We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Sportsman's Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cowgill
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Sportsman\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 79: English reviews
New York City
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2016

Sportsman was our lodging for the night after the longest and most strenuous day on the Dales Way. Room was cheerful, clean and fresh; bath was newly renovated and rather luxurious (private, though not ensuite)! Proprietors friendly and accommodating with a delicious dinner from a rather varied menu. We were "warned" that it was unique, colorful, and had local character... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hnybnch
TheSportsmansInn, Public Relations Manager at The Sportsman's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit again! DC More 

Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2016

A group of us hired a cottage and unfortunately this was our local & only pub in walking distance. We went in on the first night of our holiday and didn't bother going back: Having a combined travelling time of 10+ hours we were hungry & looking forward to the start of the holiday. We had checked in advance and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rach_Z
TheSportsmansInn, Public Relations Manager at The Sportsman's Inn, responded to this review

Hi Rach_Z, We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit to us. I'd just like to address a couple of points from your review. Unfortunately at the time of your visit food service was limited due to the Landlady being in hospital recovering from major surgery-as mentioned on notices at all entrances to the inn. We're... More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

Good beers / Good views / good location / good food / reasonable price / friendly staff. What more could you ask for? This pub has great views of the North Lakeland and serves a wide range of Jennings bitters. All three meals were very tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Neil H
England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2016

Good tasty pub grub, pint and a chatty landlord right on Dales Way. No shower but a bath in private bathroom, much enjoyed for relaxing muscles. Good down to earth accomadation and tasty food. Accomadation available from 4pm , bar and food from 7pm, No WiFi or mobile till promised BT fibre arrives. Coal fire in bar, Cooked to order... More 

Helpful?
Thank Active_Traveller014
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2016

Could be fantastic country retreat, but the owner definitely has issues. Depending on your sense of humour, its okay.........he has almost none (Landlord takes himself too seriously). Rooms very small and plain. No TV's in rooms or the small guest lounge, you have to ask nicely and he'll put on the TV in the bar. Initial welcome in the afternoon... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank stephentK1887EE
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2016

I had a great time at the Sportsman's Inn. The local residents at the pub were funny and friendly. The beer was perfect, as was the steak. The room was spacious, the mattress firm, and the view of the river was excellent. I will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank moonbrew
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

The evening meal and breakfast was hearty and well cooked with good portion sizes. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spotlessly clean. Bathrooms are private rather than en-suite. There was no shower in the 2 bathrooms that we saw - not even a tap attachment to rinse hair. There is a resident's lounge but there's no TV - either there or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daleswalker4
London
Level Contributor
289 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2016

After a warm chatty welcome from landlady Sandra we were on our way up to our twin room, which has lovely views from its two windows. We had our own bathroom immediately next door. There's a bath and toilet but no shower. It's not high-end accommodation but it's comfortable and very clean. Although the bar is closed until 7pm, guests... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rentaquote
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2016

We stayed here overnight whilst walking the Dales Way, this inn is directly on the trail. Beautifully clean and comfortable accommodation. Excellent choice of beers and good choice of really good food on menu.

Helpful?
Thank Cliff C
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2016

There is nothing particularly fancy about this B&B in terms of the rooms and the facilities - for example, I had access to a bath but not a shower. And there is no access to WiFi in the immediate area (hooray!) This is more than compensated for by the friendliness of the hosts, the excellent and tasty bar nosh and... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnneKLeeds
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowgill
7.7 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
363 reviews
23.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
729 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Dalesman Country Inn
The Dalesman Country Inn
#5 of 11 in Sedbergh
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Garsdale
The Garsdale
#2 of 11 in Sedbergh
249 reviews
10.7 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,268 reviews
5.9 mi away
Thorney Mire Barn
Thorney Mire Barn
#4 of 23 in Hawes
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the Yorkshire Dales' best kept secrets and set in an area of outstanding natural beauty, The Sportsman's Inn is a prime example of the traditional country Inn. Steeped in history and dating back over 350 years this 17th century listed building continues its long tradition of meeting the needs of all who enter. Comfortable accommodation available all year round in rooms with private facilities, real ales from local breweries and delicious locally sourced food make the Sportsman's the ideal base for touring the Dales and nearby Lake District. Family owned and run since 1988. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sportsman's Inn

Address: Sedbergh, Cumbria LA10 5RG, Cowgill LA10 5RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Cowgill
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Sportsman's Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room 6 has shower. The others have bath”
 of 5 bubbles Alicearmy, Sep 15, 2015 | Read review
“Room 4 has a bath in it's bathroom,”
 of 5 bubbles ustwo3, Jun 22, 2015 | Read review
“All rooms look over the river to the hills.”
 of 5 bubbles SimonPym, Apr 17, 2015 | Read review
“We didn't stay overnight”
 of 5 bubbles WirralBeaniebabe, Sep 21, 2014 | Read review
“Apparently our's was one of the only rooms without a redone bathroom and only had a shower, so you may want to request a room with a bath.”
 of 5 bubbles SamanthaFrench, May 27, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question