We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel Coco Loco

Save
Fernando Cassis, Malecon, Canoa 131451 Ecuador
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (20)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (2)

About

#5 of 25 Specialty lodging in Canoa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hostel Coco Loco is a beachfront Hostal with beautiful gardens and views of the sea. We have a quiet, chilled out vibe with palm trees and hammocks and a bar with rum, cold beer, and great service. You'll find Coco Loco comfortable, convenient, and a lovely escape. Please come join us for a couple of days.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Beach
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Budget

Location

Full view
38Car recommended
Grade: 38 out of 100
10Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
0Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
23Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 15
  • 3
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
We are not your 20-something backpackers, but are travelers in our 50s who enjoy a more fun environment than a stodgy hotel. Russ and his team (including the very loveable WunderMutt) were all fantastic. The rooms and the grounds are clean and very well-maintained. It is evident that Ross takes great pride in making sure that Coco Loco is the best place to stay in Canoa. We were in a private room with a private bath. The bed was comfortable and housekeeping was willing to change linens every day, although we did not think that was necessary. The swinging wood window shutters kept our room super dark when closed. Yay for being able to sleep in during vacay! When the shutters were open we had lively views of the beach and a great ocean breeze. While it is a hostel, there is no element of roughing it, and I would truly describe it as an upscale hostel... really more like a hotel. The dining area is a great place to hang out for an extended breakfast. The bar has Happy Hour specials and Ross stocks GOOD liquor at the bar and enjoys offering more upscale cocktails at budget traveler prices. You are about 50 steps from the beach and about 25 steps from many very affordable local restaurants. There is a very nice and welcoming ex-pat community in Canoa. We were caught in the “Canoa Vortex” (as it is jokingly called) for over 3 weeks. We arrived in Canoa expecting to stay for 4 or 5 days, but were so happy in this chill little village so we stayed and stayed ... and am sure that we will return again. Great beach for walks, surfing (Coco Loco has boards for rent), great social scene. Do yourself a favor — quit searching for any other places. Just book your stay at Coco Loco!
Read more
Response from Ross B, Owner at Hostel Coco Loco
Responded Oct 27, 2019
Thanks JLA62! It was a pleasure having you guys here, glad you enjoyed it, I hope you have a great season and I look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Canoa!
Read more
Coco Loco is the nicest hostel I’ve ever stayed in. I was made to feel at home there from the time I arrived. From the welcoming owner and staff to some great fireside chats with travelers from different parts of the world, there was never a shortage of friendly faces and interesting conversation. On top of all that our room was adorable and impeccably clean, the management was upfront, helpful, and organized, and the location was ideal for what I wanted out of my beach trip. I rented a surfboard from the hostel most days, explored the charming town of Canoa, and sometimes just grabbed a book and crashed in a hammock all day to soak in Coco Loco’s ocean view. At night Coco Loco serves family-style vegetarian dinners, and the bar has the best cocktails in town. Their Moscow Mule is so yummy! And don’t leave without trying each of their breakfasts at least once. (I haven’t found eggs Benedict, breakfast burritos, or biscuits and gravy in too many other Ecuadorian hostels!) If you’ve stayed in lots of hostels then you know how hard it is to find all these components in one place, but Coco Loco has done it right. If you’re looking for good vibes at a great price, then you can stop looking! Just be warned that once you get here, you might not want to leave.
Read more
At risk of sounding like a cliche, I booked 2 nights and ended up staying 2 weeks. You know a place is good when that happens... I booked a private room as it was only $2 more, but the dorms were some of the nicest I’d seen. Amenities like hot water and available bathrooms were fantastic, wifi was decent (enough to cosy up to Netflix) and the kitchen was well equipped so that I was cooking daily. It didn’t matter that breakfast was not provided, as we congregated around the free coffee every morning with the Coco Loco family and made our own breakkie most days. The main social area was by the kitchen and bar/reception, with plenty of hammocks and tables to chill at, as well as an upstairs chill area which was big enough to do my workouts in the late afternoon. The staff were super friendly and always smiling. They got to know you by first name after only a few days, and I found myself joking with them everyday. Canoa is pretty quiet during the weekdays but this didn’t matter with the wonderful people staying there that made it the perfect environment. The people in the hostel became like my family and the staff were always happy to help and smiling. There’s nothing to complain about whatsoever. My reviews are often long and extensive but without anything bad to say... it ends here. Best place to go. Book now.
Read more
Awesome place to stay for a short or long period. Love the amenities and the beer insentive. Will have to visit to find out!!. Our host Daniella was awesome. Will definitely visit Canoa again and will stay at Coco loco.
Read more
Response from Hostel_Coco_Loco, Owner at Hostel Coco Loco
Responded Nov 27, 2018
Thanks for the review Jose R, glad you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
While we were staying at the place they had a construction site at the top floor. There was drilling and hammering during the day starting at about 8h in the morning that made it impossible to even talk or even think about sleeping in our room and a cement mixer next to the yard made it very uncomfortable to stay in the garden. We didn't have hot and at some day not any water in the bathroom. The showers downstairs didn't have warm showers neither. When we told the guy at the reception there was no warm water in the bathrooms he just replied "yes there is". When we asked for a different room not so close to the construction, there was none. Sounds like a lot of nagging, don't get me wrong, the place is beautiful and if it wasn't for the noise and lack of water it would be amazing to stay there. Refurbishing and renovating is something that has to be done, but I would have wished to be told before checking in to have the chance to go somewhere else. Or even a "sorry for the inconvenience" would have done a lot. Nice thing tho, they offer an incentive to clean the beach: for every bag of rubbish you take from the beach, you get a free beer at the bar.
Read more
Response from Hostel_Coco_Loco, Owner at Hostel Coco Loco
Responded Nov 27, 2018
Hi Mosinger, sorry you had to suffer through the noisy part of our construction, unfortunately it sometimes is necessary to upgrade our facilities for the benefit of future guests. If you had said something when you arrived and saw that there was work going on we would have happily canceled your reservation at no charge, and since we forgot to say it while you were here, I do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. As for the water issues you encountered, we definitely do have hot water in all of our bathrooms, it's possible that they were working on the electrical system as part of the construction which means our water pump and heater become temporarily disabled, however outages like that rarely last more than a few hours. Anyways, I'm happy to report that the construction here is now complete, and I don't plan on doing any more big projects in the near future, so if you're ever back in Canoa please give us another chance, it'll be quieter, more modern, and more beautiful!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$23 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
EcuadorManabi ProvinceCanoa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hostel Coco Loco
What are some of the property amenities at Hostel Coco Loco?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hostel Coco Loco?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hostel Coco Loco?
Conveniently located restaurants include AMALUR HOSTAL RESTAURANTE, Hotel Bambu Restaurant, and Surf Shak.
Is Hostel Coco Loco located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Canoa.