We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Via Nazionale 75, 50031, Barberino Di Mugello Italy
Update from hotel: This property is temporarily closed until 12/31/2022.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (615)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (313)

About

#1 of 6 hotels in Barberino Di Mugello
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
A revival of tradition with a contemporary twist and refined settings where perfect harmony exists between history,art and design.architectural features, interiors and exteriors restored to their former splendor, are witness to the evolution of tradition and development of style and techniques that all go to make up the history of Villa le Maschere. Splendid frescoes and ornamental stuccos that are true works of art, render every room unique.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
703Reviews16Q+A51Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 425
  • 178
  • 55
  • 31
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Le Pantera wrote a review May 2020
1 contribution
We loved our stay at the hotel. The food, service and friendlyness of the hotel staff was outstanding. The masseause at the spa were simply great and made you feel like brand new. Shopping in Florence was very nice and pretty easy do get to. The hotel grounds and views on the property were some thing to remember. The coved cement low cielings were a little different and caught me by surprise. All in all, we really enjoyed r stay there and hopefully someday will get back. The PAGANI CAR we saw was worth the entire stay. My wife loved the shopping and most importantly THE PEOPLE WERE NICE TO YOU. Sincerely, Mr.& Mrs. Kevin J. Pantera.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Garry B wrote a review Sep 2019
Nelson Bay, Australia44 contributions11 helpful votes
Firstly got to say the food and bar, waiting staff were awesome, the building itself is grand and lovely. Now the rest of it. We were looking at a wedding venue for ourselves but kept it quiet. The room we were given was very tired and needed updating as it was more like a Premier Inn type room, bed lovely, room a good size but very basic, not even tea or coffee whether needed or not. The reception furniture was faded by the sun but would have been lovely in its time. The lady on reception was okay but didn't volunteer information on the spa, walks, gardens, restaurants even when asked or even how to get to our room. There loss of 85 or so guests, many getter places to stay I'm afraid.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AndreaFalchi1, General Manager at Villa Le Maschere
Responded Sep 25, 2019
Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Villa Le Maschere. I am sorry to read that we did not manage to meet your expectations. The hotel will be closed in winter for renovation; we really do hope to welcome you again here during next season. Best regards, Andrea Falchi General Manager
Read more
Lara wrote a review Sep 2019
Toronto, Canada15 contributions14 helpful votes
Simply gorgeously! Exceptional service. Great location for wine tasting and shopping and a complimentary car and shuttle into Florence. The.villa is steeped in history and has been thoughtfully updated with a modern twist.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: It’s worth spending extra on a suite.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AndreaFalchi1, General Manager at Villa Le Maschere
Responded Sep 21, 2019
Dear Guest, thank you so much for such a positive review about your recent stay! We are so glad to learn that your stay has been gorgeous. Look forward to welcoming you soon. Best regards, Andrea Falchi General Manager
Read more
GuyHS wrote a review Aug 2019
Tel Aviv, Israel191 contributions74 helpful votes
We stayed for 4 nights in a family room. The room was ok but kind of old.. We got recommendations about this hotel from friends but we were a little bit disappointed.. Small things like no complimentary water in the room, safe which was hard to open. Breakfast was very good and also the service. In general we had a nice stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from AndreaFalchi1, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere
Responded Aug 31, 2019
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our structure. This will help us to monitor the quality of our services. We have noted that, in general, your comments were positive. However, we were pleased that you also pointed out some elements that you did not feel were up to our high standards. Your comments have given us the opportunity to continue to improve our services in order to make sure that your expectations are fully satisfied the next time you choose stay with us. Hoping to welcome you again soon as our guest, Best regards Andrea Falchi General Manager
Read more
doubledayt wrote a review Aug 2019
Cheshire, United Kingdom293 contributions200 helpful votes
The hotel is in a beautiful setting, overlooking the hills and lake. The view could be maximised if only the trees were trimmed. The pool area is lovely, although as others have said, small and therefore busy. The thing that lets the hotel down is the food and service. Although friendly, at times the service was slow and not really to a 5 star standard. The food was average and inconsistent. To make this hotel fantastic it needs a bit of tlc in the gardens, a lick of paint in some of the rooms and a good chef.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AndreaFalchi1, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere
Responded Aug 14, 2019
Dear Guest, thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at Villa Le Maschere. Every guest's feedback is important to improve our services and fully meet your expectations. We are sorry to learn that you were not fully satisfied about your stay. Unfortunately the trees cannot be trimmed, as they are part of a historic part that is under the authority of fine arts (as well as the building). The hotel will be closed during the upcoming winter for renovation. We hope to welcome you soon again during next season. Best regards, Andrea Falchi General Manager
Read more
CornishM wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, and the finish in the public areas better than the rooms. The hotel has a strange layout and not easy to navigate around. The evening meal was ok, although the menu was not varied. Service was hit and miss, one evening (after complaining) the service was wonderful, however, the evening before it was poor, empty plates sat in front of us for a long time, waiters didn’t poor the wine, and orders took a long time to come. Breakfast was better because it was self service, however on requesting a toaster was told this was ‘extra’. After dinner one evening we went up to the bar. We waited, and waited, and waited. Nobody came so we gave up. The swimming pool is beautiful, but when busy, lacked enough sun beds, there was also fairly poor service around the swimming pool. The shuttle bus, which is just a Vito van, that runs you daily into Florence supposedly leaves the hotel at 09:30. It was 20 minutes late causing us to miss out on our pre booked private tour of the Duomo, we had to rebook at extra cost. The hotel, only after much arguing, gave us a free evening meal. But in no way covered the cost and money we lost. The shuttle itself is driven by someone who has no regard to and laws of driving, repeatedly ran red lights, when we queried this he just huffed and said they’re a money making scheme. He overlook on dangerous corners, drove too fast and answered his phone whilst driving. The lady behind us was terrified. It wasn’t a pleasant experience. There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, or complimentary water. Only what you had to pay for from the minibar. The temperature of the water was hit and miss and when it was hot took 20 minutes to come through. The air con in the room however, worked perfectly. There is a wonderful family run restaurant over the road outside of the hotel that is perfect. Great service, great food and relaxing. This hotel whilst looks ‘nice’ is sadly let down by service and attitude of staff and services available to the public. It was not worth the price we paid, and would not revisit. Absolutely definitely not 5 star.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AndreaFalchi1, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere
Responded Jul 21, 2019
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Villa Le Maschere and for your suggestions. We always appreciate suggestions, as they help us to improve our service. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience about the hot water: we recently had a huge problem with the water supply of the entire area. We would like to clarify what happened with the shuttle: you used the service for all the days of your stay, and it always left on time. Unfortunately, one day it was running 15 minutes late, and you blamed us for not being on time to make the tour in Florence. As discussed, you were supposed to be in Duomo Square at 10.05 am: even if the shuttle was not late, it would have been impossible to be there at that time (the departure time is 9.30 am, and it takes about 40-45 minutes to Santa Croce Square. Then you should have walked to the Duomo square). However, as we did not want you to leave with a disappointing experience, we offered you a free meal. We will look into the matter about the shuttle driver, as it is the second time we are informed about it. We do apologize for that. We remain at your disposal for any further information you might need. Best regards, Andrea Falchi General Manager
Read more
sweetiepops wrote a review Jul 2019
Halifax, United Kingdom50 contributions35 helpful votes
The standard of the hotel is definitely not 5*. The one restaurant which was open has a limited menu. The room was very basic and was 'grubby'. Some staff, while not all, were surly. When requested a pot of coffee for two in our room in the morning we were told it would cost 40 euros just for the two cups of coffee.There was no tea and coffee making facilities and no bottled water in the room other than that which was in the fridge which you had to pay for. One evening we had no hot water to wash in. I managed a cold showever but my husband, who has a medical condition and needs hot water was given a kettle. We booked to take their 'minibus' (a van with seats in) into Florence. I can only describe the journey as a nightmare. The taxi driver drove far too fast, anwered his phone while driving, overtook on dangerous corners and jumped two red lights. I was in tears by the time we got to Florence. We refused to get back into the 'minibus' for the return journey home and subsequently has to pay 100 euros. We did discuss these all with the hotel to no avail. STandards in the hotel were poor to average and certainly not 5*. On a positive note there is a lovely Italian taverna, family run, just a short walk out of the grounds.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: not the superior one which we stayed in!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AndreaFalchi1, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere
Responded Jul 20, 2019
Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Villa Le Maschere. We are very sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with your stay at the Villa Le Maschere. We have noted your comments and we would like to apologize for the lack of hot water in the room. There has been a serious problem with the water supply of the entire village; that is why we gave you a late check-out upon your departure. However, we would like to clarify some of your comments: in the morning you asked for coffee, American coffee, milk, bread, pastries and jam. So basically a full continental breakfast, that has a cost of € 20,00 per person (while it is included in your room rate if you go to the buffet). About the free shuttle service into Florence, we did not receive any other complaint regarding this journey. We remain at your disposal for any further information you might need. Best regards, Andrea Falchi General Manager
Read more
kinsesh wrote a review Jul 2019
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed in this hotel in May 2019 for our wedding anniversary. We wrote an email to the hotel with suggestions for improvements. Despite sending a reminder we received no reply. Beautiful building in a spectacular location, but not worthy of 5 stars. Check in was clumsy. Shower water was lukewarm and water flow was weak. Room was near the bar - noise from tv and shouting came through to the room until late. Restaurant good for lunch but a limited evening menu meant that most hotel guests ate at the restaurant opposite the hotel. Room was cold, we couldn’t change the temperature from inside the room. Reception gave us an electric fan heater to warm the room up. Pity, as it’s a beautiful location and building and the rooms are large and airy with high ceilings and natural light flooding in. The 'gym' is a couple of machines (no treadmill and no bike) in a large room off a conference room. Gym opening time is restrictive - so no early morning workouts! Better attention to detail together with a more attentive approach to guests would greatly improve my rating.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: don't get a room near the bar
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AndreaFalchi1, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere
Responded Jul 12, 2019
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our structure in order to help us monitor the quality of our services. We were very sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with your stay at the Villa Le Maschere. We have noted your comments and would like to assure you that we will look into the matter in order to improve our services and fully meet your expectations. Best regards, Andrea Falchi General Manager
Read more
Zanderzaidan wrote a review Jul 2019
London, United Kingdom333 contributions381 helpful votes
Overall a lovely hotel in a stunning surrounding, but a few hiccups spoiled the experience. On arrival it was a while until someone opened the gate for us and from there is it hard to know where to go. There were no staff to greet or direct us until I walked into the reception. After check in we got directed to our rooms on the secondary building - at first I tought was a minus, but our room on the ground floor had direct access to a semi-private garden which was beautiful. We were given a true VIP welcome with a bottle of prosecco and a tray of little tuscan treats which was great. The second room was directly above ours and had a nice view. Rooms were good sized and comfortable with nice furniture, but some details - such as the power plugs and sockets looked cheap. It was extremely hot outside but the aircon was working pretty ok and the temperature in the room was pleasant. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and I can say it was one of the best meals I had in my life. Breakfast the following day was equally delicious and service was nice and attentive. Sadly from then on it went downhill. We had asked for a late check out so we could slowly get ready for our drive to Milan later but were told that the hotel was full and we could not stay a minute longer in either of the two rooms. We were told we were welcome to still use the facilities and swimming pool until we left, which we choose to do as it was such a hot day. At the pool we realised they do not give you towels, you have to bring them from your room - which we had just checked out from. I asked the lady over there for 2 towels (we were 5 people) and she HAD TO CHECK if she could give me a towel since my family was not staying at the hotel anymore. Later I wanted to buy a couple of beers and something for us to eat, I was asked which room we were staying and when I said we had already checked out the lady kind of snapped and said "you will have to pay for it now" in a very unfriendly tone, like I was going to eat and run away without paying. The experience on the second day made us feel very uncomfortable and not welcome, the complete opposite of the first day when we were "checked in". I'm not sure what kind of clientele they have that you need to check if you can give them towels or to make clear they have to pay for they food and drink but that is not what I would expect from a hotel of this calibre. I would like to believe it was down to the staff on that day because everyone else was nice (specially the gents at the restaurant) and even though I left disapointed I would give the hotel another chance if I would be in the area again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AndreaFalchi1, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere
Responded Jul 12, 2019
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Villa Le Maschere. We are glad to learn that you liked the rooms in our prestigious Chini Pavilion, and that you felt very welcomed. On the other hand, we are sorry that this impression has been ruined by your second day here. Our main purpose is to meet all our guests' expectations, so we will surely investigate into the matter to check what happened. We hope you will give us a second opportunity and visit again Villa Le Maschere. Best regards, Andrea Falchi General Manager
Read more
Herman B wrote a review Jun 2019
2 contributions
They claim to be a five star hotel.... but during our three days (11, 12, 13 June) we had no airconditioning at all and it was 26 degrees in the room and very humid. One day we had no water during the day and the next day no warm water until midnight. We had booked for 6 nights but left after three to a hotel that is functioning.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AndreaFalchi1, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere
Responded Jun 30, 2019
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our structure in order to help us monitor the quality of our services. We were very sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with your stay at the Villa Le Maschere. We have noted your comments and would like to assure you that we will look into the matter in order to improve our services and fully meet your expectations. Best regards, Andrea Falchi General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
villa le maschere hotel barberino di mugello, hotel le maschere, resort le maschere
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Villa Le Maschere
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of FlorenceBarberino Di Mugello
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Villa Le Maschere
Which popular attractions are close to Villa Le Maschere?
Nearby attractions include Palazzo dei Vicari (4.3 miles), Barberino Designer Outlet (2.8 miles), and Bosco ai Frati (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Villa Le Maschere?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Villa Le Maschere?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Villa Le Maschere?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Villa Le Maschere?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villa Le Maschere?
Conveniently located restaurants include Antica Osteria di Montecarelli, La Bottega del Cornocchio, and Bonaugo Pizzeria Ristorante.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Villa Le Maschere?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Villa Le Maschere have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Villa Le Maschere offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Villa Le Maschere?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Villa Le Maschere?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Villa Le Maschere offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.