We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Prince of Wales

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Prince of Wales
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 67: English reviews
Torfaen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely country hotel, beautiful breakfast, really comfy beds and a lush resident dog called Scott. Quiet surroundings, a 20 minute bus ride from bath. Overall a relaxing and enjoyable experience. Highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank nerys261
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am sure Scott will be pleased that you enjoyed your stay More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our room was clean and comfortable. Tea, coffee and tasty biscuits. Loved the shower. The bed was lovely. The bus is handy into the city centre. The two young boys were exemplary in their behaviour. Very polite, friendly and helpful. First impressions upon arrival of the building are great, the flowers adjourning the hotel are beautiful. Didn't like the smoking... More 

Helpful?
Thank tatwalesuk
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, having taken over The Prince of Wales less than a year ago and as you will see by many of the reviews we have improved on a lot of things, The decking outside seating area is a working progress which will be complete by next summer. With regards to your request for an iron we... More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Arrived on Friday until today, the room was lovely and clean. It had what you needed in a room. The owners were extremely friendly, and could have a laugh and joke with. The breakfast was lovely, set you up for the day. Also the food I the evening was very nice too. Overall my partner and myself had a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda M
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to your next visit More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

We arrived here on a Friday and spent two nights at The Prince of Wales. I was a little disappointed with the standard of the room for what we paid for it which didn't include breakfast. The wallpaper was coming away from the wall at the edges in the room and our toilet didn't flush properly (this angered my boyfriend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Olivia H
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

It saddens us to read your review and that you were disappointed with the standard of the room for which we get many good reviews and comments, we have checked the toilet flush but have found no problem, it is however a flush system that you do have to hold the handle down until it flushes. The baths were disconnected... More 

Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

We were going to a wedding nearby. They allowed us to check in early. The room was small but comfortable with an en suite bathroom. The bed was the most comfortable bed I think I have ever slept in. So comfortable that we slept right through breakfast service. If I had had the breakfast I'm sure I would have put... More 

Helpful?
Thank SurreyShaz
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Its a shame that you missed breakfast, our full english breakfast gets many good comments with all 9 items freshly cooked and many locally sourced. maybe next time More 

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

The Prince of Wales is a beautifully kept country pub with a small number of rooms. The pub itself and the rooms are kept immaculately clean, and the outside is well presented with flowers. Gary and Kingsley are lovely, friendly people who obviously take great care to ensure their guests have an enjoyable stay, even my dog could not have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martyn S
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us along with your adorable King Charles Spaniel. We always try our best for our guests and it makes it all worth while when you receive comments like yours. We look forward to welcoming you again should you wish to visit Bath More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016

My husband and I have just return from a very enjoyable short break at the prince of Wales. Gary and Kingsley are very welcoming. The rooms are very clean with plenty of tea and coffee and even included a bottle of water. The shower was very powerful. Bed very comfortable. The breakfast was fab. So much you won't need lunch!!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review we are both so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

We stop just by chance as we needed a place to stay they had a room free and it was in immaculate clean condition a well maintained room . We had dinner the special that come with wine which was two steaks and all was cooked to perfection . After a good night's sleep and breakfast we felt completely ready... More 

Helpful?
Thank 86simong
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Its comments like yours that make all our efforts worth while. We hope to see you again More 

Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

Just returned from a weekend away at the Prince of Wales. Situated next to a main route into Bath but surprisingly quiet and peaceful. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Breakfast and evening meal of a high standard. More than ample portions at a very reasonable price. We certainly did not leave the table feeling hungry. Located about three miles out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin P
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are both so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon More 

Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

NEWLY UPDATED Room was very newly updated. Very clean and comfortable. Excellent site for trips into Bath and the surrounding area without any traffic problems. Food was good and plentiful. I hope the new landlord keeps up the current standards as we would love to go back some time soon

Helpful?
Thank deb0rahsimps0n
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks, so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peasedown St John
2.5 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 32 in Bath
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Bath Waterside
4.3 mi away
No photo provided
1.2 mi away
King William Inn
King William Inn
#1 of 1 in Tunley
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a traditional english pub with 5 ensuite letting bedrooms.We pride ourselves on giving a personal service and our home cooked food ... more   less 

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Address: Dunkerton Hill, Peasedown St John BA2 8PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Peasedown St John
Price Range: $97 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay