We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Via San Lorenzo 1, 56035, Casciana Terme Lari Italy
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
FindHotel
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 7 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (250)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (8)

About

#1 of 38 in Casciana Terme Lari
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.2
Value
4.2
A unique historical-cultural setting. An amaranth castle, more than 500 years of history, nowadays a charming, relaxing location surrounded by the typical tuscan landscape of the rolling hills. Strategic position to the cities of arts, as well to the sea-side. Cherries, olive oil and truffles, worldwide famous red wines are "masterpieces" of our flavours and aromas... off the beaten track. Whatelse?
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Game room
Horseback riding
Indoor play area for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Table tennis
Car hire
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
239Reviews12Q+A21Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 127
  • 60
  • 21
  • 18
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lily R wrote a review Aug 2021
Brooklyn, New York361 contributions103 helpful votes
If you want to be transported back in time, this 17th century noble castle is the resort for you. The views of the Tuscan countryside from the hotel are transcendent and it truly is an experience like no other. If however, you’d rather modern comforts such as strong American air conditioning, don’t stay here. But you’d be missing out on a one of a kind experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Direzione Borgo San Martino Club Resort, Proprietario at San Ruffino Resort
Responded Aug 28, 2021
Dear 705Lilyr, you can't imagine how you made all of our team happy with your review. In few simple, but truly emotional words you perfectly described San Ruffino ambience and experience. Thank you so much and enjoy every day your life as you did with us in San Ruffino
Read more
Sandy wrote a review Dec 2019
Twinsburg, Ohio14 contributions
+1
My daughter and I stayed at San Ruffino as part of a travel/trip pkg. We read all of the reviews, looked at the photos, and did our research. It looked wonderful and exceeded our expectations. We arrived late in the evening after driving from Rome/Fiumicino airport. As noted by others, the gates are locked, but we made a quick phone call and a very helpful gentleman arrived in a golf cart and drove us (F1 style! 🏎) up to the castle and helped us with our bags. Great service!! In the morning, we asked another guest where we might find breakfast and found a feast for not only the stomach, but for the eyes. The view each morning was beautiful. Breakfast was a great combination of eggs, bacon/meat, fruit (a fabulous melon!), breads, pastry, and croissants that I still miss. Pour yourself some cappuccino or espresso & get an early start. The location is an easy drive to just about anywhere. We drove to Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra, Pisa, and Viareggio. We also used a Park & Ride option to Florence. The Reception office was very helpful with a map and suggestions, which was most appreciated. We loved arriving back home at our castle each night. What a welcome sight. Our room was an apt. with one bedroom, 1.5 baths, a small kitchen area, dining table, and large living room with a sleeper sofa. I have some back issues, but that sleeper sofa was not a problem and was very comfortable. There's plenty of storage in the room. I asked about where I might buy a hair dryer and one was kindly provided for me to use. I have only good things to say about our stay there and I hope to return again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Kimberly K wrote a review Dec 2019
San Diego, California128 contributions30 helpful votes
Nice staff, especially the reception. This hotel is a typical Italian 3 star hotel; sure the photos on the their website are spectacular to look at, however these photos were taken years ago when they did the rebuild and since then there are many areas that are old and tired and not working ( couch in apt 10 is not white anymore, overhead shower in apt 9 didn’t work) we had to jimyrig it and the toilet always runs. We were there for 10 days and never got serviced, when I mentioned it to the director his response was “oh I thought we did service your room”. The internet is not continuous it comes and goes depending on how many people are using it. It’s worse at Il Poggio(their farmhouse next door). The laundry facilities are very weak. So, I guess what I’m saying is if you are expecting a 4 star castle you will be greatly disappointed for the price you pay. We were. Will will not be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Michele Corsi, Proprietario at San Ruffino Resort
Responded Aug 25, 2020
Dear Kimberly, you are a professional tourist operator and you perfectly know what happened during your stay. You were bringing a group from USA and because of problems with the organisation of it, many of them were not satisfied just before their check in at San Ruffino. In any case: 1 - the couch in apartment 10 has never ever been white, but cream colour since the beginning to maintain a certain colour matching with the rest of the accommodation; 2 - the shower in apt 9 was perfectly working as our maintenance showed you, it's just a question of knowing how it works. 3 - internet at Poggio di San Ruffino (the farmhouse next door) works only in the common area and swimming pool, this is clearly specified everywhere. You were informed about that and it's really strange to read about this from your side. If some of your guests were staying at Poggio is not certainly because of our fault. Regarding the services to the apartments considering that all of them had received what agreed I supposed the same for your. Obviously I thought and when I found out that yours wasn't done by mistake, I apologised with you for the inconvenience, just saying that informing the reception at the right time would have given to you the possibility of providing immediately solving the problem caused to you. Mistakes sometimes happens as you know even with confirmations !!!
Read more
BethT_68 wrote a review Nov 2019
Cleveland, Ohio10 contributions18 helpful votes
When my son and husband walked up the drive towards the resort/castle, they were utterly amazed. It’s beautiful. Well kept landscaping, pool area, grounds in general and HUGE! We walked up to our two bed suite and were amazed, again!! Huge, 1000 square foot apartment with a jetted tub and full kitchen. It really was a home away from home. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the attached restaurant was adequate. The location was gorgeous and easily accessible to Pisa, Volterra, the Ocean and Florence. The pool was nice and cool (especially since it was initially in the 90’s). We would go back there in a minute.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Sally O wrote a review Oct 2019
28 contributions2 helpful votes
Enjoyed 8 nights at San Ruffino Resort in a Deluxe Suite. It was a two bedroom two bathroom suite with kitchen dining area and living room. The breakfasts were wonderful with delicious cappuccino overlooking the beauty country side. It’s closing soon for the winter season but I would encourage you to book time there in the spring.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
efl34438 wrote a review Oct 2019
Miami, Florida9 contributions6 helpful votes
This booking was a result of a travel package. The original size rooms offered were gone by the time I booked the trip; my room was upgraded to a suite. My friends and I arrived rather later than we expected. After a dinner at the Bistrot at the resort I was really too tired to look at the suite. The castle and it's grounds are quite beautiful. The Bistrot overlooks a small valley and there are also views of the town of Lari which sits on a nearly hill. To my surprise, the suite was really an apartment consisting of a large liveing room, kitchen and enourmous master suite with a jacuzzi tub, which did not work. One walked over a small bridge to get to another bathroom with a shower only and another bedroom which was large enough to sleep 3 or 4 people. The master bedroom had a beautiful muraled, coffered ceiling. There were terrazzo floors throughout. There are not enough lamps to illuminate rooms as large as these are so one felt as if one was constantly in the dark. I was hesitant to open the window shutters because of the bug issues I had. More on that below. Unfortunately, the room was not really clean. There were dead bugs everywhere in the bathroom and I later discovered after returning to the room later in the day, there were live bugs flying around. When I went to the reception area to make them aware of this, I didn't get much sympathy. I was told by Carlotta that these bugs are everywhere due to it being harvest time. She said that she had them in her house too. Carlotta assured me that my room would be sprayed while I was out. I came back the second day to bugs again. When I complained again to Carlotta I gor pretty much the same response. Allegedly my room was sprayed again. ToweIs are not changed every day; neither are the bed linens. I had read the reviews of this resort and was not expecting a luxury hotel, but I was expecting a clean, bug free room. Carlotta needs a bit of work regarding her customer service skills. This place could be a wonderful hotel with just a bit more attention to cleanliness and customer service. I do not think I would return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Michele C, Direttore at San Ruffino Resort
Responded Oct 20, 2019
Dear Efl 34438, thank you very much for your comments. For sure they will help us to improve our services for the future. You are right when you say that you were upgraded for free from our side to a Deluxe Suite Apartment, not so for the jacuzzi tub. I can assure this, just because we sanitise the tub every change of guest, so the morning of your arrival the tub was checked and when you left as well. Maybe you didn't know that the tub has to be filled with water till a certain limit in order to let it start otherwise it will never, just for security reason. In this case we always suggest to come and ask the reception. Only in this way Carlotta or anybody else at the front desk could be for sure more helpful than with the bugs. Those green soldier bugs (Chinavia hilaris) are leaving during the summer inside the vineyards, but during the harvesting they fly away trying to recover nearby. Carlotta was just kindly trying to explain you that they are absolutely inoffensive and that they are all around during this period. We are leaving in the middle of a Chianti area, full of vineyards, we can assure you that we clean every day where the bugs love to stay, either alive or dead, but just after, others come and put themselves in the same place, nearby the windows to get as much sun as possible. Most of them die just when the temperature goes down. This year, autumn is so hot that they are surviving longer. Now coming to the point of towels and bed linens you give me the chance to clarify the following: our apartments are rented in self catering. Included in the booking you always have one set of bed linen and towels for each person. This is clearly specified everywhere. If, on the contrary, you book a bedroom the hotelier service with daily cleaning is granted during all the period of your stay. It's sincerely difficult for us to understand why, deciding to book a self catering apartments, some guests are disappointed by the fact that they get 100% of the service they have paid for. San Ruffino Resort is not a traditional hotel, is a historical Castle with 18 self catering Apartments and 8 hotel bedrooms. Cleaning is our first commitment to our guests, but we are immersed in nature and we think that cohabitation is in this case something not only necessary, but a positive chance. Our mission is just to give our guests the possibility of experiencing a true Tuscan lifestyle. This means to have full attention to the guests and customer service without any doubt, but at the same time maintaining an authentic natural lifestyle. It's not question of careless, but just awareness.
Read more
Eatsoutoften wrote a review Oct 2019
Glen Ellen, California27 contributions15 helpful votes
My husband and I had a wonderful time here. The castle is beautiful as are the grounds. The setting and view are spectacular. It seems like you are in the middle of nowhere, yet in just 10-15 minutes or less, you can drive to any number of villages in the area. We took days trips almost every day. It was quiet, beautiful and peaceful. Our room was spacious and clean. The linens are not changed every day here, and not all toiletries are provided but that was fine with us. It was very nice to have a restaurant on site. We loved the setting of the restaurant, which served very good food. The staff was great too, and very accommodating in both the restaurant and the castle. I'm surprised at some of the negative reviews - to me they are a little nitpickie - as when you travel you have to be flexible. Try to arrive before dark. We were delayed getting out of Rome, and wound up driving on country roads with a GPS that kept dropping! We made many wrong turns, but finally got there only to find the front gate locked. There is a sign with a phone number, which we did not see, but, at that point, we didn't know how to make a phone call to Italy from our phones anyway. Luckily some guests were going out, let us through the gate and called the hotel for us. Soon a nice young man with a golf cart showed up and took us to our room and directed us to the restaurant. We ordered a badly needed bottle of wine, which we started sipping before our delicious dinner arrived. All was well.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
slsimaging wrote a review Sep 2019
Jerusalem, Israel18 contributions1 helpful vote
Tuscany is beautiful, the park is great. The apartments rented on the location are really basics, In the one, we stayed the air conditioning was not efficient and very noisy! No internet. In one of the bathroom, we had bugs.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
topcat039 wrote a review Aug 2019
Northampton, United Kingdom14 contributions9 helpful votes
Before booking I did thorough research and was abundantly aware of some previous reviews where people thought they were pitching up at a 300 year old castle and getting all the bells and whistles of a commercial hotel. I very much doubt you will be too disappointed when you realise these are essentially self catering suites within a castle setting. You 100% need a car and there is a good supermarket 5-10 mins away, load up on all the good stuff you want to eat and drink. You know what, not everything is perfect here but just take a deep breath take in the amazing views and setting and realise in terms of an authentic Tuscan experience it's great and in my opinion for the time of year good value for money this is the reason I have rated very good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
DrSpaceBoy wrote a review Aug 2019
Vienna, Austria285 contributions128 helpful votes
+1
This rating is of course based on our subjective impression, and since it turned out to be 2 out of 5 only, I will explain in detail what caused the deductions. The location itself is great: an old 17th century castle turned into a place for accommodation, on a hill overlooking typical Tuscan landscapes. We had booked a "deluxe suite garden" - giving us enough space for our almost-entire family, and a garden area on top of that. Upon arrival you leave your car behind as they are not allowed to park inside the the park/accommodation area (not entirely true as next to our garden area there were always cars - maybe employees'). If you are lucky enough to know that they have a golf buggy and a guy who will pick you up and help with the luggage...well then you are lucky. We didnt know, so instead we dragged everything ourselves and were given funny looks. No problem though. Check-in was easy, and we were shown our suite soon enough. It offered a large living area with an open kitchen / dining area, one bathroom connected to the living area (sink, toilet, bidet, shower), 2 sleeping rooms, one of them having an en suite bathroom (sadly enough not the master bedroom, but the one with 3 single beds) with sink, toilet, bidet, and jacuzzi tub. The furniture is simple and shows some signs of wear, specifically the sofa there - considerable damage done already, unfortunately, and the floor was not too clean when we came there either. The shower in the bathroom connected to the living room is far from luxurious, and the bidet there had issues with draining, too. Nevertheless it is sufficient to feel reasonably comfortable. The garden area for our deluxe suite garden was a gravel patched area next to the entrance of our suite, and had a plastic table with some plastic chairs on it - do not expect privacy here as people kept walking past, and someone must have brought a dog, too, as the dog left us a not so welcome souvenir, which still hadnt been cleaned away the day afterwards. Given the architecture of the building it is not surprising that the suite itself was rather darkish, but this need not be considered a bad thing - it comes with the place. There were enough lamps to light up the place with artificial light. Noise, however, was very bad: You could hear the people living one floor above our suite - the noise of their steps being greatly amplified; furthermore, the noise of the outside (not of our own - we had it switched off at all times) ventilation/air conditioning was audible even with windows closed - considerably disturbing night rest if you have sensitive ears (and making it impossible to open windows at night). The suite also repeatedly suffered from the smell of canalisation - did not last long, but did happen more than just once. NB: the living area was split in half by a single step, and the master bedroom had 3 steps to get into, two of them being extremely high (not a bad thing either, but might be good to know). Not sure how the other suites looked like, but ours (#6) was like that. About the terminology itself: we booked a deluxe suite garden - we got an apartment: there is no daily cleaning, no automatic refreshing of toiletries (had to ask, which worked, though. Need to mention that they hand these out in small plastic bags, which are absolutely impossible to open underneath the shower when wet, and more than just a bit difficult to open when dry), and according to the rules of the house you even need to make sure you wash dishes and remove your trash from the kitchen yourself. While this is not a problem in general, it is not mentioned on their own website, and not mentioned on other booking websites either, so be advised that you are not settling into a hotel despite the misleading term "suite". Part of our inventory seemed to be missing, too: we had no kettle or water cooker (mentioned as part of the kitchen) for example, or no hair dryer either (also mentioned as part of the bathroom equipment). The outdoor area focuses around the pool (kidney shape, sort of) with deckchairs and umbrellas. The towels are not included in the room price and need to be paid extra - somewhat irritating given the fact that we were already paying EUR 300 per night - for a suite that was not a suite but an apartment without room service/cleaning. The pool area and the pool itself: way too small for the number of people there, and not enough deckchairs, as simple as that. The pool itself was not too clean either - too many stones and too much earth. There is another pool adjacent to the area if you want to walk 5 minutes - that one is of similar size but rectangular - we did not try it, so cannot judge. The WiFi at the place is a roller coaster. At times it can work very well, but you have erratic drops, and it can vary a lot inside your suite as well - depending on where you plant yourself. The best spots in #6 are close to the left wall after entering the suite (the reception is behind that wall), and the kids' bedroom. The master bedroom practically doesnt have any signal at all, the rest of the living room works - or not. All in all (except for the dog poo which is really a no go and simply should not happen - we did not book farm holidays), these issues can certainly be considered trivial and minor were it not for the fact that their website and booking sites advertise differently: deluxe. suite. garden. None of this is correct, unless you take their pricing, which is certainly in the deluxe category. As such, our expectations were met with a reality that was simply not up to par - nevertheless we do not regret staying, we spent a lot of time away from the accommodation. This review is also not meant to scare potential visitors away, but everyone needs to understand that there is a lot of small print that is not properly represented online, as well as some details that need to be handled in order for this place to truly deserve its star rating - consequently and in a stable manner. Breakfast was not included in our booking, so we paid extra for it at the local bistro. Pricing here was moderate (10 EUR for adults, 5 EUR for kids aged 5-10). Choice was decent - tea, coffee, jams, some bread, cakes, a bit of ham and cheese, scrambled eggs, bacon - a continental setup. Good quality, but also included frozen products, for example berries (the freezer was right there and you could see from which pack it had been taken). No fresh juices, just ready made orange juice. As such: one point less for the inadequate maintenance and state of the suite, one point less for the subjective experience (pool area, dog poo, for example), and one point less for the severe misrepresentation of the accommodation itself: not a hotel suite, but de facto a self catering apartment - and you can get better for a lot less in Tuscany - including full privacy. Overall, we did not have this feeling of being overly welcome, and while a minor detail, we were not surprised that upon check out we were not asked whether we had liked our stay, if everything had been ok, or anything the likes. A real pity - could be much better if they really cared.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$97 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of PisaCasciana Terme Lari
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about San Ruffino Resort
Which popular attractions are close to San Ruffino Resort?
Nearby attractions include Castello dei Vicari (1.0 miles), Pasta Martelli (1.0 miles), and Pao Pub (2.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at San Ruffino Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at San Ruffino Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at San Ruffino Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at San Ruffino Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to San Ruffino Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include L'Ariete, Il Rosso Della Paola, and In Punta Di Piedi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at San Ruffino Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is San Ruffino Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of Casciana Terme Lari.
Are pets allowed at San Ruffino Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at San Ruffino Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to San Ruffino Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Il Cinitoio (3.1 miles) and Rocca Di Montanino (3.8 miles).