V, Gerente at Hostal y Cabañas Mangai Rapa Nui
Responded Jul 7, 2019
Iorana, We are very hapy that your stay whit us has been pleasant. thank yoy so much
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$64 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ChileEaster IslandHanga Roa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hostal y Cabañas Mangai Rapa Nui
Which popular attractions are close to Hostal y Cabañas Mangai Rapa Nui?
Nearby attractions include Rapa Nui National Park (0.5 miles), Ballet Kari Kari (0.4 miles), and Church of Rapa Nui (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hostal y Cabañas Mangai Rapa Nui?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Hostal y Cabañas Mangai Rapa Nui?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a mosquito net.
Is parking available at Hostal y Cabañas Mangai Rapa Nui?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hostal y Cabañas Mangai Rapa Nui?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kotaro, Neptune Island restaurant, and Makona Restaurant.
Does Hostal y Cabañas Mangai Rapa Nui have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hostal y Cabañas Mangai Rapa Nui offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hostal y Cabañas Mangai Rapa Nui located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Easter Island.
Are pets allowed at Hostal y Cabañas Mangai Rapa Nui?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hostal y Cabañas Mangai Rapa Nui?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hostal y Cabañas Mangai Rapa Nui?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Orongo (2.7 miles), Ahu Tahai (1.2 miles), and Ahu Vinapu (1.9 miles).