We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

589 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 585: English reviews
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Only there for a meal. Greeting from very young staff good, No great delay in ordering, whilst menu a little restricted one presumes they change it regularly. Food taste very good but I don't like the chips which could be called quarter roast potato's However the three courses were excellent value.

Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Poor poor hotel. Firstly the staff are sooo untrained it's unreal. There was one who didn't know what beer they had on draft! They put us on the top floor with a baby and pushchair. Asked for a different room but there were none available apparently. Secondly the rooms need attention. Gone off milk and towels that look like they... More 

Helpful?
Thank AshleyC1987

Travelers are raving about these Penkridge hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went here for an awards evening and AGM Firstly the receptionist checking us in, kept stopping to answer phone, service very poor. Food on the Saturday night was below average, chicken breast (large) dumped on a plate warm, the sauce and gravy followed after, which was as warm as the chicken!! Had to wait and remind someone for my veggie... More 

Helpful?
Thank aabh
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review - sorry that you were disappointed but I will pass on your feedback to the staff member concerned More 

Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had booked this hotel via their website to stay on a Wednesday night as I had a meeting the following day. My meeting was then brought forwards a day so I cancelled the Weds booking online and then re-booked for the Tuesday night. Upon arrival at 7.30pm I was told my booking was not on their system. I showed... More 

Helpful?
Thank SteveE21
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback - I have responded this afternoon and apologise for the problems that you encountered More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived to a leaking toilet, immediately asked to have it sorted. I was told they were fully booked and it would be sorted the following day. Came back the following day and it still wasn't fixed, this happened for 3 nights, even though I asked for it to be fixed everyday and if I could be moved room but apparently... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback, which I was disappointed to read. I have discussed this with the Managers on duty as I am concerned as to why they did not react more quickly to your problems. Should you be coming to the area again - please contact me directly on gm@hotels-stafford.com so we can arrange another room for you More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As a platinum Accor guest I have come to expect a certain standard from Mercure hotels. This dump should be removed from their estate immediately! Car park hasn't been swept in months, rooms remind me of a seventies pub, my shower tube wasn't long enough to reach the clip on the wall so they have added a cable clip to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wozzergb
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback and my apologies that you were disappointed. Our carpark is maintained by an outsourced company on a monthly basis - we do not have our own gardeners - but with the changing seasons we maybe need to look at changing the frequency and I thank you for bringing that to my attention We are a... More 

Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room clean, bed to die for very comfortable, large bathroom with adequate toiletries, good size flat screen tv with a good choice of channels. Food excellent, breakfast a very good choice to suite even the hardest to please eaters. Staff very friendly even under pressure from demanding and in my opinion some very rude and ignorant clients. From what I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mm45476
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review - glad you had a good stay More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Attended the dinner dance above over the weekend and found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Good food good drink had a good weekend. Stayed in the hotel found my room to be comfortable clean and tidy.

Helpful?
Thank dancer1629
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments following your recent stay - pleased that you had a good weekend. More 

Sheffield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well as soon as I arrived i knew it was tired..like the other review not a Mercure standard..The room absolutely stunk the bathroom was filthy the shower was either warn or very very hot. The dinner was quiet good but the manager of the facility had his priorities wrong i went to the bar to buy a drink it took... More 

Helpful?
Thank funkyfez
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review - which I was disappointed to read - we have had a full debrief with the event organiser and shared your comments with her so she is aware and I have passed on your comments to our Housekeeping team. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for a dance AGM room damp not the cleanest. food was not the best very bland staff seemed very stressed lots of arguing in front of guests at breakfast . Not the best place to stay and as they new we had a lot of people their I felt could be more organised. The hotel is in need of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jussy364
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penkridge
14.9 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
10.4 mi away
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Oak Farm Hotel
Oak Farm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatherton
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel is ideally located for both the leisure and business traveller, close to Junctions 12 and 13 of the M6 motorway. You can really relax at the Hotel, a wonderful setting surrounded by rural countryside in the peaceful market town of Penkridge. The hotel has a leisure centre and Free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel

Address: Pinfold Lane, Penkridge ST19 5QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Penkridge
Price Range: $44 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford Quality Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay