We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tupa Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tupa Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 98: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There are definite pros to this property. 1. Airport pick up was good. 2. The young guy that manned the reception desk most of the time was helpful and friendly. 3. They were happy to do laundry (for which I happily paid). 4. It's relatively cheap. BUT. 5. Hot water was a big problem. The property tried to resolve this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dragonmann
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed October 27, 2016

I did not want to stay at a 'destination hotel'. The island was the attraction. So I chose a more basic hotel & it didn't disappoint. The room was very large & clean, I had a view to the ocean, a bathtub (lovely luxury at the end of a day of sightseeing), a good breakfast, an iron & ironing board,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 10, 2016

Really enjoyed our 4 night stay at this hotel. Stayed in room 20 which was spacious, clean and had a great view from the chairs just outside our patio door. The decor is a bit old but who cares it's Easter Island! The hotel staff pick you up from the airport and take you back so no messing around with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
Reviewed February 27, 2016

Staff were nice, rooms basic but OK, breakfast simple but adequate but internet wifi was very poorly implemented and internet access is hopeless, not just hotel but whole island. Not the worst choice but not the best.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 1, 2016

Only new hotels in the subtropics have a chance of being free from problems. The Tupa did very well as it is not new. If there was a scale just for subtropic hotels I'd give it a 4. Unlike other reports I found no cockroaches, had great service from the day staff (evening and night cover far less competent) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrisbeeoxford
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed January 11, 2016 via mobile

I wouldn't choose to stay here again..! So many cockroaches (at least 4 on the first night) The staff were extremely nice on our 3 nights we stayed here, but as soon as we checked out we got some serious attitude!!! Checkout is at 10am, but our flight didn't leave until midnight. Reception gave us the option to either leave...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tayladanielle
tupahotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tupa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment Tayladenielle. I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience at our hotel. The truth is that the 30% late check out fee was not only posted in a variety of places, and you were notified of it when you arrived, but it is also considerably less than any other place in the world....

Abingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 11, 2016

I spent four nights on Easter Island, and my room at this hotel was so basic, I checked out after one night. They lost three nights revenue, as the facilities and the service were so lacking. The "superior" room I got was very basic, with one small pillow, a cracked window, no fan, and no air flow, and was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarlUK999
tupahotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tupa Hotel, responded to this review

Hi CarlUK999, than you for your comments. We will work on fixing the crack in the window of the room where you stayed. I am sorry we did not provide you a fan or additional pillow, but it seems that the staff was unaware that you wanted one or perhaps you did not ask? I will advise them to be...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Tupa for 3 days, and all in all it was an ordinary, not very good hotel. We got a large room; with almost a sea view, and admittance to a garden. The room was quiet except for sounds of the waves and the crickets. Breakfast, housekeeping and atmosphere was ok. Service and kindness and knowledge of English...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bjoenn
Ontario
Reviewed December 29, 2015

I spent three nights in a basic single room. For the location (Easter Island!), I thought that the price was fair, even if the facilities/service were a bit lacking. The room was basic, but clean and totally serviceable. Everything in the bathroom worked, and there was free wifi in the lounge. The hallways were definitely shabby and the staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jaykay99
Bangkok
Reviewed October 19, 2015

I chose this hotel due to good reviews on TripAdvisor but I guess I was unlucky that I had some problems there. The employees of the Dirección General de Aeronáutica Civil or DGAC (Chilean civil aviation authority that oversees all airports) went on strike 15 Sep 2015 so domestic and international flights in and out of Chile were canceled or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BangkokGuy
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

165 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (110)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.2 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 14 in Hanga Roa
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#5 of 14 in Hanga Roa
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#9 of 14 in Hanga Roa
294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 14 in Hanga Roa
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tupa Hotel sits atop a small hill looking out over the West coast of the island and the town of Hanga Roa. Free WIFI is available in the lobby of the hotel. A free polynesian breakfast buffet is offered daily in the ocean view dining room. The hotel is located in a quiet area, one block from the main street and within 5 minutes walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and the coast. Please provide flight information in order to receive a FREE transport to the hotel from the airport Mataveri. Tours, car rentals, and other activities can be arranged at the reception desk. Mataveri airport (IPC) and Pea Beach are less than 1km away. Sebastian Englert Museum and the Tahai Archeological Complex are about 2 km away. Tupa Hotel offers 3 types of rooms: Ocean View, Garden View, or Budget. All guest rooms come with private bathroom, free daily breakfast, and daily room service. Ocean View and Garden View rooms have ceramic floors and include a patio. The most affordable option is the Budget Rooms, which are somewhat smaller than the others and have restricted views. For a real treat, book one of the ocean view rooms.Double occupancy rooms can be arranged with 2 twin beds or 1 matrimonial bed. Please indicate which bed type you would prefer at the time of reservation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tupa Hotel

Address: Sebastian Engler s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island n/a, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Price Range: $76 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tupa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tupa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tupa Hotel Easter Island/Hanga Roa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Tupa Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tupa Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Try to get close to WIFi router as no wifi in rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 651dougw, Feb 27, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room fan, or leave.”
 of 5 bubbles CarlUK999, Jan 11, 2016 | Read review
“confirm an ocean view room - it's their only plus”
 of 5 bubbles IpanemaGuys, Aug 13, 2015 | Read review
“To see Easter Island at your own pace, renting a car is a must. The hotel can provide this for you.”
 of 5 bubbles ShanghaiArnie, Mar 7, 2015 | Read review
“Pick a room with windows facing the ocean”
  • nice, clean bed
  • nice comfy bed with swans made from your towels
 of 5 bubbles LouC151, Feb 22, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay