We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Premier Hotel Himeville Arms

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Premier Hotel Himeville Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 18: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We did not stay in the hotel - just stopped off at the Himeville Arms for lunch. Good atmosphere and apparently very popular with locals. Food was good and well-priced - exactly what we were looking for as well as being in a landmark establishment.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona_and_Mark_RSA
Derek P, General Manager at Premier Hotel Himeville Arms, responded to this review

Hello Fiona and Mark Thank you for taking the time to review the PH Himeville Arms and it is good to hear that you enjoyed your lunch. The Hotel is 114 years old and as you say a landmark establishment. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Derek Parsons More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on 23 July 2016, reception staff are friendly and very helpful.. we had booked 2 suites but due to some confusion with the hotel app we ended up with 1 suite and 1 superior room.. the rooms weren't too bad for the price but it wouldn't cost much to upgrade the rooms just a little..... More 

Helpful?
Thank sumesha89
Derek P, General Manager at Premier Hotel Himeville Arms, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for reviewing the Himeville Hotel. The poor level of service that was provided to you and your guests by our staff is unacceptable and for this we offer our sincere apologies. Remedial internal action has already been instituted and our service levels will be restored to enable our guests to enjoy their experience and stay with us.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Himeville hotels

Hillcrest, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We(party of 4 including 2 guests from Australia) checked in after 2 Pm and there was no toilet paper in our room. The bedding had holes and there were marks on the sheets. Supper on the first night was poor, as the kitchen was extremely slow (we waited about an hour or more before we got our food), and which... More 

Helpful?
Thank DarrylPechey
Derek P, General Manager at Premier Hotel Himeville Arms, responded to this review

Hello Darryl Thank your for reviewing the Himeville Arms Hotel. The service that you received is absolutely unacceptable by our standards and once again we apologise for any embarrassment caused to you and your Wife and to your guests. Internal steps have been taken to ensure that there are no re-occurrences of this nature. I will be contacting you directly... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were 10 people booked into this hotel for the weekend as we did Sani Pass on the Saturday. This hotel need a serious upgrade. Our toilet was leaking and the bathroom floor was wet the whole weekend (No 9). We reported it on Saturday morning but it was not fixed. The panel heater against the room wall does not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gerrie M
Derek P, General Manager at Premier Hotel Himeville Arms, responded to this review

Hello Gerrie M Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. It is disappointing to read of the level of service that you received at the Himeville Arms and is certainly not the standards that we subscribe to. Staff training is an ongoing process and cognizance is taken of your comments regarding service. I am pleased however that... More 

Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

Items on menu not available, terribly slow unprofessional service. The waiters does not even know the difference between red and white wine. Management just shrug when you complain. We waited more than an hour for our food after ordering the special of the day. The starter Calamari and the main is exactly the same.

Helpful?
1 Thank PeetHorn
Derek P, General Manager at Premier Hotel Himeville Arms, responded to this review

Hello Peet Thank you for reviewing the Himeville Arms. It is most disappointing to read about the level of service that you received. Please may I ask that you contact me directly to discuss this further. My contact details are 033702 1305. Kind regards Derek Parsons More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

We visited the restuarant and we were pleasantly surprised. The food was amazing! the resturaurant has an old charm to it. The decor is old school, but it suits the atmosphere of the town as a whole. They have daily specials which are quite affordable and taste delicious! The portion sizes are also quite generous. We can't wait to eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kutlwano-Xulu
Derek P, General Manager at Premier Hotel Himeville Arms, responded to this review

Hello Kutlwano Thank you for taking the time to review the PH Himeville Arms. It is always great to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards Derek Parsons More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

We popped in for the night at Himeville arms just after we realised we would not make the Sani border. Staff and GM were friendly. Good pub facilities with a decent menu size. Breakfast is also very nice. It's obviously very cold and I was a little disappointed that we had no way of lighting a fire. We had to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen d
Derek P, General Manager at Premier Hotel Himeville Arms, responded to this review

Hello Stephen Thank you for taking the time to review the PH Himeville Arms. We have taken note of your comments regarding the laying of fireplaces and apologise if in any way, that you did not enjoy the pleasure of a good fire in our cold weather. We look forward to your next stay with us. Kind regards Derek Parsons More 

Parow, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016

On a very cool Saturday afternoon the lunch at this hotel in front of blazing fires was the right idea. The service was a bit slow and at a stage we though we had been forgotten, but when we got our vetkoek with fillings the taste was well worth the wait.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine M
Derek P, General Manager at Premier Hotel Himeville Arms, responded to this review

Thank you Lorraine for taking the time to review the Himeville Arms. All our food is freshly prepared and apologies if the service seemed a bit slow. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Derek Parsons More 

Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

Room 5 has a nice fireplace which certainly comes in handy on chilly nights. Unfortunately the limited supply of firewood ran out rather soon and since there is no alternative source of heat I had to stay in bed and braved the freezing bathroom only when I absolutely had to. It is for this reason that I cannot recommend the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cyril K
Derek P, General Manager at Premier Hotel Himeville Arms, responded to this review

Hello Cyril Thank you for taking the time to review the PH Himeville Arms. Kind regards Derek Parsons More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2016 via mobile

I have been traveling to the Himeville Arms Hotel now for 3 years. They have recently been taken over by the Premier Hotel Group. The changes are positive when it come to the little things like fixing up the odd broken floorboard, etc. But as expected prices have gone up. My only gripes with the hotel are the fact that... More 

Helpful?
Thank NickMojoHolmes
Derek P, General Manager at Premier Hotel Himeville Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Himeville Arms Hotel. The question of extending the wifi access is currently under investigation and should be resolved in the near future. I look forward to your next visit and that we have the opportunity to meet in person. Kind regards Derek Parsons More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himeville
2.6 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
16.4 mi away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
2.6 mi away
Premier Hotel Sani Pass
Premier Hotel Sani Pass
#2 of 2 in Himeville
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Moorcroft Manor
Moorcroft Manor
#2 of 9 in Himeville
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Old Hatchery
The Old Hatchery
#1 of 12 in Underberg
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
5.2 mi away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#3 of 16 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Himeville, nestling between the transcending Drakensberg mountain, is renowned for its natural beauty, trout waters and walks. Found in the heart of Himeville is the Premier Hotel Himeville Arms. This historic country hotel, established in 1904, has an 'olde' world English charm that will appeal to the most discerning of travelers to the Southern Drakensberg looking to discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation. On offer for the guests to enjoy are a large variety of activities such as fishing, golfing, hiking, horse-riding, tennis, bowls, squash, and for the more adventurous, a visit to the famous Sani Pass situated in close proximity to the hotel. If you are one looking to 'put your feet up in front of a log fire' 'read the papers in tranquil surroundings', or simply treat yourself to a wonderful mouth-watering homemade meal, Premier Hotel Himeville Arms will not disappoint! We look forward to your visit and welcome you to our 'home from home'! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Hotel Himeville Arms

Address: Arbuckle Street, Himeville 3256, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Himeville
Price Range: $53 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Hotel Himeville Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Premier Hotel Himeville Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay