We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Hotel & Brasserie

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buckden
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The George Hotel & Brasserie
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 213: English reviews
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel room was nice enough and the service was very good. It was a warm evening and the room did get quite warm, despite using the fan. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but did the job. The bathroom looked great on first glance, but a closer look showed some poorly decorated repairs around the bath tub. Breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank DanJM7
Buckden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the George hotel on the 21 June for a Birthday treat I think we need a special place the service makes you feel special the setting the attention to detail is all part of it ,fine wine fine dining my beef dish had one small chewy piece so they did not charge us for that meal that special... More 

Helpful?
Thank 41goodpup
Richard O, General Manager at The George Hotel & Brasserie, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your Birthday celebration here with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Richard and the team. More 

London, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Attractive,spacious and clean building with immaculately dressed waitresses. Only a handful of guests however.An unusually sunny day, we were driving past the building and decided to stop for lunch.We were given a quiet table for four of us and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere.We made our order and then were somewhat taken back when the waitress came to each of us... More 

Helpful?
Thank EvieBowring
Richard O, General Manager at The George Hotel & Brasserie, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. The action that you were "taken aback" by, is often referred to as 'breaking napkins'. A service you will come across in many higher end establishments. Sorry to hear you won't be coming again. Regards. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

What an unexpected yet perfectly formed hotel and brasserie. Such an incredible building with an almost 'Tardis'-like interior - so vast and spacious. We were warmly greeted, seated at our table and offered menus. The set menu was pleasant and varied and the wine choices seemed to indicate the cellar was indeed well-stocked. An enjoyable experience and we very much... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorGratton
Richard O, General Manager at The George Hotel & Brasserie, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review. We were pleased to read your enjoyed all aspects of your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Richard. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for an evening on business. Very accomodating staff with equally well trained chefs. Lovely June evening which I sat out front watching the world go by. Decent parking at the rear and a safe area. Slightly loud in the morning due to single glazing but its a very quaint hotel with decent decor and very period features make it... More 

Helpful?
Thank iamRayRay
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

We have been frequenting this hotel for many years as we go up and down to London. It has been lovely as a stop over for a meal or a night stopover and we have always been made welcome. We have recommended it to a few select friends who have always enjoyed it too. But sadly I have noticed that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sugaraunty
Richard O, Owner at The George Hotel & Brasserie, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write. Sorry to read you feel "loyalty doesn't pay" I would just like to clarify that having empty tables in the restaurant when you arrived at 7.20pm does not mean we had a quiet night ahead of us. If memory serves me correctly, we had an extremely busy night with every table being... More 

Godmanchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

The warm welcome at the bar, the excellent before dinner cocktails, a fantastic meal and friendly, attentive service made this a very special wedding anniversary celebration. The varied menu and a great wine list made our final selection a difficult choice but has certainly encouraged a return visit to try a something else.

Helpful?
Thank MrAitch373
Richard O, Owner at The George Hotel & Brasserie, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We were very pleased to read you enjoyed your anniversary celebration with us. We all agree, that a good evening starts with great cocktails! Looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

Over the years we have only ever eaten here as very handy when travelling up and down the A1. Sadly over time the service has gone downhill. The staff very rarely smile, appear aloof and no personality! Unless of course, as we have noticed, you are a very regular guest and the staff are very welcoming to them. We have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
Richard O, Owner at The George Hotel & Brasserie, responded to this review

We were sorry to read your recent review. Please accept our apologies that the dressing was missed off the garnish served with your sandwich. Obviously too late now, but we could of course have provided some dressing had you informed us of the situation. Nonetheless, it should not have been missed off in the first place, apologies once again. We... More 

Northants
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

We had a beautiful lunch today - highly recommend the fish pie and orange creme caramel with fresh raspberries! Lovely presentation and everywhere is so fresh looking and clean. Staff are really pleasant with a very attentive and slick service. Elemis products in the ladies toilet - a real treat! We sat outside in the sunshine whilst choosing from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
Richard O, Manager at The George Hotel & Brasserie, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review. The fish pie is certainly a firm favourite since being introduced on the summer lunch menu. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

Three of us joined friends who were staying at The George for an evening meal . Service was slow even though only two or three other tables were occupied . The meal is hard to describe......mine was a miniscule piece of lamb which tasted horrible and cost just over £19 .I left half of it , as did the two... More 

Helpful?
Thank wendy w
Richard O, Owner at The George Hotel & Brasserie, responded to this review

We were very sorry to read you did not enjoy your meal with us. Unfortunately, we have not been able to redeem the situation as you did not mention your disappointment on the evening. Posting a belated review on trip advisor unfortunately does not give the chef a chance to offer you an alternative dish, or for the management to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckden
0.0 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buckden
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
4.0 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#3 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
3.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
3.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Huntingdon (A1/A14) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George, Hotel and Brasserie, is situated in the historic village of Buckden just off the A1 between Huntingdon and St Neots. For hundreds of years it has been a resting place for travellers making their way between York and London along the old Great North Road. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Hotel & Brasserie

Address: 39 High Street, Buckden PE19 5XA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Buckden
Price Range: $122 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel & Brasserie 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The George Hotel And Brasserie
George Hotel St Neots
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing