We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hostal Coco Loco

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canoa
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 105: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great beach front location, hammocks, cats and dogs all over, cool yard and wifi is legit... The workers/volunteers were kind and easy going, but the place could be a little more facilitating for the price (cheaper places on both sides). No water or breakfast included...and you can't cook lol also yep yep many many mozzies and no net!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amber M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

English/Deutsch/Castellano The Coco Loco Hostel is a perfect choice for backpackers. The dormitory was $8, the lower bunk beds have mosquito nets and you can hear the sea at night. It's not the cleanest, there's sand on all the floors and the showers have seen better days (only cold water) but the beds are comfortable, the staff very nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Windfahrt
Odense, Denmark
Reviewed November 21, 2016

We only stayed one night at this quite noisy backpacker party hostel. It was a bit expensive, the rooms were small and one of the beds was missing a mosquito net. Besides that, the place had a nice common area with average wifi and lots of cats. The location near the beach was nice and the staff was very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian H
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed November 14, 2016

Here the price-value is definitly not existing. They only have cold water and the rooms are not really clean. Staff was friendly, but does not really care especially about the cleanliness. Look left or right next to the hostel, negotiate the price and you will be more satisfied. We stayed 3 nights there in a private room- no cleaninglady showed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martina B
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed October 4, 2016 via mobile

I've been traveling now for one year all around the world and the coco loco is definitely the worst hostel I've ever been. For 25$ we've got cold water, dirty towels, wet and sandy sheets and a huge hole in the shower-wall. I've attached some pictures. I would give zero points, but on tripadvisor 1 point is the minimum. Never...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cat-woman-on-tour-88
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a private room. The room was clean. The position it's perfect, in front of the beach and in the center of the small town. After the earthquake the town isn't in very good condition, but I think it's a good idea go to Canoa. If the tourism stop, it's worst for this town. The people of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alberto M
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewed May 20, 2016

Coco Loco is functioning after the devastating earthquake that hit the coast. It is one of the few Hotels that is operating in Canoa. We are encouriging people to think about returning to the beach town, it will take a long time to rebuild but the beach, surfing is beautiful. .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank duepplestrasse5-7
hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostal Coco Loco, responded to this review

Thank you for writing. I've been putting this off writing on travel sites for too long. Yes. Coco Loco survived intact. We are one of the few. We have not opened out of respect for those who lost everything. It's time, Canoa is recovering and growing stronger every day. We need your tourism and support. We didn't suffer even one...

Reviewed March 11, 2016 via mobile

I've been really disappointed of this location since I looked up trip advisor before and saw many good ratings. I arrived at the coco loco around 2p.m. and booked a double room for single use. The room wasn't cleaned at that time and it was promised it would be in the late afternoon. When I came back around 7p.m. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 973ulrikek
hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostal Coco Loco, responded to this review

Well, thanks for writing? I'm not sure you have the right hotel though. Our doubles are $20/25, I'm Alaskan, and it would be mortifying to think you were given bloodstained sheets and a dirty room.we do have two cats and two dogs who lounge in the garden and sometimes one of the dogs sleeps on the floor in the laundry...

Reviewed February 9, 2016 via mobile

I've stayed at the Coco Loco twice and formed a great bond both times with all the people of Canoa. The hostel is right on the beach and its always happy hour at the bar. The owner Elizabeth is an excellent resource for everything in the area and a riot to get to know. She may even cover for ya...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Airen M
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Reviewed January 27, 2016

Amazing hostel in Canoa within steps of the beach with dorm style and private rooms. We rolled in early on the overnight bus and were greeted with open arms the entire week, even after a couple nights of shenanigans from our group. Elizabeth the owner is a stand up person who truly cares and gives back to the community. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canoa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Canoa's Wonderland
0.1 mi away
Amalur Hostal Restaurante
0.4 mi away
Hosteria Canoa
Hosteria Canoa
#1 of 13 in Canoa
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Vista Hotel
La Vista Hotel
#7 of 13 in Canoa
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rutamar
Hotel Rutamar
#5 of 13 in Canoa
54 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sundown Beach Hotel
Sundown Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Canoa
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostal Coco Loco is a beachfront Hostal with beautiful gardens and views of the sea. We have a quiet, chill out vibe with palm trees and hammocks. A restaurant serving BBQ and tacos, a bar with rum, cold beer, and great service. You'll find Coco Loco comfortable, convenient, and a lovely escape. Please come join us for a couple of days. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Coco Loco

Address: Fernando Cassis, Malecon, Canoa 131451, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Canoa
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hostal Coco Loco staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hostal Coco Loco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“the room Chile has a nice view, good bed and private bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles 940hildeg, Nov 27, 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a private room. Lock away valuables in rooms and bags.”
 of 5 bubbles LCMP96, Apr 18, 2015 | Read review
“Brazil room is a great place to stay if you need your own privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles Kylde, Jul 21, 2014 | Read review
“Second Floor is best! :)”
 of 5 bubbles KieranS397, Dec 11, 2013 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have a great view and are a bit away from the hip restaurant and bar.”
 of 5 bubbles gringoinquito, Sep 28, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question