We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel Alert: U.S. Travel Licensing Restrictions Apply for Travel to Cuba. For details, click here

Brisas Covarrubias Hotel

Save
Playa Covarrubias, Las Tunas 77200 Cuba
Lowest prices for your stay
Enjoy Cuba Travel Group
Orbitz.com
$80
$78
View Deal
SAVE $2
Free cancellation until 12/14/19
Travelocity
$80
$78
View Deal
SAVE $2
Free cancellation until 12/14/19
Booking.com$80
Expedia.com$78
Hotels.com$78
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2846)
Pool & Beach (1166)
Room & Suite (415)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Brisas Covarrubias is a cozy and intimate beachfront resort located on a long, secluded beach of the same name on the north coast of the province of Las Tunas in Cuba. The soft powdery sand combined with shades of turquoise and blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean and surrounded by a coral reef makes Covarrubias beach one of the most impressive beaches in Cuba. Ideal place for diving, located in zone of impressive marine fauna. It has in all its areas of service internet connection wifi. Its rooms are characterized by a high standard of size, very comfortable that will make you feel at home.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycles available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Paid internet
Internet
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Boating
Diving
Tennis court
Darts
Fishing
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Full body massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Infirmary
24-hour front desk
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Bath / shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 1 more

Location

Full view
Contact
Playa Covarrubias, Las Tunas 77200 Cuba
Getting there
Frank Pais Airport45 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1,253Reviews254Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 286
  • 477
  • 268
  • 129
  • 93
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This was our 3th time at this resort. Few months before our visit, there was a change of general manager and we could see some changes. The stuff was performing on scene (very funny) and Saturday night karaoke beach party. Very good ideas. I hope it will continue. Our 3 rooms were spacious and clean. Everything in working order. Once we had a problem with a door lock but it was rapidly fixed. No problems with hot water. In the buffet restaurant you can always find something you like. I loved breakfast with omelette made the way you like it. In the a la carte restaurant food was good, well presented and excellent service. We ate our lunch on the beach at Ranchon overlooking the beach and ocean. In general, this resort is very clean and you can see that the stuff is doing all they can to keep it that way. There is always something to do, entertainment stuff is making sure of that. On the bad side, I must say, my family didn't win any bottle of rum this time !😂 See You in December or January mis Amigos !
Read more
Response from BrisasCovarrubias, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Brisas Covarrubias Hotel
Responded Sep 9, 2019
Thank you very much for your opinions, we hope that next time you will be more lucky and can win a bottle jjjjj.We will be waiting for your next visit.Graciassss
Read more
Lindacyr2130 Aug 28, 10:31 EDT HI , I book a trip to cuba holguin covarrubias , all i have to said about this place is all negatif. I never had been so deappointement to go to cuba, the place was dirty with garbage everywhere, the buffets location was full of fly , not 1 or 2 but 100 of them all over the food , even in my drink , i had few fly was flotting in it. They was no water anywhere but at the bar , i was unable to purchase at the store becuase the store had nothing to purchase beside alcool and cigarette, so i had to walk around the place with my big bottle in order to find good water. We have so much sand flea bites, unable to stay on the beach very long. (we go on vacation for the beach and i wasnt able to stay on it). the beach had garbage everywhere not clean, broken deck that my 6 year old almost fell into it, very dangerous. The pool was so dirty with garbage floating everywhere. I had been to cuba 2 time before and never i will go back there, This place should not be allowed to stay open for tourism. we are spending a lot of money to go to a wonderfull place and all i had was deappointment , I had spend almost 1800$ for a vacation that i wanted to leave after only 3 days they.
Read more
Response from BrisasCovarrubias, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Brisas Covarrubias Hotel
Responded Aug 28, 2019
Thank you very much for your comments and we are very sorry that you have such a negative opinion.The beach is cleaned daily as well as the pool, it is true that some clients do not take care of the cleaning and throw plastic cups or food, but the staff is always aware of the cleanliness of the areas.Cuba is a tropical country when it rains and mainly early in the morning and at dusk it is suitable for mosquitoes, like flies but measures are taken and fumigated.Our goal is to improve our services.Thanks for Your opinion
Read more
This is the worst hotel i ever see in my life. I don"t know where to start . Me and my family had a lot of problems with this hotel. First day we arrive , problems start right away . There was a only one reception person was there and 25-30 people was waiting to check in the hotel or checking out from the hotel. And we wait almost 4 hours to checking in to the this hotel.. I travel 3 to 4 time a year, i never see reception area like this one any hotels in the world. .When we enter the rooms we were shock ,There was a no power and no running waters . And i went back to reception to tel them the problem, He told me we will fix it. After they fixed the power i want to do take a shower but i can not because of faucet in the shower was broken. and i went back to recepson to tell them the problem. And he said ok we will give you a other room. And they give me a other room not to much different from the other room. Towels have stains,that means they do not wash it good. So rooms are in very bad shape in. this is a very old hotel and never be in to fix things. I saw it internet for this hotel 4 star . This hotel is not 4 star hotel. i can only give them a 1 star , because of the beautiful beach . Believe me now i am having headache because of our terrible memory from this hotel. we go to vacations to relax and have fun. Restaurant full of flies and mosquitoes also around pool and bar area same.. a lot of mosquitoes. we spend most of our times in the rooms. Restaurant food is almost same food every day . nothing good to eat. also a lot of flies.on the foods , you will see it everywhere . Power goes off 1 or 2 times a day. the last day my friend was taking a shower power went of and she was stuck in the shower with shampoo on her hair . So we spend our vacation with stress and headache .Walls in the rooms have mildews and stains, After all my complains to the manager ( when i was checking out from the hotel ) he offer me a upgrade room with no extra charge , he told me is , next time you will come to our hotel, you will pay the regular price but upgrade room from us,, Very funny :) . And i said ' do you thing i will come back to this hotel again ?" I said Noooo Thank you !
Read more
Response from BrisasCovarrubias, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Brisas Covarrubias Hotel
Responded Aug 28, 2019
Thank you very much for your comments, we are very sorry that your opinion is so unfavorable. You did not wait 4 hours to enter the customers who were waiting for check in, had entrance at 2:30 pm but you already had a reservation for you and your girlfriend and your family paid their rooms straight in the hotel, the room 1425 that was given to you immediately that you were checked.Is true that when you try to opened the shower , the key was released but immediately that you communicated it, we changed your room to 3212. That was supervised by the sub director from the hotel, public relations and the client itself.Our country has a tropical weather and when it rains it is propitious for mosquitoes for which it is fumigated equally for flies.The day before departure there was a power cut at night It took 5 minutes for the hotel’s emergency plant to power the entire hotel again. For these reasons it was offered to you and your entire family if you decided to return an upgrade to one of our suites, special dinner for your family, late check out, to which you said no because you preferred that we offer a free vacation for you and your family in a 5 star hotel cubanacan.Graciass
Read more
We visited for the third time in March 2019 for two weeks. We had loved this resort the other two times we visited. This time we noticed that a lot of things were in need of repair. Firstly our room had black (mould).? on the wall so we asked to be moved. We were moved to another ocean view by the Ranchon very close to the beach but being on the ground, floor we could not see the ocean. Food this time I felt could have been better no pasta station as this was broken. Poor selection at lunch. My husband eats fish everyday so he did not have a problem with the food. Only one area to get coffee. We usually at night had coffee at the lobby bar but the machine was broken and the main bar was usually very busy. The rooms need to be updated along with the shower heads and taps in the bathroom. Our water was always brown coming out until you let it run for 5 minutes. BAD BAD Cubans in the resort on the weekends it was bad the way the Cubans treated the resort. The would not wait in line for anything and when they did get to the front they cleaned out all the food. They were not eating this in the resultant but taking it home. One man emptied the butter plate in the morning leaving no butter for breakfast. Another emptied the sugar bowl. This to me was just being rude and having no thoughts for other guests. Management take note. Good Good the staff are very friendly and made you feel welcome when they saw you. The grounds were kept very clean and the gardiners worked very hard at keeping the grounds this way. Rooms were cleaned each day sheets were only changed once during our stay but that is okay as I only change my sheets at home once a week. The beach is amazing and cleaned everyday. Some days the seaweed would just keep blowing in but it was always cleaned in the morning. The Ranchon resturant had good food at lunch time and the returning dinner and al a carte restaurant the food was very good. The staff here were very good along with the entertainment at night. One thing that was different this time was that you did not get bottled water in your room each day. On previous visits this was given everyday. This added 1peso a day to get your water. Also the safe you had to pay 2 pesos a day for this. When you go for 14 days this adds up. We have been to other resorts where this was always included without upgrading. We met many nice people from Canada over our two weeks stay and will be giving it some thought as to returning again next year the same time as these people. The new management needs to take note of the comments made by guests If they want to have Canadians return. I apologize for taking so long to write this review.
Read more
Response from BrisasCovarrubias, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Brisas Covarrubias Hotel
Responded Aug 27, 2019
Thank you very much for your comments we will make an analysis of each of them. The safe is not a service included in our hotel has a cost of 2 pesos per night. We agree that renovations must be made in the bathrooms,rooms and other areas of our hotel . work is being done to improve our services.Thanks for your comment and will be taken into account.Graciasss
Read more
Sunwing had a tough week! Delays, cancellations etc. We were 2 hours leaving Pearson even though everything kept saying on time. Lol. Arrived late at Hoguin. Zipped over to departures to change to pesos and see the outgoing flite had been cancelled. Some touristas got an extra day’s vacation there. Wish it were me! Transfer shuttle there and off to Cova with a Mexican Canadian who translated and having been to the area before was able to fill me in on the sites even though it was after 10.30 on the road. Yes, it’s rough in a few places but quite better after Velasco, about 23k. from Holguin .Fascinating country side. Cova is an oasis in salt and fresh water flats with lots of flamingos, birding , plants and amphibians. Want to see more when I go back. Arrived at Cova after midnight to a full hotel due to the Cuban summer holidays. Staff upgraded me next day to full ocean front gorgeous room. A couple of glitches were quickly taken care of. Es Cuba. Nothing’s perfect but then I’m not either! Lol. The next 2 days were spent checking out the resort. After 31 years of doing Cuba I have specific requirements for a good holiday. !. Food!! It was some of the best I’ve had in Cuba or elsewhere for that matter. Due to the 250 Cubanos and 30 off shore touristas for the 1st few days we were booked into the a la cartes for supper 4x.. First class meals, presentation and choices. When I left there had been 370 Cubanos for 2 days plus 30 or so off shore touristas and no problems. The buffet was better than good. Roast Turkey ,chicken, beef, fish, squid, shrimp , at least 5 fresh fruits every day. Constant refilling of trays on the hot steam tables and a great variety. A large sign on entrance lays out stringent rules and they were adhered to. No bags, no trays of food or dishes to be removed. Proper dress attire and foot wear mandatory. Everyone was polite and kind. No que jumping or poor behavior. It is divided by a large centre island into 2 sections. This island has fruit, cold salads, condiments, deserts, ice cream . The cold table was cold! Easily accessed and very efficient. The grill. Pasta station and hot meats were on the back wall. Another island on the far wall for the hot veggies and rice. Further over another island for cold veggies and salad makings plus dressings and cold meats. The side wall had buns and breads galore and a double Panini device, no toaster replacement yet. The steam tables were hot! Wines were standard Cuban offerings from Chile etc. The 1st 2 days we had Puluvium red which was smooth and easy on the palate. Alas after that, back to. Legitimo, Constellation , Azotea etc. etc. too acidic so went to white Enteriosis at the pool bar with ice. Tables were cleaned, had cloth covers and place mats refreshed daily. Salt , pepper and sugar on every table. Nice placement and sturdy high chairs for the little people. Padded seats for the rest of us. Lol. No waffle butts here. 2.Snorkeling!!!! Had read all the reviews and wasn’t quite sure what I’d find! Wow! What a surprise. The cove is really a huge bay with gorgeous sandy beaches , lots of palapas and lounges and shade trees. And walkway showers ! You’ll need to look for the access points to the ocean as being off a reef there is a lot of rockery. First place I always head to is the boat house. The dive master, Wilson, was fantastic. He sent me off the ranchon front steps straight out past the buoys to a sandy bar and then the remains of the original reef about 200 ft. off shore. As I became more familiar with the area I realize it started at the ast side of the bay and went straight across. Chalk full of schools of big blue tangs and all the fish I was familiar with from elsewhere. Last day I swam with a sand ray. Could get out to the live reef because needed 4 to snorkel. Snorkeled 2x a day most times. Inside the old reef the sand reflection was golden so under water pics were tinged. A slight yellow. There was some new reef corals regenerating too. On the other of the reef clear blue water. Really looking forward to my return possibly November depending on the weather and definitely next May. Want to see the big live reef and also do the cliff sides to the east. This area is a cross between Jibacoa and Santago and Play Santa Lucia. For snorkeling. 3.The Staff! What great management and superior organization. Chamber maids quiet in the early a.m. and very good. Think I have been adopted by another resort. Lol. So spoiled and nurtured. Some good things coming for long term stays and solo travelers. So stay tuned. Hugs and many thanks to all of them. 4.The Room. My castle room was spacious, clean and had a gorgeous view. The units are mostly 4 up and 4 down , with 3 steps off of ground level ,with ocean view everywhere to a certain extent. Renovations, as always in Cuba , are ongoing. The beds were comfortable. Bottled water in the fridge on a daily basis. And they were not refilling them with tap water as seems prevalent with a lot of resorts. You can tell because tap water is slightly golden in colour and ice and water at the bars and units is not. 5.The pool. It was pristine always. Keeping that area clean was a real challenge with so many touristas. The 24 hour bar was there and they served in order. None of this jumping the line. Check the hours for the food. The only full coffee machine was there as well. The Ranchon Full snack bar in the daytime. Hot dogs, sandwiches, plantain chips, burgers. Nicely cooked. The a la carte room is just off there and has a full kitchen for preparations. The bar is very busy and difficult to keep the floors etc. clean with all the traffic from the beach. But they keep at it. The resort will be closed for September and October for more upgrades and refurbishing. Suggestions: Sign on buffet door to keep it closed, please. Too many flies on a few occasions. The door person oft times wears many hats and isn’t there permanently. Put full, clean food trays on buffet. Not just dumping food into existing one. Most resorts now are using smaller dinner plates to cut down on the waste etc. No more straws, please. Touristas bring your own water bottles and refillable mugs. No more plastic!!! Had a truly memorable and happy vacation. Many thanks to all. Looking forward to returning. Paid $1385. for 14 days solo including all inclusive insurance for the really golden oldies.. Great value for the money!!!
Read more
Response from BrisasCovarrubias, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Brisas Covarrubias Hotel
Responded Aug 6, 2019
Thank you very much for each of your comments, we thank you very much for each of them, we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed a beautiful holiday with us and that you felt at home. We hope you return so that you can continue enjoying a wonderful holiday in family in the great Cova family. Welcome to our family.Thank you,graciasssss
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$73 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
covarrubias hotel puerto padre, resort all inclusive covarrubias
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaLas Tunas ProvinceLas Tunas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
180
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Brisas Covarrubias Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Brisas Covarrubias Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Brisas Covarrubias Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a bidet, and a pool view.
What food & drink options are available at Brisas Covarrubias Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Brisas Covarrubias Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Brisas Covarrubias Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Brisas Covarrubias Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Brisas Covarrubias Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Brisas Covarrubias Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Russian.
Does Brisas Covarrubias Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Brisas Covarrubias Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.