We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bahia Principe Luxury Bouganville

Save
Share
Carretera San Pedro - La Romana, Km 12, El Soco, San Pedro de Macoris 21000 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$731
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/16/22
Hotels.com
$731
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/16/22
Trip.com
$567
View deal
eDreams
Prestigia.com$731
Orbitz.com$731
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4925)
360
Panoramas (8)
Pool & Beach (1551)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Bahia Principe Luxury Bouganville
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in El Soco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Facilities and services Pool area with 2 Jacuzzis, waiter service and palapa massage hut Sun terrace with Bali beds and bar service Lobby with reception area and bar BAHIA SPA (20% discount on treatments) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, padel tennis, football, basketball, volleyball, badminton Water activity and scuba diving centre Motorised sports (additional charge) Exclusive beach area WiFi in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free) Main buffet restaurant and 2 speciality (grill and beach) restaurants 2 Bars Fully-equipped convention room with seating for up to 500 9 hole Golf Club in Playa Nueva Romana Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, bars, karaoke, disco, casino and chapel Rooms 414 rooms: Deluxe Junior Suite and Deluxe Ocean front Junior Suite. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace (with views of the sea or tropical gardens) Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Alarm clock with iPod docking station Ironing set Flat screen TV Safe (no additional charge) Mini-bar with alcoholic drinks 24 hour room service Coffee-making facilities Umbrella WiFi (free) Pillow menu Butler service in rooms Evening turndown service Beach towel in rooms Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Cash point Car park Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Golf course
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Adults only
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Bay View
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Full view
Contact
Carretera San Pedro - La Romana, Km 12, El Soco, San Pedro de Macoris 21000 Dominican Republic
Getting there
Las Americas Airport31 miSee all flights
La Romana Airport19 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
3609Reviews1168Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,068
  • 892
  • 406
  • 133
  • 110
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tammy-Lin D wrote a review Jan 15
Oshawa, Canada4 contributions1 helpful vote
Jan 3rd to 12th I have to firstly thank all the staff who work at the Bouganville resort. Each of you has made our return visit there as memorable as our first visit in Jan 2020. A very special mention has to go out to the wait staff (Elvil, Hard working, friendly and always smiling,you are an amazing young man). (Adderlin, thank you for the laughs, and Champagne breakfast every morning. ( Carlos, Mr. Coffee coffee coffee. your energy is unmatched and always made us laugh. These 3 young men have made both our trips to this resort memorable and we are looking forward to seeing them again in Dec when we return. The resort itself is kept well maintained and always looks beautiful. The food is well prepared and there is plenty to choose from. The Don Pablo restaurant is where we ate 4 times during our 9 day stay, the food is well prepared and presented. we also ate at the Italian, and the Asian fusion and recieved excellent service. The Quiet pool is where we spent most of our time, there are plenty of chairs and they are all well cared for. The staff are constantly cleaning and making sure to sanitize after tables and chairs are used. The rooms are clean and well maintained, we had a toilet the continued to have water running and with a conversation with our Butler (carlos) everything was fixed. Butler(carlos) also had our room done up for our Anniversary with Champagne, candles and rose pedals, thank you. The Staff work very hard to make sure everything is clean and sanitized, they will check your temperture when entering for meals, and hand you a glove for handling the utensiles at the buffet. They also require you to wear a mask. Please Wear your masks properly. the staff here are working to provide you an amazing vacations, remeber that they all were with out work for nearly 2 years and this is their livelyhood. Their main goal is to keep everyone healthy and safe including there families when they go home at nights. The beach is beautiful, no it is not clear blue, yes it is sandy hazed, this is because furthur down the beach the ocean and a river meet. Yes you may incounter some jellyfish( they live in the ocean) there were a few small ones on the beach no big deal. the water is amazing and you may encounter some seaweed and some rocks(pebbles) wear water shoes. You will read some reviews that you have to go down a cliff to get to the water, this is unture. Some people look for a reason to complain. Go and enjoy this beautiful place you won't regert it. I Have to Thank Elvil, Adderlin, Carlos and Butler Carlos once again for treating us so well. Elvil and Adderlin are our Honorary Sons. please Say hello to them.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: looking for garden view room, ask for one hat doesn't face the lobby. this is because the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jazmin Guerrero Velez, Director General at Bahia Principe Luxury Bouganville
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, We would like to acknowledge that we have received your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your holidays at our Resort. On behalf of our General Manager and all our Staff Members we thank you again for your remarks and we look forward to host you in our property in the near future. Best Regars,
Read more
bmg617 wrote a review Jan 6
Buffalo, New York394 contributions117 helpful votes
This was amazing - we went 12/31/21-1/5/22 with a group of 8 (2 couples, 4 singles). The place was clean, spacious, and had plenty of space. It may have been a little quieter due to COVID and travel restrictions, but worked in our favor! The lobby was gorgeous and had beautiful landscaping around the entire place.3 pools and 4 jacuzzis (not hot tubs) all in short walking distance. 2 swim up bars, several restaurants (dinner reservations required at all except buffet!), and live music each night in the lobby. The night club wasn't open (yet), but we could also walk over to the Bahia family resort right next door and watch their nightly entertainment, too. The beach was a little bit rocky (shell-y?) but not uncommon. Water more of a dark blue than the bright turquoise, likely from the river meeting the sea nearby. Waves were great, water was lovely, but in most places (on the adults only side) you had to take a big step (a foot or so) down to get to the softer sand in which you'd wade out to the water. Lots of lounges and palm trees, beautiful sunset.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from OnlineReputation BPLRM, Otro at Bahia Principe Luxury Bouganville
Responded 1 week ago
Dear, Thank you for taking the time out to communicate that you have had a fantastic stay in our hotel. It is encouraging to learn that we have met all of your expectations, excellent services, staff and a dream vacation in the Caribbean. We are thrilled to know that achieved our goal, the full enjoyment, relax and satisfaction of our guests. We are already looking forward to host you again in our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in La Romana. Best regards Customer Services Bahia Principe Luxury bouganville
Read more
Betty B wrote a review Jan 3
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I don't usually bother writing reviews but I felt it VERY necessary to write this one for the safety of others based on my experience. THE GOOD: Beautiful grounds, so well maintained, lovely resort, amazing staff who go above and beyond and make your stay so much more enjoyable. They seriously work so hard. Our room was lovely and centrally located between the two pools. The a la carte restaurants were fantastic except for the one on the beach (Los Solas???). The Buffets were OK with the main building buffet being the best. The New Years Eve dinner was outstanding. A special shout out to head chef Jose P who orchestrated the most phenomenal New Years eve dinner we have ever enjoyed. Well done Master Chef Jose. You should be so proud of your accomplishments and your entire fantastic team. Most impressive. There were lots of places to lounge. Getting a spot was never an issue. THE BAD: - The biggest disappointment was the beach. It was dangerous to get in/out. There was a cliff of sand, sharp rocks and a drop. The water was not clear. The view is industrial. The dock and sporting equipment is located at the neighboring sister resort with a million kids monopolizing all of the inadequate water sport equipment. Inadequate as in numbers and as in quality. Tip: Don't lean on the railing of the the dock. - The water pressure in our room was slightly more than a trickle. (not exaggerating) - Water temperature and room temp was inconsistent - English throughout the entire resort was minimal - Spacing of tables, seating of guests in restaurants was not NOT socially distanced enough for me - Many were inconsiderate specifically in the buffet regarding socially distancing and often many not wearing masks where they should wear them - Gym equipment needs upgrading -Transportation to airport felt unsafe with a full bus and people not wearing masks from all over the world . Mask wearing was not enforced - COVID testing has a complete category of its own - see below THE UGLY: I am deeply disturbed bordering on traumatized by my experience getting the COVID test. Our test was scheduled at 8 am & we didn't get out of there until 10AM. Long line up with people butting in the que & nobody monitoring it. The testing space/office was approx 20ft x 30 ft. somewhat divided by only a desk. No plastic barricades or curtains to divide people. My husband and I and another couple were waved in to sit around the intake desk just as a family of 8-9 had just got their test results and were arguing about a positive test result. I immediately got up and opened the door & stood outside to get some air flow as everybody else remained inside. Approx 17 people including staff were in that room at that time. As I stood with the door opened, this one female & her family who felt they were above waiting in line blocked the door and continued to attempt coming in while all this was going on. The staff finally clued in to how dangerous the situation was and shewed us out to turn on the air and sanitize. Not sure if they sanitized the desk previous to this. We were instructed to come back in to the testing area and sit in the exact chairs the family who just tested positive sat in less than one minute earlier. We got our tests which was the easiest part except for the fact that nobody spoke English and I took my mask completely down instead of just exposing my nose because I couldn't understand her Spanish instructions. We were free to go after that with no real instructions but couldn't exit because of the family of 4 had pushed their way in the door and blocked the exit. After we exited, this family who had just tested positive were walking ahead of us through the resort without accompaniment and without masks. Suggestions to travelers: Bring cash for your test. Pull your mask only down far enough to expose the nose. If you are uncomfortable, ask for your test to be taken outside. BTW: Our results did not come in at the same time. We had to go down and ask for my husbands results. This happens often so don't freak out . It could just be a glitch. Suggestions to the resort: 1/ Conduct the tests outside or in a much larger space so social distancing can happen 2/ Separate the space with at least a curtain so people can not only have their own air but privacy 3/ Have an enter and exit door 4/ Have the people who are tested by the Rapid antigen tests sit outside the office space as they wait for their results (for safety and time management). 5/ Have a security guard manage the line when busy so people don't butt in and cause havoc, creating a dangerous space and to ensure social distancing and mask wearing 6/ If there are delays in the testing, contact the people scheduled to test so they are not waiting for hours in the heat, stressed out and missing out on their holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a room in the 54 block situated middle distance between two pools
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from OnlineReputation BPLRM, Otro at Bahia Principe Luxury Bouganville
Responded 1 week ago
Dear, We appreciate your feedback. It is important for us that all our guests enjoy their time on the property and leave with a good impression. We cannot tell you how deeply we regret were not able to reach your expectations during your stay with us. We have been taken very good note about all your comments mentioned in your review to address them to our relevant department heads to take the corrective measures regarding those situations. Best Regards CustomerServices Bahia Principe Luxury Bouganville
Read more
Montargis wrote a review Jan 2
Orleans, Canada33 contributions66 helpful votes
Senor Tavarez Can you speed up room service particularly for those in quarantine? My son says he has waited over 2 hours for an order. That is not a good standard especially for those who can’t leave their room. That is their only source of nourishment and being sequestered is tough on it’s own. Gracias
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from OnlineReputation BPLRM, Otro at Bahia Principe Luxury Bouganville
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear, Thank you very much for your comments, we will be contacting the corresponding departments to address your concerns. Best regards Brian tavarez CustomerServices
Read more
Lea T wrote a review Dec 2021
7 contributions5 helpful votes
To start with the good things: the hotel is beautiful, the gardens are lush, the facilities are well kept, the rooms are beautiful and spacey, the staff is very friendly , very helpful ,always with a smile on their faces . I would have given this hotel 4 or even 5 stars if I hadn’t been let down by one particular “ butler” during the last three days of my holidays which spoilt the comlete positive experience for me. Butlers are employed at the hotel to help, assist and care for their allocated guests and a lot of butlers do a wonderful job (other guests highly praised Joshi, Eddy Junior, Isaury etc who do their jobs brilliantly!) but I was very very unlucky with my Mayordomo called José who seemed to be more after my cash dollars than looking after me. I got very sick with food poisoning three days before my departure , I had a late dinner at the buffet and at midnight I was in terrible pain with stomach cramps, vomiting and diarrhoea. It lasted all night long and I got weaker and weaker and the cramps wouldn’t stop. I knew it was food poisoning because I don’t drink any alcohol at all, never use ice in my fizzy drinks, don’t eat fish or meat and never use tap water. In the morning I asked butler José to get me some medicine against the bacteria in my guts and some electrolytes and he came back with a single tablet slip instead of a whole package and charged me $40 (!!!) for a medicament that costs less than $3 at the local pharmacy ( I checked!) . …At least the pills helped alleviate the pain…. And when I asked him the following day to bring me a bowl of plain rice because I hadn’t eaten in 2 days and was to weakto goto a recast aura that myself, he answered he couldn’t do that because (I quote) “ plain rice is not on the room service menu” and that was it, he never cared about me any more that day ( nor the following day) I was devastated! Luckily I called reception who were very helpful and supplied me with what I needed. I reported this butler to the hotel management in an official written complaint. I cannot praise the lovely staff at reception highly enough , they were great and very helpful. If it hadn’t been for that unfortunate butler incident, I would have considered coming back to this hotel next year but the experience of the last three days (including food poisoning) sadly left a bitter after taste.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from OnlineReputation BPLRM, Otro at Bahia Principe Luxury Bouganville
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear, It is a great pleasure for us to learn that you have fully enjoyed your stay at our Resort and you appreciated the professionalism of our team members. We are aware that it is only because of them we are able to achieve our goal- the continuous improvement of our services. We are very proud to have received your excellent comments regarding our staff. In the name of our General Manager and staff, we would like to thank you for vacationing with us, we hope to see you very soon in our property. Best Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$143 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicSan Pedro de Macoris ProvinceSan Pedro de MacorisEl Soco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
414
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Principe Luxury Bouganville
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Principe Luxury Bouganville?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Principe Luxury Bouganville?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Principe Luxury Bouganville?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Principe Luxury Bouganville?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Principe Luxury Bouganville?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Bahia Principe Luxury Bouganville have airport transportation?
Yes, Bahia Principe Luxury Bouganville offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bahia Principe Luxury Bouganville?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bahia Principe Luxury Bouganville offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Bahia Principe Luxury Bouganville have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Bahia Principe Luxury Bouganville accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.