We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The George Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 285: English reviews
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A lovely historical visit with some good food. Staff friendly and efficient. Parking is limited but it gives a chance to explore the beautifull village. Not sure if their Pokemon marketing really fits with a 700 year old business but it shows they are trying!.

Helpful?
Thank ianrmcdonald
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Well, from the minute we walked through the door the staff couldn't do enough for us. The Room was bursting with character and was immaculate with everything you could want. We booked a table for dinner and, having read other reviews, we are desperate to know how they get those kebabs in the bag to boil them without piercing holes!... More 

Helpful?
Thank VanillaHippo
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

You couldn't drive passed such an impressive distinguished building without being tempted to see the inside. Brilliant that it doesn't seem to have been knocked about in the last 500 years or so. Wish we could have stayed longer to investigate more of fascinating rooms. A quick snack in the garden on a fine sunny day overlooking the sports ground... More 

Helpful?
Thank defau
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Set in the gorgeous village of Norton St Phillip this historic coaching inn is bursting full of character. Set on a hill, the pub's beer garden enjoys a fantastic vista overlooking the cricket pitch and village church. I can't comment on the quality of the rooms as I've not stayed over night. The approx 800 year old building is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chindits
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This place is worth a visit just for the building! The view out back is lovely and it would be great to sit out there on a nice day. The staff were adequate, the burger and risotto were okay, the soup was very good. However it is the history of the place that caused us to visit. Would we go... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cattracey
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have recently visited The George for a drink when the weather was lovely, we sat in the garden and had a great time. We was really impressed. I took my parents who was visiting from London to see the pub last week. Unfortunately, we was greeted by staff who were rather rude. The young gentleman was rude to my... More 

Helpful?
Thank NSM1992
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a night at this amazing old building with a great discount but found we had been booked into the building opposite. Asked if we could have a room in the main building and were treated really well by the young man in reception. I must say we were so impressed by the way he dealt with our request. He... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff602
bath
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to the George for a family birthday celebration for dinner. The building is lovely to visit due to its age. We were put in the 'dungeon' which had a nice atmosphere, but not sure how warm it would be in the winter. THe younger staff were very pleasant, one older woman was a bit officious, and as she... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank jouke
Jenny S, General Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

I thank you for your comments and apologise for the way you were made to feel by the one person. I am sad that you found our food to be tasteless and uniform but fail to understand how this could be. We are indeed part of the same company but would like to point out that we do not have... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing historic pub/hotel. Very quirky and authentic, with great food and great service. Kids made to feel very welcome, and the perfect stopover for a visit to Longleat. If you want a true feeling of historic England, this 700year old inn is the perfect place.

Helpful?
Thank Craig F
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I only spent a single night at the George Inn but I was completely seduced by it's charm. The village is cute, the George Inn old main house adorable, it's pub fascinating and the service great. You're brought back to old times, good old times, and it's just to relax and enjoy. I stayed in the Bell room in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank torbjorn_sunde
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (147)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (68)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norton St Philip
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
5.3 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 32 in Bath
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#3 of 32 in Bath
5.0 of 5 stars 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 32 in Bath
3.5 of 5 stars 2,359 reviews
6.1 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#8 of 32 in Bath
4.5 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The George Inn

Address: High Street, Norton St Philip, Bath BA2 7LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Norton St Philip
Price Range: $96 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Norton St Philip
The George Inn Bath/Norton St Philip
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay