We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Casciana Terme Lari
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
Via San Lorenzo 1, 56035, Casciana Terme Lari Italy
Hotels.com
Trip.com
Priceline
Expedia.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (224)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (7)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#1 of 36 Specialty lodging in Casciana Terme Lari
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A unique historical-cultural setting. An amaranth castle, more than 500 years of history, nowadays a charming, relaxing location surrounded by the typical tuscan landscape of the rolling hills. Strategic position to the cities of arts, as well to the sea-side. Cherries, olive oil and truffles, worldwide famous red wines are "masterpieces" of our flavours and aromas... off the beaten track. Whatelse?
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Game room
Horseback riding
Indoor play area for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Table tennis
Car hire
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
217Reviews12Q+A21Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 119
  • 55
  • 19
  • 14
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
My daughter and I stayed at San Ruffino as part of a travel/trip pkg. We read all of the reviews, looked at the photos, and did our research. It looked wonderful and exceeded our expectations. We arrived late in the evening after driving from Rome/Fiumicino airport. As noted by others, the gates are locked, but we made a quick phone call and a very helpful gentleman arrived in a golf cart and drove us (F1 style! 🏎) up to the castle and helped us with our bags. Great service!! In the morning, we asked another guest where we might find breakfast and found a feast for not only the stomach, but for the eyes. The view each morning was beautiful. Breakfast was a great combination of eggs, bacon/meat, fruit (a fabulous melon!), breads, pastry, and croissants that I still miss. Pour yourself some cappuccino or espresso & get an early start. The location is an easy drive to just about anywhere. We drove to Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra, Pisa, and Viareggio. We also used a Park & Ride option to Florence. The Reception office was very helpful with a map and suggestions, which was most appreciated. We loved arriving back home at our castle each night. What a welcome sight. Our room was an apt. with one bedroom, 1.5 baths, a small kitchen area, dining table, and large living room with a sleeper sofa. I have some back issues, but that sleeper sofa was not a problem and was very comfortable. There's plenty of storage in the room. I asked about where I might buy a hair dryer and one was kindly provided for me to use. I have only good things to say about our stay there and I hope to return again.
Read more
Nice staff, especially the reception. This hotel is a typical Italian 3 star hotel; sure the photos on the their website are spectacular to look at, however these photos were taken years ago when they did the rebuild and since then there are many areas that are old and tired and not working ( couch in apt 10 is not white anymore, overhead shower in apt 9 didn’t work) we had to jimyrig it and the toilet always runs. We were there for 10 days and never got serviced, when I mentioned it to the director his response was “oh I thought we did service your room”. The internet is not continuous it comes and goes depending on how many people are using it. It’s worse at Il Poggio(their farmhouse next door). The laundry facilities are very weak. So, I guess what I’m saying is if you are expecting a 4 star castle you will be greatly disappointed for the price you pay. We were. Will will not be staying here again.
Read more
When my son and husband walked up the drive towards the resort/castle, they were utterly amazed. It’s beautiful. Well kept landscaping, pool area, grounds in general and HUGE! We walked up to our two bed suite and were amazed, again!! Huge, 1000 square foot apartment with a jetted tub and full kitchen. It really was a home away from home. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the attached restaurant was adequate. The location was gorgeous and easily accessible to Pisa, Volterra, the Ocean and Florence. The pool was nice and cool (especially since it was initially in the 90’s). We would go back there in a minute.
Read more
Enjoyed 8 nights at San Ruffino Resort in a Deluxe Suite. It was a two bedroom two bathroom suite with kitchen dining area and living room. The breakfasts were wonderful with delicious cappuccino overlooking the beauty country side. It’s closing soon for the winter season but I would encourage you to book time there in the spring.
Read more
This booking was a result of a travel package. The original size rooms offered were gone by the time I booked the trip; my room was upgraded to a suite. My friends and I arrived rather later than we expected. After a dinner at the Bistrot at the resort I was really too tired to look at the suite. The castle and it's grounds are quite beautiful. The Bistrot overlooks a small valley and there are also views of the town of Lari which sits on a nearly hill. To my surprise, the suite was really an apartment consisting of a large liveing room, kitchen and enourmous master suite with a jacuzzi tub, which did not work. One walked over a small bridge to get to another bathroom with a shower only and another bedroom which was large enough to sleep 3 or 4 people. The master bedroom had a beautiful muraled, coffered ceiling. There were terrazzo floors throughout. There are not enough lamps to illuminate rooms as large as these are so one felt as if one was constantly in the dark. I was hesitant to open the window shutters because of the bug issues I had. More on that below. Unfortunately, the room was not really clean. There were dead bugs everywhere in the bathroom and I later discovered after returning to the room later in the day, there were live bugs flying around. When I went to the reception area to make them aware of this, I didn't get much sympathy. I was told by Carlotta that these bugs are everywhere due to it being harvest time. She said that she had them in her house too. Carlotta assured me that my room would be sprayed while I was out. I came back the second day to bugs again. When I complained again to Carlotta I gor pretty much the same response. Allegedly my room was sprayed again. ToweIs are not changed every day; neither are the bed linens. I had read the reviews of this resort and was not expecting a luxury hotel, but I was expecting a clean, bug free room. Carlotta needs a bit of work regarding her customer service skills. This place could be a wonderful hotel with just a bit more attention to cleanliness and customer service. I do not think I would return.
Read more
Response from Michele C, Direttore at San Ruffino Resort
Responded Oct 19, 2019
Dear Efl 34438, thank you very much for your comments. For sure they will help us to improve our services for the future. You are right when you say that you were upgraded for free from our side to a Deluxe Suite Apartment, not so for the jacuzzi tub. I can assure this, just because we sanitise the tub every change of guest, so the morning of your arrival the tub was checked and when you left as well. Maybe you didn't know that the tub has to be filled with water till a certain limit in order to let it start otherwise it will never, just for security reason. In this case we always suggest to come and ask the reception. Only in this way Carlotta or anybody else at the front desk could be for sure more helpful than with the bugs. Those green soldier bugs (Chinavia hilaris) are leaving during the summer inside the vineyards, but during the harvesting they fly away trying to recover nearby. Carlotta was just kindly trying to explain you that they are absolutely inoffensive and that they are all around during this period. We are leaving in the middle of a Chianti area, full of vineyards, we can assure you that we clean every day where the bugs love to stay, either alive or dead, but just after, others come and put themselves in the same place, nearby the windows to get as much sun as possible. Most of them die just when the temperature goes down. This year, autumn is so hot that they are surviving longer. Now coming to the point of towels and bed linens you give me the chance to clarify the following: our apartments are rented in self catering. Included in the booking you always have one set of bed linen and towels for each person. This is clearly specified everywhere. If, on the contrary, you book a bedroom the hotelier service with daily cleaning is granted during all the period of your stay. It's sincerely difficult for us to understand why, deciding to book a self catering apartments, some guests are disappointed by the fact that they get 100% of the service they have paid for. San Ruffino Resort is not a traditional hotel, is a historical Castle with 18 self catering Apartments and 8 hotel bedrooms. Cleaning is our first commitment to our guests, but we are immersed in nature and we think that cohabitation is in this case something not only necessary, but a positive chance. Our mission is just to give our guests the possibility of experiencing a true Tuscan lifestyle. This means to have full attention to the guests and customer service without any doubt, but at the same time maintaining an authentic natural lifestyle. It's not question of careless, but just awareness.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$121 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of PisaCasciana Terme Lari
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about San Ruffino Resort
Which popular attractions are close to San Ruffino Resort?
Nearby attractions include Santuario Della Madonna del Ghisallo - Museo Del Ciclismo (2.8 miles), Castello dei Vicari (1.0 miles), and Pasta Martelli (1.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at San Ruffino Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at San Ruffino Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at San Ruffino Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at San Ruffino Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to San Ruffino Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Atutt'Antipasto, Locanda Lo Scopiccio, and Locanda la Fornace.
Are there opportunities to exercise at San Ruffino Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is San Ruffino Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of Casciana Terme Lari.
Are pets allowed at San Ruffino Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at San Ruffino Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to San Ruffino Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Rocca Di Montanino (3.8 miles).