We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Hotel & Brasserie

Traveler (58)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (5)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The George, Hotel and Brasserie, is situated in the historic village of Buckden just off the A1 between Huntingdon and St Neots, & a stones throw from the A14. For hundreds of years it has been a resting place for travellers making their way between York and London along the old Great North Road.
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveler rating
199
78
30
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
199
78
30
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely lunch cottage pie staff were attentive main course wine list three courses main meal sunday lunch roast potatoes bar menu lovely hotel public areas afternoon tea pudding biscuits full english yogurt
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 328 reviews
Reviewed today

We hired one of the rooms in the hotel to celebrate a golden wedding anniversary party with about 25 guests. We chose the afternoon buffet with drinks on arrival. Everything was perfect. The staff couldn't have been more professional and the food was delicious. The...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Odyssey04870282582
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was a last minute booking and had never heard of or knew of this hotel Booked for location , just off A1, and price Arrived late in evening , 11.00pm , called in advance in case of issue but was told no problem Night...More

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank ptcairns
Response from RichardO2515, Owner at The George Hotel & BrasserieResponded yesterday

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your first visit with us. We hope you are able to stay again soon Best regards Richard and the team

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time we came here, the first time was a bit of a mixture of success and disappointment. Fortunately someone gave me a voucher for Christmas so I went back with my wife, we both had squid followed by steak and it...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Alan B
Response from RichardO2515, Manager at The George Hotel & BrasserieResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review We were very pleased to read you enjoyed your recent visit and we hope to see you again soon. Regards Richard

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'm really sorry that I can only give this 5 as it should be more, we attended a 60th Birthday party for family, we has a room for 21 and the table layout was wonderful. The meal was to die for with large portions and...More

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank Peter F
Response from RichardO2515, Owner at The George Hotel & BrasserieResponded 6 days ago

Thank you so much for providing the above feedback regarding the event you attended on New Years Day. I will ensure all involved see your comments - they will be very pleased to read them. Look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards Richard and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've been lucky enough to come to the George twice this month, both times were as usual fantastic. I came to a party night ( a new experience for me ) and had a wonderful evening. Food beautiful and service great too . Relaxed meal...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank I5155JFmaryw
Response from RichardO2515, Owner at The George Hotel & BrasserieResponded 6 days ago

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent visits to the George. We hope your next visit is just as enjoyable. Best regards Richard

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kkappes11
Thank you for your reply, to tell you then truth I didn't want a reply saying that I should of told you on the day, firstly it as Christmas Day, I am the customer so therefore you should make my experience the best possible. What I have given you is honest feedback not aggressive in any way, what I would expect is from you is to look at the feedback and act upon it. When a business looks at feedback as a complaint its then a slippery slope, I also understand customers can be picky and down right rude, I am neither, but i do expect a high standard and something a bit more special than you offered on this occasion. May i suggest you step back and look at what you can see, you may then see that the men's toilets need decorating that no one offered us our drink. The food was not as good as previously had on the same day. As I just said its feed back,
February 13, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from RichardO2515 | Property representative |
We certainly didn't look at your feedback as a complaint. We welcome all feedback in order to maintain/improve our offering. What I said was we were confused by your feedback (the last part,) when you mentioned you may end... More
1
Vote
christopher d
November 30, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from JudithAylott | Reviewed this property |
Why don't you look on their website?
0
Votes
christopher d
November 30, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from rogerramjet365 | Reviewed this property |
Good Morning, Yes they have a set menu cost is £30 for 2 courses and £35 for 3 courses including a glass of bubbly on arrival. I would advise that you book early to avoid disapointment. Regards Roger
0
Votes
Room Tips
"We did not stay so we cannot commenty on the rooms."
gilliandeller
May 18, 2018
Read review
"superior rooms have baths aswell as a shower."
elainewj
Feb 21, 2018
Read review
"I have not used the rooms, so I'm afraid I could not comment"
TerrieF36
Nov 21, 2017
Read review
"Try to get a room that isn't above the kitchen area! Unless you get up super early."
marnixa2017
Sep 6, 2017
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
$83 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the george hotel and brasseriegeorge hotel st neots
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBuckden
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing