We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Lone Kauri Lodge

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Lone Kauri Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 68: English reviews
Ardenvoir, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

Ann and Keith were great hosts at their secluded lodge with lush garden and sounds of ocean breakers. It was quiet and relaxing and offered easy access to multiple hiking tracks. Highly recommend! Visit Piha and the Regional forest, for beach walks and bush walks.

Helpful?
Thank ladymurdock
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2016

Keith & Ann are the best hosts you could wish for. The property and the standard of room and breakfast is superb as many have said. If you love the outdoors and getting away from it all without compromising on a bit of luxury, this is for you. Highly recommended :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike0467
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this review

Mike Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to share your experience of Lone Kauri Lodge with other travellers. It was a pleasure to meet you both. You were 5 star guests and we very much enjoyed your company. We hope that your holiday in New Zealand is going well and we wish you all the... More 

Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

We loved this beautiful place and had wished to stay longer. The hosts are lovely people and we felt so welcome. The breakfast was very good, the pool was hot, the chocolate cake delicious, we had a good sleep and everything was neat. Also the little one loved all about it, especially the many books in the cosy room. Karekare... More 

Helpful?
Thank VerenaSegert
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your experience of Lone Kauri Lodge with other travellers. It was a pleasure to meet you and the little one and to see how interested he was in the books in the guest lounge. We will keep in touch and hopefully we will see you again one day.... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary. This is the first time we've stayed in a B&B locally (we live in Auckland surburbs) and wow it was very comfortable and warm. It felt like a home away from home. The natural surroundings were amazing, we did a bush walk nearby and finished off with a beautiful spa... More 

Helpful?
Thank lowehel
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you (H & J) for your review and for taking the time to share your experience of Lone Kauri Lodge with others. We are please that you enjoyed the "B & B experience" and your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Best Wishes Keith & Ann. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

Staff are rude and unwilling to assist. Breakfast is gross. The sheets are old. Pillows are smelly. The bathroom was filthy. I had rashes and itchy all over my body. No internet. TV doesn't work properly. Will not return.

Helpful?
3 Thank Honest_traveller_198
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this review

We are concerned that you may have mistaken us for another property. We were away and closed for much of August and only had 8 bookings and all our guests left happy with their stay. You indicate that you stayed with friends. We do not recall any group of friends staying with us in August We do not have a... More 

Noumea, New Caledonia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015 via mobile

Thank you so much Keith and Anna for your warm welcoming! Keith guided us for a fantastic walk , it was really a pleasure to do it with him. The house is amazingly shaped inside the forest and the spa which is outdoor and always available is really cool ! I advice everybody to experience this lodge. Julie and Jerome

Helpful?
Thank jeromjulie
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience of Lone Kauri Lodge with other travellers. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

My partner and I came here for a peaceful night together and it was perfect! Very warm hosts, they were very considerate and obviously take great care and attention to detail when looking after their hosts. The bedroom and lounge were very comfortable, warm and clean. Everything we needed was provided. The bed was huge and comfortable. The house itself... More 

Helpful?
Thank NinaDuh
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words which are much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Lone Kauri Lodge with other travelers. Best Wishes More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I were off to tackle to Hillary Trail for our anniversary but wanted some luxury in the evenings. We found that at Lone Kauri Lodge. Lovely accommodation, very friendly, helpful hosts that all in all, made our 4 day weekend very enjoyable. Drop off and pick ups for each day of the Hillary Trail and beautiful home... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike L
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your complimentary comments which are much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to assist you with the Hillary Trail. Best Wishes More 

Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Difficult to get to, but very nice accomodations. Margaret Hosts were pleasant but seemed a little preoccupied with other concerns. Breakfast was OK but nothing special. We ate at the RSA (soliders organization) in Piha and enjoyed the experience. Jim

Helpful?
1 Thank James S
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Lone Kauri Lodge with other travellers. Best Wishes More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

The lodge is in a beautiful location, surrounded by foliage and was the perfect respite after a night of travel from the U.S. and a day exploring. The view to the beach at sunset was stunning (see photo). Ann & Keith are a lovely couple that were incredibly welcoming. The room was clean, comfortable & we slept like babies. Bathroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank zr2illusions
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your complimentary review and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found found Lone Kauri Lodge a good place to recharge the batteries after your long flight. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karekare
6.0 mi away
Auckland's Waitakere Estate, Heritage Boutique Collection
17.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 3,246 reviews
11.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
#1 of 1 in Waitakere City
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.6 mi away
Lyons Rock Bed and Breakfast
6.2 mi away
Bethells Beach Cottages
Bethells Beach Cottages
#1 of 2 in Te Henga (Bethells Beach)
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Peace, privacy and tranquility just 55 minutes from Auckland CBD and International Airport. Lone Kauri Lodge is the perfect getaway from the city or, if you are from overseas then relax with us before setting off to see the rest of New Zealand or reflect on your visit before the trip home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lone Kauri Lodge

Address: 4 La Trobe Track, Karekare 0772, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Karekare
Price Range: $110 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lone Kauri Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lone Kauri Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay