We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
8/6/2017 8/7/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Coffee Shack Backpackers

    On the Beach | Bomvu River Mouth, Coffee Bay 5082, South Africa
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    8/6/2017 8/7/2017
    Traveler (117)
    Pool & Beach (18)
    Room & Suite (13)
    Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
    114 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Coffee Bay
     
    Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
    188 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Mthatha
     
    Morgan Bay Hotel
    415 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Morgan's Bay
     
    Crawford's Beach Lodge
    347 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Chintsa
     
    Overview
    • Excellent71%
    • Very good20%
    • Average6%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible1%
    Travelers talk about
    “surf lessons” (34 reviews)
    “coffee shack” (143 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Beachfront
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Kitchenette
    Pets Allowed
    Laundry Service
    Shuttle Bus Service
    All hotel details
    Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
    114 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Coffee Bay
     
    Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
    188 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Mthatha
     
    Morgan Bay Hotel
    415 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Morgan's Bay
     
    Crawford's Beach Lodge
    347 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Chintsa
     
    {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (321)
    Traveler rating
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 270 reviews

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    The coffee shack has wonderful food, great staff, loads of fun activities, organized prepared and on time :) I really loved every second!I did the hole in the wall tour,a few surfing lessons, drum lessons, some yoga... the days were full of fun and night...More

    Thank arikvebentz
    Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 3 days ago

    Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, we really appreciate everyone’s feedback and positive encouragement. Sounds like you had an awesome time in “paradise”, thanks for letting others know of all the different activities and things you can do...More

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    Really cool vibe, even in winter, and the cheap surf lessons and free Sunday poitjie are unmissable. Definitely go on the Mapuzi cliff hike aswell, loads of fun and totally worth it! Food is well priced and tasty, staff are friendly and beds are warm...More

    Thank Dan P
    Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 3 days ago

    Howzit Dan Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, we really appreciate everyone’s feedback and positive encouragement. Great to hear that you managed to do so much at Coffee Shack and had so much fun. Thank mentioning Mphuzi Cliffs and...More

    Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile

    Very cool backpackers in a beautiful area. We stayed at the "quiet side" in a private rondavel which we highly recommend for couples. During high tide the direct path to the main side can not be crossed for 2-3 hours but can still reached by...More

    Thank MelanieandRobel
    Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded June 18, 2017

    Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, and great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Sorry about the inconvenience of using data codes, but unfortunately being in a remote rural area the cost of our data is...More

    Reviewed May 15, 2017

    Coffee Shack is deep in the villages of the rural Eastern Cape,where the hills are consistantly rolling and cattle not too far from you. The amenities are really good with friendly and helpful staff readily available to help you out. The bar is awesome and...More

    Thank sabata58
    Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded May 19, 2017

    Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, and great to hear that you had a peaceful stay. Safe travels and we hope you will be back soon. Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew

    Reviewed May 7, 2017

    The short stay we had at the Coffee Shack, will remain as one of the most incredible experiences, Iv EVER!! had. EVER!. From waking up to breathtaking scenes of the ocean, to surfing crisp waves early in the morning, to hiking up along one of...More

    Thank Kamzati M
    Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded May 19, 2017

    Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, and awesome to hear that you had the most “incredible experience” ever! Please make sure you come and stay longer next time. Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon....More

    Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
    114 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Coffee Bay
     
    Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
    188 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Mthatha
     
    Morgan Bay Hotel
    415 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Morgan's Bay
     
    Crawford's Beach Lodge
    347 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Chintsa
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Beachfront
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Shuttle Bus Service
    • Free Parking
    • Laundry Service
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • $23 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette
    • Number of rooms
    • 13
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Coffee Shack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Eastern Cape >
    • Coffee Bay
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveler (117)
    Pool & Beach (18)
    Room & Suite (13)
    Dining (3)
    Hotel & Grounds (89)
    Family and Play Areas (3)
    Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Morgan Bay Hotel
    415 reviews
    68.53 miles away
     
    Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
    188 reviews
    35.49 miles away
     
    Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
    114 reviews
    3.78 miles away
     
    Crawford's Beach Lodge
    347 reviews
    83.46 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Delicious Monster
    85 reviews
    31.84 miles away
    Panarottis Mthatha
    27 reviews
    35.49 miles away
    Friends Wild Coast Cafe
    35 reviews
    .09 miles away
    Wood n Spoon
    32 reviews
    32.94 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Hole in the Wall
    165 reviews
    4.23 miles away
    Nelson Mandela Museum
    23 reviews
    34.63 miles away
    Offshore Africa
    12 reviews
    35.20 miles away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Amanda M
    April 18, 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from David M | Property representative |
    Howzit Amanda, I hope that you are well? Great to hear that you will be coming to stay with us at Coffee Shack. To be honest it is pretty hard to give you a direct yes/no answer to some of your questions, because obviously... More
    0
    Votes
    Cindy7ZN
    September 16, 2014|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from Thys16 | Reviewed this property |
    Hi there! The road isn't a regular one, but its pretty reasonable. Perhaps the final kilometer could be slightly tough but doable. They have wifi so you're set for Skype, don't expect the best connection tough, one should... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Rooms by Kings House"
    Read review
    "Kings house, the view is magnificent"
    Read review
    "Go with the flow. Wifi in main reception."
    Read review
    "Rooms on the other side of the river are quieter and a have an okay view."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing