We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Shambles

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Shambles
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 62: English reviews
leicester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous, wholesome, home cooked food. We enjoyed a Sunday carvery with a fantastic selection of meats and plenty of vegetables. Lovely staff, easy free parking and very reasonably priced. So much better than spending Sunday slaving over a hot stove, and to be fair, it was cheaper to eat out here than it would have been to cook at home.... More 

Helpful?
Thank caronhighamwood
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2016

Every so often I and the family go out for a meal as a treat. As we've not been so impressed with our regular pub/restaurant since a menu change, we decided to go a little further afield and try out The Shambles and were not disappointed. We visited just after the lunch rush on a half term Friday, and ate... More 

Helpful?
Thank RacheM75
egeLeicester, Owner at The Shambles, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn I have passed on your comments to my staff And once again thank you and look forward to seeing again More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

Thought we would go eat as we were passing. Ordered some food. One dish was fine but the sauce was congealed, hence very thick, the other dish did not look good and didn't taste good either. Obviously gone down hill since 2015.

Helpful?
Thank Daksha M
egeLeicester, Owner at The Shambles, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. My question to you did you mention this to the waitress I suspect not but merely came on this site to complain Our standards are as high now as they were when we took on this challenge 8 years ago We have worked hard to achieve our awards and feed... More 

Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2016

This is the second time our group called Simply Social have eaten at The Shambles in Lutterworth, our first visit there were ten of us and this second visit there were twenty. To make thing easier we all gave our menu order before we arrived. Our food was served quickly considering the amount of our group and have say the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Miller212013
egeLeicester, Owner at The Shambles, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn I have passed on your comments to my staff We all look forward to seeing you again George More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

I was in the area for a friend's party. All I needed was a place to keep my stuff, a shower to get ready, a place to rest my head and a good, proper, freshly cooked breakfast and coffee to sort me out in the morning. Also somewhere that wasn't going to break the bank. Was more than happy with... More 

Helpful?
Thank David B
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2016

We stayed here last night and really enjoyed our stay, very comfortable and clean rooms. The only thing I could fault would be the shower pressure. The pub itself was decent too, unfortunately we didn't get to eat here during the day but the food looked and smelled good. The breakfast menu differed from the one given in the rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex R
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

I stayed just for the one night whilst working nearby, this is a pub with 5 rooms over the pub. The room was very clean and smart, basic but definitely adequate. The only slight grumble was the shower pressure was poor. The breakfast was very good and very fresh. The staff were very pleasant and efficient. The parking was easy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Rochester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

What a lovely place! Called 5 mins before we sat down. What a nice reception to only being called 5 mins before we turned up! Beer was brilliant, could have stayed all night! Food was brilliant, you won't leave hungry. My meal was lovely and hot. Steak was cooked to perfection and so tender. Chips were proper ones too. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank Edoardo M
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

You must remember that this is an old building. In fact the oldest in the village. The girls were great and friendly. The rooma were comfortable. A few small issues with the plumbingyand shower curtain in my colleagues room. But the rooms were clean ans the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding value. I was attending a family... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

Decent accommodation and very good food. Reasonable price. Friendly staff. Visited with a large group of friends. I would recommend. The carvery was excellent with a good choice and quality food but at a reasonable price. Good location in the centre of Lutterworth.

Helpful?
Thank J_W_Goodwin
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutterworth
0.1 mi away
Greyhound Coaching Inn
Greyhound Coaching Inn
#2 of 2 in Lutterworth
260 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ullesthorpe Court Hotel & Golf Club
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Rugby North (M6 Jct1) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
810 reviews
11.6 mi away
Premier Inn Market Harborough Hotel
8.4 mi away
Blaby Hotel
Blaby Hotel
#32 of 41 in Leicester
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about The Shambles

Address: 10-12 Bell Street, Lutterworth LE17 4DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Lutterworth
Price Range: $47 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shambles 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Shambles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shambles Lutterworth, England, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Shambles staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms are good I imagine”
 of 5 bubbles G7584YValexr, Sep 11, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem to be the same with quiet location. No noise that I was aware of.”
 of 5 bubbles J9792CWjohnw, Feb 14, 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay on a Friday due to the disco being held directly beneath your room.”
 of 5 bubbles JacquelineIreland_10, Oct 5, 2014 | Read review
“I do not recommend staying here”
 of 5 bubbles Anon1924, Apr 22, 2014 | Read review
“room 1 is near the exit where you can smoke”
 of 5 bubbles RowlandJ_12, Feb 20, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay