We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hostal Coco Loco

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canoa
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hostal Coco Loco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 99: English reviews
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016

Coco Loco is functioning after the devastating earthquake that hit the coast. It is one of the few Hotels that is operating in Canoa. We are encouriging people to think about returning to the beach town, it will take a long time to rebuild but the beach, surfing is beautiful. .

Helpful?
1 Thank duepplestrasse5-7
hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostal Coco Loco, responded to this review

Thank you for writing. I've been putting this off writing on travel sites for too long. Yes. Coco Loco survived intact. We are one of the few. We have not opened out of respect for those who lost everything. It's time, Canoa is recovering and growing stronger every day. We need your tourism and support. We didn't suffer even one... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2016 via mobile

I've been really disappointed of this location since I looked up trip advisor before and saw many good ratings. I arrived at the coco loco around 2p.m. and booked a double room for single use. The room wasn't cleaned at that time and it was promised it would be in the late afternoon. When I came back around 7p.m. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank 973ulrikek
hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostal Coco Loco, responded to this review

Well, thanks for writing? I'm not sure you have the right hotel though. Our doubles are $20/25, I'm Alaskan, and it would be mortifying to think you were given bloodstained sheets and a dirty room.we do have two cats and two dogs who lounge in the garden and sometimes one of the dogs sleeps on the floor in the laundry... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2016 via mobile

I've stayed at the Coco Loco twice and formed a great bond both times with all the people of Canoa. The hostel is right on the beach and its always happy hour at the bar. The owner Elizabeth is an excellent resource for everything in the area and a riot to get to know. She may even cover for ya... More 

Helpful?
Thank Airen M
Bozeman, Montana, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2016

Amazing hostel in Canoa within steps of the beach with dorm style and private rooms. We rolled in early on the overnight bus and were greeted with open arms the entire week, even after a couple nights of shenanigans from our group. Elizabeth the owner is a stand up person who truly cares and gives back to the community. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
Swiss Alps, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

Incredible! For this price how can you be that close to the beach (I counted 7 steps) you can have a morning swim and easily leave your towel behind at the hostel. And with that of course comes the nurturing sound of the waves to help you have restful dreams at night. Elisabeth, the owner would go the extra mile... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucien F
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015

I really enjoyed my stay at Coco Loco. It is definitely still the best spot in town if you are looking for relaxing or surfing time with other travellers. The town can be quiet during week days, but the atmosphere is always good at Coco Loco. The location is perfect, right at the beach and close to the centre of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hilde G
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015 via mobile

I was looking forward to meeting some people in Canoa and this hostal seemed to be quite lively so I decided to stay here. I got a room on the ground floor just next to the bathrooms. It had a bad smell of stale air and humidity as I walked in, but I thought I would just open the window... More 

Helpful?
Thank souku
Natal, RN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

for 6 bucks a night your generally not expecting much btu this poalce had a hell of a lot to offer plus to top it of some excellent staff, who make you feel mroe like a friend rather then a guest...Best atmosphere iv had at a hostel and mainly for the staff! ZOE MICHELLE ANTOINE JULIA JACK LYNDSY IVO SANTIAGO... More 

Helpful?
Thank scooter593
Lorrach, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015

Exactly like the lonely planet guide warned: you will stay here longer than you intend. First night we had a nice 3 bed room with lockers and private bathroom, other 2 nights we switched to a 4 bed dorm with lockers at a very affordable price. Bed sheets were provided and towels were also available. Staff were friendly and accommodating.... More 

Helpful?
Thank beguiler
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

Well, ive given this place a 4/5 even though it was dirty and kinda shabby. If you want clean then maybe find another place, but if you want that nice hanging at the beach feeling then this is the place. Nice staff and nice common areas.

Helpful?
Thank Niklas D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canoa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Canoa's Wonderland
0.1 mi away
Amalur Hostal Restaurante
0.4 mi away
Hosteria Canoa
Hosteria Canoa
#1 of 13 in Canoa
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sundown Beach Hotel
Sundown Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Canoa
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Vista Hotel
La Vista Hotel
#8 of 13 in Canoa
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rutamar
Hotel Rutamar
#4 of 13 in Canoa
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostal Coco Loco is a beachfront Hostal with beautiful gardens and views of the sea. We have a quiet, chill out vibe with palm trees and hammocks. A restaurant serving BBQ and tacos, a bar with rum, cold beer, and great service. You'll find Coco Loco comfortable, convenient, and a lovely escape. Please come join us for a couple of days. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Coco Loco

Address: Fernando Cassis, Malecon, Canoa 131451, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Canoa
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing