Bahia Principe Grand La Romana

Bahia Principe Grand La Romana

Ctra. San Pedro-La Romana, Km 12, El Soco, San Pedro de Macoris 32000 Dominican Republic
Traveler (6876)
Snack Bar
Dining (514)
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 1 all-inclusive in El Soco
Location
3.5
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.1
Value
3.9
Facilities and services Lake-style pool 3 Jacuzzis with bar Large sun terrace with sun umbrellas, loungers as well as a pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, football pitch, 2 tennis courts, padel tennis, volleyball and basketball courts Water activity and scuba diving centre Lounge theatre for entertainment Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) 1 main buffet restaurant 3 speciality restaurants 1 snack bar 3 Bars 9 hole golf club next to the hotel, in Playa Nueva Romana Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco, casino and chapel Rooms 400 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Sitting area with sofa Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Terrace Junior Suite Club Golden (See page 18 Golden Club, Hacienda Club) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Teen's club (11-16 years) Others services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Cash point Car park
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Babysitting
Parking
Fitness classes
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Golf course
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Bay View
Languages Spoken
French, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Exclusive discounts!

Location

Ctra. San Pedro-La Romana, Km 12, El Soco, San Pedro de Macoris 32000 Dominican Republic
5,626Reviews1,022Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,090
  • 1,804
  • 931
  • 414
  • 387
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Janet G wrote a review Sep 2023
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hi all this is our 11th night off a 14 night holiday. We're on honeymoon at this amazing hotel 1st of all I need to mention isael sabino this is unbelievable youg man he has helped us so much with any issues we have come across he's absolutes assets to the company. Also need to mention the beach restaurant there are 2 waiting staff who really make us feel very special their names are Ronnie de la Rosa, Miguel garsia they prepare a lovely table for our lunch other staff are very good too
The animation teem work hard on a daily basis and entertain kids all day I'd like to mention everlene (queenie) she get every one to join in the activities in the day and night. The pool bar staff are very hard working especially Lewis working on the swin up bar food is excellent something for everybody would I visit this hotel ill be back
Jan and Paul James room 2710 junior ocean front amazing view
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Any issues see management
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juliana Hendrickson Ortiz, Atención al cliente/recepción at Bahia Principe Grand La Romana
Responded Sep 20, 2023
Dear Janet Thank you for taking the time out to communicate that you have had a fantastic stay in our hotel. It is encouraging to know that we have met all of your expectations, excellent services, staff and a dream vacation in the Caribbean. We are thrilled to know that achieved our goal, the full enjoyment, relax and satisfaction of our guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
P & W from Ontario wrote a review Jan 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The food here was great as always and everything you would expect from a Grand Bahia. Staff was amazing and made the trip. Thanks to the following: Outdoor buffet Kendi, Yodell, Captain Juan(also indoor buffet), Indoor Buffet Handsome Hakim(spelling?) William, Tamarindo Bar Mario, Manold, Jahaira and Captain Epifano.
The one thing that we were disappointed in was our VIP status. We have been to the Grand Bahia franchise 12 consecutive times and have always received recognition and had different band colours. They told us we were VIPs but it only showed up in the computer and had no perks. Here unfortunately they now have a black card for repeat costumers who book through them, not who book through travel agencies. We have always booked through our travel agent and will continue to do so as we are more comfortable having an agency here in Ontario behind us. So unfortunately we will be checking out other franchises as the Gran Bahia has no repeater perks to keep us coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BahiaPrincipe-CUS, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bahia Principe Grand La Romana
Responded Jan 23, 2020
Dear Guest, It is a great pleasure for us to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our Resort and you appreciated the professionalism of our team members. We are aware that it is only because of them we are able to achieve our goal- the continuous improvement of our services. We are very proud to have received your excellent comments regarding our staff. It is important to mention that we also have a program which includes benefits for all repeater guests, who booked through a travel agency. We always try our best to fulfill our guests’ expectations, our main goal strives in having a great ambiance to satisfy our guests' requirements. Do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.romana@bahia-principe.com. Brian Tavarez Bahia Principe Grand La Romana.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bea003 wrote a review Mar 2020
Veenendaal, The Netherlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We are just back from a week stay in this fantastic resort. Everything was perfect. The staff (at all level) is super friendly, the rooms are perfect, very good beds, well lit up bathroom, good size balcony on the ground floor overlooking beautiful gardens. The food was very good except the desserts but then again I don't have a sweet tooth. The entertainment team was very nice but it's a shame that the holiday makers didn't want to participate more. The staff sometimes nearly had to beg to find willing people!! The beach is clean, beautiful, the sea very warm but not so crystal clear. Enough deck chairs even though at 7.30AM people have already "reserved" their place, which is really irritating. The pool is impeccable.
2 small negative points: 1) the pool + beach bars both closes at 6PM and ran out of (my favourite) Mojito sometimes as early as 4PM. 2) resort a little bit isolated so no walks to a local village or trip with local bus or motor conchos. Nearest place is San Pedro a 15 minutes taxi ride from the hotel at a ricidulous price of 20 dollars to get there or retur for 35 dollars.
All in all great holiday where we might come back to. Highly recommended place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms in "villa 2..." are really nice, quite but still close by everything
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BahiaPrincipe-CUS, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bahia Principe Grand La Romana
Responded Mar 6, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to communicate that you have had a fantastic stay in our hotel. It is encouraging to learn that we have met all of your expectations, excellent services, staff and a dream vacation in the Caribbean. We are thrilled to know that achieved our goal, the full enjoyment, relax and satisfaction of our guests. We are already looking forward to host you again in our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in La Romana. Do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.romana@bahia-principe.com. Best Regards Brian Tavarez Bahia Principe Grand La Romana
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Snowarner wrote a review Dec 2022
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly, I want to say that overall I have no complaints about this hotel itself.

The Grounds are beautiful, well maintained and easy to navigate and walk around, which is good if you have mobility issues. The pool area is lovely and not overly crowded. We didn’t take part in the entertainment - not our thing, but seemed enjoyable to those who did.

The Reception area is spacious, comfortable, clean and all the staff are very friendly, helpful and responsive.

The rooms are clean, beds comfy, facilities good with a mini fridge, coffee maker, iron etc. The only thing is that the shower does not get very hot and the air con smells so we’ve had it switched off. The ceiling fan however is effective and probably a healthier option. Tip: If you are bringing plug adapters make sure they only have the 2 flat pins. The sockets in our room are quite old and not all accommodate the newer fitting with the third earth pin.

The restaurants are really nice, spacious, tables are nicely made up. The staff are really friendly and attentive. The food and drinks are plentiful with something for everyone. The food is always hot. I especially like the beach restaurant for its relaxed atmosphere and good variety of food. Tip: for the hotel management - you often have a few different staff waiting your table. It would be so much easier to have a secure tips box either at the entrance/exit to the restaurant or on the table so that guests can place an amount it to be shared amongst staff more generally. This would remove any awkwardness for tourists (or maybe it’s just us). Sharing tips could then also factor in the staff behind the scenes doing all the cooking. We really appreciate the hard work of all the staff.

The beach area is nice but as many travellers have already stated, the water is murky due to the river down the road. However, if you walk to the far end of the beach towards the private beach club the water is clear and more more like what you’d expect in the Caribbean. The only thing is that you have to walk back to go toilet or grab something to eat and drink. Not the biggest problem if you love to spend time at the beach.

Overall, if you like the all inclusive holiday camp vibe and having everything you need on tap and to be relatively isolated with nowhere else to go unless you book expensive trips then this place is for you. We needed to escape for 2 days to experience something more authentic down in Bayahibe. No luxuries there, but a very welcome contrast!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Don’t book a 2-way taxi journey from the hotel. We paid half the amount retuning from Bayahibe...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jazmin Guerrero, Atención al cliente/recepción at Bahia Principe Grand La Romana
Responded Dec 13, 2022
Deaqr Snowarner, We sincerely appreciate your remarks in regards with your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for taking the time out to communicate your experiences to our reviewers. The opinion of our customers is extremely valuable to us as it give us an opportunity to verify the accomplishment of the established guidelines, as well as to ensure that we work towards the continuous improvement of our services. Also, it is important to note that like many other beaches in the Dominican Republic, ours does not correspond to the image of turquoise water and white sand. However, this does not mean that Bahia La Romana is not a clean or unsuitable beach for bathers, as a very strict cleaning routine is carried out on a constant and daily basis. We would like to comment that our beach has very fine dark sand in its structure.Do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.bouganville@bahia-principe.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bella's House wrote a review Oct 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Please do NOT waste your money on this resort. We spent 18 days after 6 years of not vacationing. My room was changed 3x in the first 48 hours due to no A/C. Found a worm in our food and a rubber band on another night. Called room service one day because I was sick and the response i received was "these fu**ing people are a pain in the ass". The dirty towels I left on the floor to be cleaned were folded and placed as clean and fresh on the rack. The food is terrible and the lunch and dinner were the same menu. The food was cold, soggy, bland, etc. We weren't allowed in one of the restaurants b/c my husband didn't have long pants but 2 other men were already eating with basketball shorts. Met with the general manager and he spoke down to me and never returned to give me a feedback and ignored me when he saw me in the lobby. Met people from other parts of the world that were having the same or similar issues and swore they will never return, "OUR WORST VACATION EVER" these were words from other guests. Please do your homework before booking. In addition, this is NOT La Romana. This is San Pedro de Macoris
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jazmin Guerrero, Atención al cliente/recepción at Bahia Principe Grand La Romana
Responded Oct 10, 2022
Dear Bella We sincerely appreciate your remarks in regards with your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for taking the time out to communicate your experiences to our reviewers. The opinion of our customers is extremely valuable to us as it give us an opportunity to verify the accomplishment of the established guidelines, as well as to ensure that we work towards the continuous improvement of our services. We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay. Our main goal it's always satisfies our guest´s requirements and we sincerely regret that you where not completely satisfied with our services. Do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.bouganville@bahia-principe.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alicia O wrote a review Jan 2021
Columbus, Ohio
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We planned for our wedding dec 29th, 2020. After everything with Covid we had cancel. They require all guest to have their passport 6 months before traveling but since most US social security offices were closed that wasn’t an option for some of our guest. Also given the date of our wedding most of our guest would have had to quarantine 2 weeks prior to our wedding and 2 weeks after which meant 5 total weeks we would have had to ask our guest to quarantine and not work. It was just unreasonable and to top it off they didn’t even originally offer to us even postpone the wedding date and def didn’t offer us a refund for our rooms even though anyone who had purchased a non refundable room during those dates were granted a refund per their website. With the already troubling reputation of this hotel and the safety of its guest I guess it’s no surprise they don’t value the health and well being of their guest. Steer clear of this place
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer BPLRM, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand La Romana
Responded Nov 10, 2021
Dear Alionwen, We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay. Our main goal strives in having a great ambiance to satisfy our guests' requirements. The opinion of our customers is extremely valuable to us as it give us an opportunity to verify the accomplishment of the established guidelines, as well as to ensure that we work towards the continuous improvement of our services. Best Regards Brian Tavarez Bahia Principe Bouganville
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kerry W wrote a review Jul 2023
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this hotel 4 days before we came as our original hotel had building work going on next door and when I checked the reviews it was awful, so here we are at the Bahia principe La Romana.

On arrival we were checked in quickly and efficiently by the front seat and then taken to our rooms on a buggy where we were escorted upstairs with our suitcases carried for us.

The room is lovely we are right by the beach. It’s really spacious with a massive bed, table, sofa and chairs , TV, large wardrobe, chests of drawers and a free safe, a small balcony with a table and two chairs.

The bathroom is large with shower, half bath , 2 sinks and a bidet.

Everything is in good working order. Room is cleaned every day, restocked mini bar, beers pop and water daily. Tip the house staff if you need/want more. Clean towels and beach towels daily .

Food is really good with lots of choice. Speciality restaurants are a nice change with La Gourmet being the best. Italian the worst.

The staff here work their socks off and are polite, helpful and friendly. It does help if you tip, you get served that little bit quicker and get your beers bought to you round the pool. Remember these guys earn a couple of quid a day so why wouldn’t you prioritise those who tip you. It only needs to be 200 Dominican pesos, about £1.50 but it helps these people out and you have a better experience.

The pool is lovely and clean and is really well looked after.

Pool entertainment is great with lots goi g on all day.

The beach is beautiful, however, we couldn’t really go in the sea due to the amount of jelly fish present. But the pool and bar is right on the beach so you can alternate between both.

The grounds are beautiful and really well kept. Look out for the beautiful butterflies and lizards, and most of all the beautiful tiny hummingbirds that can be found when you ext the back of reception to go to the pool. You’ll find them first thing in the morning
By the pin bush with the elongated bell flowers.

My only negative and it’s not that much of a negative is that on a weekend the hotel is open to locals who tend to be a bit rowdy around the swim up bar and at meal times they tower there plates with food that they don’t eat!!

I would definitely come back.

Couple of tips
It’s very humid here so bring plenty of sunscreen, we’ve got through 6 bottles. It’s $24 US Dollars to buy here.

Bring plenty of mosquito repellent, at least 50 percent deet, I had several bites but that’s nothing unusual as they really like me.

Tip the staff , they work so hard and for not a lot.

Bring cool clothes, it’s bloody hot!!

We leave in 2 days and I shall be sad to go.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juliana Hendrickson Ortiz, Atención al cliente/recepción at Bahia Principe Grand La Romana
Responded Jul 24, 2023
Thank you for taking the time out to communicate that you have had a fantastic stay in our hotel. It is encouraging to know that we have met all of your expectations, excellent services, staff and a dream vacation in the Caribbean. We are thrilled to know that achieved our goal, the full enjoyment, relax and satisfaction of our guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sallysteven wrote a review Sep 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a fabulous place to stay. The staff were friendly and the hotel was very very clean, in beautiful kept grounds. I had one of my best holidays in this resort and would definitely use this hotel again. Europeans could really take some advice instead of extra charges on an all inclusive which is what I have found while staying in Cyprus, Turkey and Greece holiday resorts.
This holiday included non motorized water sports hire for free, drinks in the fridge everyday restocked, Spanish lessons, gym sessions, pool activities, indoor activities all free. This was a very grown up holiday without any hassle or worry.This holiday was before the pandemic but still a fabulous holiday all the same.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer BPLRM, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand La Romana
Responded Nov 4, 2021
Dear Sally, Thank you for taking the time out to communicate that you have had a fantastic stay in our hotel. It is encouraging to learn that we have met all of your expectations, Best Regards Brian Tavarez Bahia Principe Grand La Romana
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
trvlbufChicago wrote a review Feb 2023
Chicago, Illinois
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
After traveling for 4 weeks around the Dominican Republic, we had booked at the Bahia Principe all inc, for our final week and to celebrate my birthday.

We booked a Junior Suite Superior Ocean Front Room. Upon arrival, we were given a room with partial view of the ocean. I say "partial" being very generous. Of course, I called and said, it was not what we had paid for. Every Ocean view room was booked for the night so they agreed to move us the following afternoon.

After that, our next 6 day/night stay was enjoyable. The hotel is over 30 years old but is kept clean and reasonably updated. Junior Suite was comfortable, good sized and had a balcony w lovely views ot the ocean, gardens and pool. It had a safety deposit box, coffee/tea making facilities, soaps, etc, replenished daily or as needed. We enjoyed several of their daily activities...water aerobics, bingo, nightly live music by the lobbies, and several of the night shows. Our favorite ones: the fabulous Circus, the Magician and the Ideal Couple (on Valentine's Night).
Food was plenty and varied. Extensive and nicely presented buffets @every meal. Everyone can find many things to like and enjoy.
We made reservations at their specialty restaurants. My favorite was the Le Gourmet (Mediterranean/French) as they went all the way out for my birthday and the food was very good, especially the birthday 🎂 cake.
Special thanks to Alejandro in reception for listening and giving us the room we had paid for.
Overall, a very enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Book a Junior Suite w Ocean Views.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jazmin Guerrero, Atención al cliente/recepción at Bahia Principe Grand La Romana
Responded Mar 7, 2023
Dear Laura Thank you for taking the time out to communicate that you have had a fantastic stay in our hotel. It is encouraging to know that we have met all of your expectations, excellent services, staff and a dream vacation in the Caribbean. We are thrilled to know that achieved our goal, the full enjoyment, relax and satisfaction of our guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kimberleymoore wrote a review Mar 2023
Timmins, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Before your departure don’t forget to get good health insurance. You’ll need it.
Everyone in our party got sick of gastro problems.

The plastic glasses at the pool bar taste like soap. It surely will clean you out. Take a good look around. How are they getting cleaned?

The ocean is murky as there’s a river nearby; the “Rio Higuamo” that dumps inland polluted water into the ocean.
Beware of Jelly fish in the ocean water at the hotel’s beach; they are hard to spot as the water is murky. People have been getting stung.

The incineration of Industrial waste in San Pedro De Marcoris is nearby; just go to the beach, and look to your right. If the wind is blowing in the right direction it smells. You’ll see the smoke when or if you try to enjoy the beach.

We did not have any hot water in our room for the first week we were there. Even after numerous complaints.

One thing you must understand is that there is no standard for the hotels star rating. They rate themselves. This is no more then a three star at best; definitely not a five star. During COVID this hotel got a quick coat of paint; notice even the roofs got painted. It just got a little lipstick to make it appear better.

The service at this hotel is virtually non existent, and very few people speak good English; so don’t expect anyone to help if you have any concerns as mostly all you’ll get is allot of smiles and nodding.

The food and alcohol is of the lowest grade. Anyone who travels allot will be greatly disappointed, and will have trouble to hide their facial expressions.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juliana Hendrickson Ortiz, Atención al cliente/recepción at Bahia Principe Grand La Romana
Responded Mar 22, 2023
Dear Kimberley, We sincerely appreciate your remarks in regards with your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for taking the time out to communicate your experiences to our reviewers. The opinion of our customers is extremely valuable to us as it give us an opportunity to verify the accomplishment of the established guidelines, as well as to ensure that we work towards the continuous improvement of our services. We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay. Our main goal it's always satisfies our guest´s requirements and we sincerely regret that you where not completely satisfied with our services. Also, it is important to note that like many other beaches in the Dominican Republic, ours does not correspond to the image of turquoise water and white sand. However, this does not mean that Bahia La Romana is not a clean or unsuitable beach for bathers, as a very strict cleaning routine is carried out on a constant and daily basis. We would like to comment that our beach has very fine dark sand in its structure.Do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.bouganville@bahia-principe.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kenn G wrote a tip Jun 2024
Boston, United Kingdom163 contributions63 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"there are lits of sunbeds pool is way better and safer than the beach"
Read full review
Maryana Tawfik wrote a tip Jun 2024
2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t go there, I ended leaving the next day and losing my money. "
Read full review
cheekyhog wrote a tip Jun 2024
london20 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool can get busy and they say don't reserve sun lounger but everyone does. Drink bottled water and keep hydrated "
Read full review
Dagoberto Garcia wrote a tip Jun 2024
Miami, Florida54 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The beach is not the best around, but it’s not the hotel’s fault: is just something that Mother Nature gives you or not."
Read full review
Sara F wrote a tip May 2024
Southampton, United Kingdom90 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a store at the front gate that you can get to (we walked and every time ended up getting a lift) everything at that store was cheap"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the El Soco area.
PRICE RANGE
$152 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gran bahia principe la romana hotel la romana, santana beach resort, la romana gran bahia principe
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Santana Beach Resort
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicSan Pedro de Macoris ProvinceSan Pedro de MacorisEl Soco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
400
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAHIA PRINCIPE GRAND LA ROMANA - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Principe Grand La Romana
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Principe Grand La Romana?
Nearby attractions include Cueva de las Maravillas (2.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Principe Grand La Romana?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Principe Grand La Romana?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Principe Grand La Romana?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Principe Grand La Romana?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Principe Grand La Romana?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Bahia Principe Grand La Romana have airport transportation?
Yes, Bahia Principe Grand La Romana offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bahia Principe Grand La Romana?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Bahia Principe Grand La Romana?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Bahia Principe Grand La Romana offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bahia Principe Grand La Romana?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Spanish and French.
All El Soco HotelsEl Soco Hotel Deals
Things to DoFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars