We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Estalagem do Vale Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Sitio das Feiteira de Baixo, Sao Vicente, Madeira 9240-206 , Portugal
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cabrerets, France
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights over Christmas and New Year and had a really wonderful time. We stayed here previously 8 years ago and always vowed we would return. We were made to feel so welcome. It is in a beautifully peaceful setting on the north of the island, it is best to hire a car, though... More 

Helpful?
Thank gillden
Estalagem d, Front Office Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear member of TripAdvisor, We hereby thank you for your review towards our hotel and staff which we are very grateful for; it helps us to correct and improve every day. We hope to receive you again in Hotel Estalagem do Vale. Best regards. More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

A very friendly family run hotel based in the forest on the North of the Island and ideally placed for those visiting Madeira for a walking holiday. Accommodation is very comfortable (try to get a room with a balcony view down to the coast of across to the hills). Meals are excellent especially for those who like fish and offers... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank peter366
Estalagem d, Public Relations Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear member of TripAdvisor, We hereby answer to your comment made on Trip Advisor regarding our Hotel and also our staff, which we are very grateful for,it helps us to correct and improve every day. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here in our hotel Estalagem do Vale.We hope to see you soon once again. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

This small hotel sits in a gorgeous setting amongst the mountains of Sao Vicente. It is quiet and you need a car to see the island but so much more tranquil than other spots. Staff were excellent. Food was good and we only ate elsewhere one night. We had a great week here and it is perfect for a quiet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim4965
Estalagem d, Front Office Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor member, We thank you for your comments and interaction with our workforce, which for us is always important. Only this way we can improve the quality of our services and create conditions of excellence. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here in our hotel Estalagem do Vale and hope to see you soon once again. Best... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 1 week in October and the weather was horrible for 3 days out of 4. As it was optional, we did not book a room with a view of the mountain. We should have, as we had a magnificient view of the neighbours's gardens. The windows were not equipped with net curtains so we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene O
Estalagem d, Front Office Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear member of TripAdvisor, We hereby answer your comment made on Trip Advisor, once we appreciate all sorts of comments whether they are appreciative or derogatory. 1.We do have two tipes of courtains, the blackout and the other courtain for decoration, we don’t understand when you say that you had to be in the dark for privacy!that’s why we have... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

We stayed for 2 weeks at the above hotel.. This is much too long, we did not know that it was 35 minutes into Funchal. You really do need to have a car. Having said this the staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble. The food is good, but the chef seems to repeat the menus every other... More 

Helpful?
Thank june_koubel
Estalagem d, Public Relations Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor member, Thank you for leaving your review towards our hotel. Best regards. More 

Brentwood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

We were looking for a smaller hotel in a quiet location in Madeira and this proved to be the case. The staff were friendly and professional and the facilities were good. They have an excellent chef in Roberto. I enjoyed every meal and we only ate out once. - particularly good dessert trolley. It is probably best to hire a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bernadine W
Estalagem d, Front Office Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tripadvisor member. Thank you for your kind words. Best regards. More 

Belgium
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015

We stayed here during our round trip around Madeira. Our overall experience with the hotels up north was that they were less in quality (but cheaper) than those in Funchal, but this was one of the better ones. This one was average. We had difficulties finding the hotel, driving up and down the hill, the hotel was poorly recognisable from... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chitza
Bucharest
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

After spending a week in Funchal, we moved to Sao Vicente for three days, so that our trips would be shorter. The hotel is not easy to find by searching for the address - both car's GPS and our own did not find it. However, searching for a POI (point of interest) did the trick. There are also a few... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank roslayer
Estalagem d, Guest Relations Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear member of TripAdvisor, We hereby answer your comment made on Trip Advisor, once we appreciate all sorts of comments whether they are appreciative or derogatory. In the paragraph that you comment about the mini bar, we inform you that its only by request, If you had informed the reception of your interest in the mini bar, we were happy... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

We chose this to have a special celebration and it proved to be a good choice ! As it was small, it felt really personal and we found the service excellent and subtle. The old part of the hotel has some interesting old items on display in the corridors and there's a really nice feel to it. We had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rauma
Estalagem d, Guest Relations Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear member of TripAdvisor, We hereby answer your comment made on Trip Advisor, once we appreciate all sorts of comments whether they are appreciative or derogatory. About the tv in the bedroom, that you say its a “small tv”, we inform you that our hotel is doing the replacement of the equipment, however, as it is a large-capacity investment, we... More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Great location in a nice quiet spot, stunning surroundings. Very good value for money. Breakfast was very nice and substantial. We chose to dine in the hotel restaurant 4 times and the food was very good standard, nicely presented, huge portions. The wine was a good price and was a good standard. We had a problem one night with some... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tudin
Estalagem d, Guest Relations Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for you review. We do our best to make our guests stay more pleasant as if in their own home. The toilet problem was solved, we hope it didn't cause you many disturbance. We hope to have the pleasure of your future visit. Best regards from all staff at Estalagem do Vale. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
4:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sao Vicente
4.0 mi away
Monte Mar Palace
Monte Mar Palace
#1 of 1 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
1.3 mi away
Solar Da Bica
Solar Da Bica
#1 of 5 in Sao Vicente
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
1.0 mi away
Estalagem do Mar
Estalagem do Mar
#3 of 5 in Sao Vicente
3.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Calheta Beach
Hotel Calheta Beach
#4 of 8 in Calheta
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
12.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay