We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bold Peak Lodge

Save
Share
Cnr Mull & Argyle St, Glenorchy 9350 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (48)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (18)

About

#5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenorchy
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
At the heart of Glenorchy, Bold Peak Lodge invites you to relax and unwind after a day of exploring. You will be spoilt for choice with our 11 individually designed guest rooms. Open daily from 7am our popular Sugar Loaf Cafe serves a range of delicious homemade treats, coffee and brunch options. In the evening relax by the fire with a local wine or beer and tuck into our delicious tapas menu available at The Humboldt bar. With easy access to the The Routeburn track, horse riding and helicopter activities we are the perfect central location for your Glenorchy getaway.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
94Reviews2Q+A7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 40
  • 31
  • 12
  • 5
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
GMP0601 wrote a review May 2021
Lower Hutt, New Zealand45 contributions4 helpful votes
Very nice room for the 3 of us. Bar and restaurant right next door. Hotel across the road. Barman at the Lodge was excellent, very friendly as were the patrons in the bar. Had a lovely breakfast. Was freezing cold outside but didn't notice it in the room. It's a shame Glenorchy is so far away. But do recommend it as the first stop before doing the Routeburn Track. Not far to go to the local golf course which goes around the rugby field. In pretty good nick considering the conditions and ruralness.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from H Jones, Guest Services / Front Office at Bold Peak Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi there - thank you for your wonderful review. Your feedback is appreciated. We are pleased to hear you had a great stay at our property and enjoyed the meals from our Cafe and Restaurant. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you return again in the near future.
Read more
niall N wrote a review Apr 2021
5 contributions3 helpful votes
I had an excellent evening meal here and returned for breakfast. They were open, friendly and welcoming. I had just completed a huge tramping trip and was ravenous. I had a poor experience at the Glenorchy hotel, just opposite where they were closed and advised me that nowhere in Glenorchy was open (clearly telling ‘porkies’) - thankfully I walked across the road and found this gem of a place to be open and happy to serve me. The food was excellent and I would support them again for being open to serve tourists who have chosen to stay in Glenorchy. My advice - don’t bother with the Glenorchy Hotel, ‘stay on your bike’ and travel across the road where you will receive better service and true kiwi hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from H Jones, Guest Services / Front Office at Bold Peak Lodge
Responded Apr 6, 2021
Hi there - thank you for your excellent review. The feedback is appreciated. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. I'm sorry you were so wrongly informed of what other establishments were open during the Easter break. Our Staff work hard to provide great customer service and we're pleased to hear this was received. Thank you for choosing to dine at Bold Peak Lodge. Your support means a lot to us. We hope you had a wonderful tramp in the area. We wish you safe travels and you are welcome to return to our establishment anytime.
Read more
Spirited Sweetpea wrote a review Jan 2021
10 contributions2 helpful votes
Totally worth the trip to Glenorchy, what a special place! We loved our stay with you and all the cool (but easy) walks we did that are so close, its simply so beautiful! The staff were really helpful with advice, our room was really lovely, and the hot chocolates at the cafe were awesome to come back to after a hike. This place is right in the perfect spot to get to everything. We loved our weeknd escape, we'd like to do the horse trekking next time. Thanks for having us - we'll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from H Jones, Guest Services / Front Office at Bold Peak Lodge
Responded Jan 26, 2021
Hi there - thank you for your fantastic review! We really appreciate feedback. We're please to hear you had a great time in Glenorchy. We are very lucky to be located in the centre of town, where short walks and viewing areas are so close by. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Safe travels and we look forward to your return in the near future.
Read more
Timgestation wrote a review Nov 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand7 contributions
Booked this place based on convenience and it exceeded my expectations with very reasonable rates for accommodation and a welcoming bar and cafe all packaged in. The staff and locals were friendly and engaging and my room was hotel standard belying the humble exterior. The food was typical pub food but well made and presented. A fantastic base for some great trout fishing
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from H Jones, Guest Services / Front Office at Bold Peak Lodge
Responded Nov 22, 2020
Hi there - thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate the great feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us as well the fishing! There are certainly some fantastic spots around here for that. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Travel safe and we hope to see you return again soon.
Read more
julie C wrote a review Nov 2020
33 contributions28 helpful votes
Accommodation choices are very limited in Glenorchy so when you pay $185 for a room you expect a bit more than average. The room was tiny but the bathroom was new, the tiles in the shower were very slippery when wet. There was a small selection of tea and instant coffee, but no complimentary milk. The cheap plastic kettle was dangerous as any excess water left in after it boiled leaked and filled the kettle stand. We would have mentioned this on checkout the next morning but the girl who took our key just took the key without a word, no "I hope you enjoyed your stay, or have a safe journey" so we decided to leave. Didn't eat in the adjoining restaurant as it had a really bad smell when we walked in, deep fried fat mixed with horrible cleaning product, so walked straight out again. This business is for sale and it seems the owners just don't care about putting any effort in. A real shame as Glenorchy is a stunning location and one of our favourite places to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from H Jones, Guest Services / Front Office at Bold Peak Lodge
Responded Nov 22, 2020
Hi there - thank you for taking the time to place your review. All feedback is appreciated. We are sorry you were disappointed with our property. Milk is definitely complimentary for all the rooms in the accommodation block. This is highly unusuaI for us and I do sincerely apologise to you for this error and also for the poor customer service that was received. I have passed your comments onto Management, so we will be looking at ways to improve the issues raised above. We hope you enjoyed your time in Glenorchy. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you return in the near future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$52 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionGlenorchy
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bold Peak Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Bold Peak Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Glenorchy Animal Experience (1.3 miles), Glenorchy Lagoon Boardwalk (0.2 miles), and Mrs Woolly's General Store (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bold Peak Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Bold Peak Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Bold Peak Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bold Peak Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Trading Post, Glenorchy Cafe - The GYC Restaurant, and Kinloch Wilderness Retreat Restaurant.
Is Bold Peak Lodge located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.08 miles away from the center of Glenorchy.
Is Bold Peak Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.