We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Fernando Cassis, Malecon, Canoa 131451 Ecuador
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (30)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (2)

About

#3 of 25 Specialty lodging in Canoa
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
3.5
Service
4.3
Value
4.3
Hostel Coco Loco is a beachfront Hostal with beautiful gardens and views of the sea. We have a quiet, chilled out vibe with palm trees and hammocks and a bar with rum, cold beer, and great service. You'll find Coco Loco comfortable, convenient, and a lovely escape. Please come join us for a couple of days.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Beach
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Budget

Location

Full view
38Car recommended
Grade: 38 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
0Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
27Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 19
  • 3
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Alejandro E wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
+1
Birds sounds, sea waves, surf, read, friendship, cousine, memories from Canoa, I’m in a paradise, cleaned rooms, zero mosquitos, everything here is organized. Drinks are the best, made chill nights. The music is good, and sometimes travelers play too.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Normally from Monday to thursday doors close at 8:30 but don’t means that you can’t stay outside.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Quentin B wrote a review Jun 2021
Quito, Ecuador10 contributions
I could only recommend this hostel. It's adorable and cozy, the staff is very nice, and the rooms are clean and simple, with mosquito nets and ceiling ventilators. The most amazing point for me was definitely the balcony where you can chill for hours in the sofas or hamacs! The patio is also very comfy and cute with a lot of shadow and place to sit. The kitchen is also nice even if it may lack of utensils. Finally, I would advise any travelers to go for the 4 or 6 person rooms instead of the 10 people room. It might me more expansive, but worth it, the rooms of the first floor are way better!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ross Bright, Owner at Hostel Coco Loco
Responded Jun 28, 2021
Thanks for the review Quentin, glad you enjoyed your stay! Yes the balcony is a great place to chill, and I'll have a look at the communal kitchen and resupply whatever utensils are missing, thanks for letting us know about that. Also just to clarify you're correct the upstairs 4 and 6 person dorm rooms are newer and nicer, technically they're listed at $12, while the other downstairs dorm room is for 8 people and listed at $10, but while we wait for tourism to recover completely it's not unheard of for us to negotiate room prices. I'd rather put people in the nicer rooms anyways, they're more spacious and have higher ceilings and a bit nicer bathroom. Anyways, thanks again for staying with us, happy travels!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JLA62 wrote a review Oct 2019
40 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
We are not your 20-something backpackers, but are travelers in our 50s who enjoy a more fun environment than a stodgy hotel. Russ and his team (including the very loveable WunderMutt) were all fantastic. The rooms and the grounds are clean and very well-maintained. It is evident that Ross takes great pride in making sure that Coco Loco is the best place to stay in Canoa. We were in a private room with a private bath. The bed was comfortable and housekeeping was willing to change linens every day, although we did not think that was necessary. The swinging wood window shutters kept our room super dark when closed. Yay for being able to sleep in during vacay! When the shutters were open we had lively views of the beach and a great ocean breeze. While it is a hostel, there is no element of roughing it, and I would truly describe it as an upscale hostel... really more like a hotel. The dining area is a great place to hang out for an extended breakfast. The bar has Happy Hour specials and Ross stocks GOOD liquor at the bar and enjoys offering more upscale cocktails at budget traveler prices. You are about 50 steps from the beach and about 25 steps from many very affordable local restaurants. There is a very nice and welcoming ex-pat community in Canoa. We were caught in the “Canoa Vortex” (as it is jokingly called) for over 3 weeks. We arrived in Canoa expecting to stay for 4 or 5 days, but were so happy in this chill little village so we stayed and stayed ... and am sure that we will return again. Great beach for walks, surfing (Coco Loco has boards for rent), great social scene. Do yourself a favor — quit searching for any other places. Just book your stay at Coco Loco!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ross B, Owner at Hostel Coco Loco
Responded Oct 28, 2019
Thanks JLA62! It was a pleasure having you guys here, glad you enjoyed it, I hope you have a great season and I look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Canoa!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TiffanyJoanna wrote a review Dec 2018
Quito, Ecuador5 contributions
Coco Loco is the nicest hostel I’ve ever stayed in. I was made to feel at home there from the time I arrived. From the welcoming owner and staff to some great fireside chats with travelers from different parts of the world, there was never a shortage of friendly faces and interesting conversation. On top of all that our room was adorable and impeccably clean, the management was upfront, helpful, and organized, and the location was ideal for what I wanted out of my beach trip. I rented a surfboard from the hostel most days, explored the charming town of Canoa, and sometimes just grabbed a book and crashed in a hammock all day to soak in Coco Loco’s ocean view. At night Coco Loco serves family-style vegetarian dinners, and the bar has the best cocktails in town. Their Moscow Mule is so yummy! And don’t leave without trying each of their breakfasts at least once. (I haven’t found eggs Benedict, breakfast burritos, or biscuits and gravy in too many other Ecuadorian hostels!) If you’ve stayed in lots of hostels then you know how hard it is to find all these components in one place, but Coco Loco has done it right. If you’re looking for good vibes at a great price, then you can stop looking! Just be warned that once you get here, you might not want to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anneka Tank wrote a review Dec 2018
London, United Kingdom72 contributions77 helpful votes
At risk of sounding like a cliche, I booked 2 nights and ended up staying 2 weeks. You know a place is good when that happens... I booked a private room as it was only $2 more, but the dorms were some of the nicest I’d seen. Amenities like hot water and available bathrooms were fantastic, wifi was decent (enough to cosy up to Netflix) and the kitchen was well equipped so that I was cooking daily. It didn’t matter that breakfast was not provided, as we congregated around the free coffee every morning with the Coco Loco family and made our own breakkie most days. The main social area was by the kitchen and bar/reception, with plenty of hammocks and tables to chill at, as well as an upstairs chill area which was big enough to do my workouts in the late afternoon. The staff were super friendly and always smiling. They got to know you by first name after only a few days, and I found myself joking with them everyday. Canoa is pretty quiet during the weekdays but this didn’t matter with the wonderful people staying there that made it the perfect environment. The people in the hostel became like my family and the staff were always happy to help and smiling. There’s nothing to complain about whatsoever. My reviews are often long and extensive but without anything bad to say... it ends here. Best place to go. Book now.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jose r wrote a review Nov 2018
2 contributions
Awesome place to stay for a short or long period. Love the amenities and the beer insentive. Will have to visit to find out!!. Our host Daniella was awesome. Will definitely visit Canoa again and will stay at Coco loco.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hostel_Coco_Loco, Owner at Hostel Coco Loco
Responded Nov 28, 2018
Thanks for the review Jose R, glad you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Moritz wrote a review Nov 2018
4 contributions
While we were staying at the place they had a construction site at the top floor. There was drilling and hammering during the day starting at about 8h in the morning that made it impossible to even talk or even think about sleeping in our room and a cement mixer next to the yard made it very uncomfortable to stay in the garden. We didn't have hot and at some day not any water in the bathroom. The showers downstairs didn't have warm showers neither. When we told the guy at the reception there was no warm water in the bathrooms he just replied "yes there is". When we asked for a different room not so close to the construction, there was none. Sounds like a lot of nagging, don't get me wrong, the place is beautiful and if it wasn't for the noise and lack of water it would be amazing to stay there. Refurbishing and renovating is something that has to be done, but I would have wished to be told before checking in to have the chance to go somewhere else. Or even a "sorry for the inconvenience" would have done a lot. Nice thing tho, they offer an incentive to clean the beach: for every bag of rubbish you take from the beach, you get a free beer at the bar.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hostel_Coco_Loco, Owner at Hostel Coco Loco
Responded Nov 28, 2018
Hi Mosinger, sorry you had to suffer through the noisy part of our construction, unfortunately it sometimes is necessary to upgrade our facilities for the benefit of future guests. If you had said something when you arrived and saw that there was work going on we would have happily canceled your reservation at no charge, and since we forgot to say it while you were here, I do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. As for the water issues you encountered, we definitely do have hot water in all of our bathrooms, it's possible that they were working on the electrical system as part of the construction which means our water pump and heater become temporarily disabled, however outages like that rarely last more than a few hours. Anyways, I'm happy to report that the construction here is now complete, and I don't plan on doing any more big projects in the near future, so if you're ever back in Canoa please give us another chance, it'll be quieter, more modern, and more beautiful!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mkatz172018 wrote a review Jul 2018
Brooklyn, New York4 contributions
My wife and I stayed in one of the private rooms for 4 nights in the beginning of June. We couldn’t have been happier with our experience from start to finish. The price was very reasonable, and if I was solo or with friends I would have been happy staying in one of the the shared rooms. Our room itself was great - clean, comfortable, nice shower, and a view of the beach and ocean from the front window. Outdoor Space: The new owner did an amazing job building out a beach bar that was everything we wanted in a relaxing trip. The vibe was super laid back and friendly. They have multiple beer options (from cheap lager to local microbrews) and cocktails with fresh ingredients. There’s also a courtyard with multiple hammocks, a fire pit, and a small outdoor kitchen. I could have spent our full two week trip just hanging out there. Food: We ate breakfast there almost every morning, since it was well done and relatively inexpensive. After a few slightly more adventurous stops on our trip, it was nice to go somewhere that served a great bloody mary and breakfast burrito. The hostel is right across the street from a row of great little seafood shack restaurants that we went to as much as possible. Service: We had a great experience with all of the staff – bartenders, cooks, cleaning staff, etc. The owner seems to make himself visible, which is always a good thing when it comes to making sure that the guests are being treated well. We felt safe during our time in Canoa, but they actually have a night guard just to make sure all stays quiet, which we really appreciated as well. Location: Besides being right across from the beach, through the hostel staff we were about to visit a local farm and a microbrewery that was up in the hills and putting out some really great products. They also had connections for hiking trips, paragliding, etc., but by that point in our trip we were just looking to be lazy. Overall, we were so happy the entire time we were there that we're already trying to figure out when we can go back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gregg T wrote a review Jul 2018
4 contributions
My daughter and I just had a great month adventure in Ecuador. We took buses to best experience the culture, and stayed at ONLY hostels to learn from other adventurers the next place to go. So much to say, but in context of providing a review, Hostel COCO LOCO was BY FAR our best hostel experience. First thing we noticed was an amazingly friendly staff. You could just tell that everyone who worked there, enjoyed working there... and, then.. everything else. Extremely clean and well thought out rooms. You will go in these rooms and think, wow.. these are all things I wanted to see in my other hostels.. Someone put a lot of thought to these rooms. Price.. very competitive, but in terms of value.. Exceeded all other experiences. Food... Ok... OVER THE TOP.. Vegeterian dinners created by volenteer chefs !!! Always different, always fun. I used the work gourmet on more than one occassion, which made the cooks very happy... Have the breakfast burrito, and if you are inclined.. Have a bloody mary with it.. You will thank me.. The owner is a great guy, which I got to spend some time with.. He is there for the right reason, and you will understand what that means when you see the place he built. Anyway.. If you are on the coast of Ecuador. Canoa is a very cool town with amazing food and good surf. It is very difficult to leave this place.. I expect you will feel the same.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: I peeked in to a few rooms, and they were all very nice.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hostel_Coco_Loco, Owner at Hostel Coco Loco
Responded Jul 12, 2018
Thanks for the review Gregg T, it was great having you guys here, so glad you enjoyed it. Have fun on the rest of your trip!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
William C wrote a review Jun 2018
2 contributions
The best Bloody Mary in Equador and the best Breakfast Burrito in the world! Clean and friendly staff! Close to the beach! Fresh fruit and veggies delivered daily! I love hanging out at the bar and talking to Hikers from around the world!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Value
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
EcuadorManabi ProvinceCanoa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOSTEL COCO LOCO - Updated 2022 Reviews (Canoa, Ecuador)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hostel Coco Loco
What are some of the property amenities at Hostel Coco Loco?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hostel Coco Loco?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hostel Coco Loco?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hotel Bambu canoa, AMALUR HOSTAL RESTAURANTE, and Cevicheria Saboreame.
Is Hostel Coco Loco located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Canoa.