We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Red Lion Inn

Certificate of Excellence
74 High Street, Cricklade, Swindon SN6 6DD, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Red Lion Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 236: English reviews
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very clean and spacious room overlooking the garden area. Breakfast very good and location very central and quiet. I was meeting friends who had flown over from New Zealand to explore the area. Great walks and scenery. A fantastic trip.

Helpful?
Thank Janice N
England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Four of us went for Sunday lunch. We booked a table and on arrival found ourselves in the bar. We asked to be move to the restaurant and that was not problem. Two of us had starters, I had red mullet which was good, the other person had tureen which was also good. Mains consisted of roast beef and roast... More 

Helpful?
Thank DeepBlueJohn
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked rooms on Expedia, then had to cancel. Cancellation confirmed but when we didn't register for first night (because we had cancelled) Red Lion charged us for the night and told us to deal with Expedia even after copy of cancellation sent to them. Very poor customer service

Helpful?
Thank Mauijimsam
RedLionCricklade, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon As you are aware from the screen shot Expedia sent you the cancellation was never made with them or us and therefore we lost 3 room nights during our busiest period of the year with walkers etc. I am sorry that feel that due to an error at your end the customer service was lacking however we were... More 

Level Contributor
211 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Husband and I came here for dinner. The place was certainly buzzing. We ordered our drinks and food after tons of prompting. Only two servers at the restaurant on sat night. Understaffed! Hubby had pork loin which was alright whilst I had the trout. It was oily and swimming in sauce. Really expected more from this restaurant. I had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Monkey168
Keele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Red Lion in Crichlade is a dazzler. The range of ales brewed on the premises is matched by a range of guest ales of all strengths and types. A microbrewery Pils, delicious after 13 miles of the Thames path and a marmalade breakfast porter were amongst those we sampled. The Pub follows the civilised modern habit of serving 1/3,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Graham_Bibby
Jervis Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a night whilst walking the Thames. It was our first experience of an old English country pub and we were not disappointed....it was so wonderful to have a bath after a long walk....the food, dinner and breakfast was AMAZING!!!!!! No wonder it has won so many awards!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank KateBow
Swindon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The pub has been refurbished to a high standard and is in a great location. Cricklade is a lovely town with lots of attractions. This is now a gastro pub and the food is prepared to a very high standard, presentation is impressive but portions are small, so not a place to go if you want good old traditional pub... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rockboffin
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We where staying in the cotswolds for the weekend and had a look on trip advisor for some help with a birthday dinner. The pub read ok so we booked,was the best thing we could have done. The pub was busy with a beer festival but the dining area was tucked away,so that was good. The food was brilliant,choice was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 1979sarah1
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for Saturday lunch and it was just as well we'd booked. This is a busy, friendly popular place, but the staff work hard to meet your needs, the food is good quality and served in reasonable time even when busy. Lots of nice ales, will definitely go back if we are passing.

Helpful?
1 Thank starmanUk
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

We booked a room in advance and an evening meal, we informed the staff of my wheat intolerance and were told to inform them 24hrs in advance so the chef could accommodate and change things for my allergy. Excellent we though a chef who can adapt to my needs, a proper chef. How wrong we were. The menu did not... More 

Helpful?
Thank karenx999
RedLionCricklade, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

I don't usually respond to reviews positive or negative as I feel that unless you are going to reply to all of them you should not cherry pick the ones you want to comment on however I was so annoyed with what was written on this occasion that I just had to have my say. We cater for customers with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cricklade
1.0 mi away
Cricklade House
Cricklade House
#1 of 1 in Cricklade
4.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel
6.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#4 of 28 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: 74 High Street, Cricklade, Swindon SN6 6DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Cricklade
Price Range: $104 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms and Hotwire so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Cricklade
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay