We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
12/24/2017 12/25/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Coffee Shack Backpackers

    On the Beach | Bomvu River Mouth, Coffee Bay 5082, South Africa
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    12/24/2017 12/25/2017
    Traveler (134)
    Pool & Beach (18)
    Room & Suite (13)
    Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
    129 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Coffee Bay
     
    Morgan Bay Hotel
    458 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Morgan's Bay
     
    Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
    226 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Mthatha
     
    Crawford's Beach Lodge
    384 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Chintsa
     
    Overview
    • Excellent71%
    • Very good20%
    • Average6%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible1%
    Travelers talk about
    “surf lessons” (37 reviews)
    “coffee shack” (145 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Beachfront
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Kitchenette
    Laundry Service
    Shuttle Bus Service
    Breakfast included
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
    129 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Coffee Bay
     
    Morgan Bay Hotel
    458 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Morgan's Bay
     
    Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
    226 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Mthatha
     
    Crawford's Beach Lodge
    384 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Chintsa
     
    Write a ReviewReviews (330)
    There are newer reviews for Coffee Shack Backpackers
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveler rating
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Language

    61 - 65 of 277 reviews

    Reviewed April 6, 2016 via mobile

    This was a great backpacker I really enjoyed my stay here. Got the shuttle from mthatha which was late but we all got free dinner and drinks which was generous! This is a bit of a party backpackers and great place to meet new friends....More

    Thank Angela L
    Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded April 8, 2016

    Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you had a fun stay. Sorry about the shuttle being late that day, but unfortunately there was a problem with the brakes of the vehicle and obviously...More

    Reviewed March 30, 2016 via mobile

    The Coffee Shack is an absolute gem. I was on my way home from Cape Town on a solo road trip and the Coffee Shack was the second stop on my journey. I planned an overnight stay but when I got there and got into...More

    Thank Jewell4u
    Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded April 3, 2016

    Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, and glad to hear that you had an awesome time. The hike to Hole in the Wall is a "must do", but as you mention, it is a proper hike and does...More

    Reviewed March 25, 2016

    We arrived late in the evening and were glad to find it. If you come with your own car make sure to arrive there by daylight. During night there are lots of people and animals on the street. If you come by baz bus you...More

    Thank Fabian A
    Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded April 3, 2016

    Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, and glad to hear that you had an awesome time. Thanks for commenting on the drive down from the N2, as you suggest, it is preferable to try and arrive in the...More

    Reviewed March 23, 2016 via mobile

    If you are thinking weather to go to Coffee Bay and Coffee Shack Backpackers you really should. Especially if you're interested in surfing. This place offers probably cheapest surfing lessons in entire world. If you don't like surfing still go. There's plenty to do in...More

    Thank Anna-Liisa P
    Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded April 3, 2016

    Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, and glad to hear that you enjoyed our little paradise. Thanks for commenting on our surf lessons; we also believe that at R50 for a two hour lesson (including equipment) they are...More

    Reviewed March 21, 2016

    This is ok if you want to stay awake till 3 in the morning. It is a lovely place, free mussels and oysters. It is little Amsterdam. We camped a couple of days. First night was ok, the music was loud till 2 am but...More

    Thank Jealine P
    Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded April 3, 2016

    Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, and sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay. We will look into the things that annoyed you and try improving the situation. With regards to the daytrips we...More

    Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
    129 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Coffee Bay
     
    Morgan Bay Hotel
    458 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Morgan's Bay
     
    Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
    226 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Mthatha
     
    Crawford's Beach Lodge
    384 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Chintsa
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Beachfront
    • Free Internet
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Shuttle Bus Service
    • Free Parking
    • Laundry Service
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • $20 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette
    • Number of rooms
    • 13
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Coffee Shack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Eastern Cape >
    • Coffee Bay
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveler (134)
    Pool & Beach (18)
    Room & Suite (13)
    Dining (3)
    Hotel & Grounds (106)
    Family and Play Areas (3)
    Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Nearby HotelsSee all 1 hotels in Coffee Bay
    Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
    129 reviews
    3.78 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Papazela's Pizza
    54 reviews
    .14 miles away
    Delicious Monster
    86 reviews
    31.84 miles away
    Panarottis Mthatha
    30 reviews
    35.35 miles away
    Friends Wild Coast Cafe
    36 reviews
    .09 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Hole in the Wall
    175 reviews
    4.23 miles away
    Hluleka Nature Reserve
    18 reviews
    15.34 miles away
    Silaka Nature Reserve
    31 reviews
    31.73 miles away
    Nelson Mandela Museum
    26 reviews
    34.63 miles away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Leandre B
    October 31, 2017|
    Answer
    Response from David M | Property representative |
    Howzit Leandre I hope that you are well? Camping at Coffee Shack is R90 per person per night. You probably do not have to book, if you are coming this week, as the camp site is relatively empty, unless you need the shuttle... More
    0
    Votes
    Amanda M
    April 18, 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from David M | Property representative |
    Howzit Amanda, I hope that you are well? Great to hear that you will be coming to stay with us at Coffee Shack. To be honest it is pretty hard to give you a direct yes/no answer to some of your questions, because obviously... More
    0
    Votes
    Cindy7ZN
    September 16, 2014|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from Thys16 | Reviewed this property |
    Hi there! The road isn't a regular one, but its pretty reasonable. Perhaps the final kilometer could be slightly tough but doable. They have wifi so you're set for Skype, don't expect the best connection tough, one should... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Staying in a rondavel adds to the experience."
    Read review
    "Accomodation on the Beach side is quieter than the main side but it is a short walk away from the main area."
    Read review
    "Rooms by Kings House"
    Read review
    "Kings house, the view is magnificent"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing