We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Yufuin Ryokuyu

1272-88 Kawakami, Yufu 879-5102 Oita Prefecture
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (121)
Dining (87)
Room & Suite (42)


#81 of 158 hotels in Yufu
Soak up the atmosphere of Japan. Nestled in the surrounding greenery, "Yufuin Ryokuyu" has been established in Japan's treasured hot-spring area, YUFUIN. The Ryokan (Japanese inn) features a total of ten cottages, each with a private open-air bath. Feel the Japan's golden oldie. Relish the Seasonal table. Relax in this sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of the daily life.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Shuttle bus service
Hot spring bath
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Street parking
Kids' meals
Open-air bath
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese, Korean
26Reviews1Q+A0Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 17
  • 4
  • 1
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
simplysirii wrote a review Jun 2018
Bangkok, Thailand1,417 contributions90 helpful votes
This ryokan may be small in size, but it boasts an interesting mix of everything: distinctive Japanese culture, nostalgic interior design, great food and unique onsen experience. Situated to the north of Yufuin, a small charming town, the ryokan offers a comprehensive range of accommodation. Dinner and breakfast are inclusive in the accommodation package. Bedroom is quite spacious, with a section of living room. There is a private outdoor onsen right in the garden for each room. You can just sit and relax at your balcony, enjoying the garden view or soak in a Japanese onsen. Food is what I love most about this place. Ingredients are super fresh, every dish is properly prepared and served. Just delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
HnD2 wrote a review Apr 2018
London, United Kingdom42 contributions42 helpful votes
For a 3.5 star property, some may find GBP550 per room for 1 night quite expensive but it is worth every penny! I’ve stayed in a number of ryokans and this sort of price seems to be the norm, especially if you want to have your own open-bath or bathtub with hot spring water. We travelled to JR Yufuin station having stayed one night in Fukuoka and also did one night in another ryokan in Beppu. I recommend this itinerary to those who are travelling to Fukuoka just for a long weekend. I enjoyed Yufu the most thanks to Yufuin Ryokuyu. Included in the room rate was dinner and breakfast - dinner was so delicious - you sit in your own room and they will bring you each course! Private open air bath in the middle of winter in such a zen environment was just so relaxing - something you should try at least once in your lifetime. By the way, the ryokan offers free transport from the station. This is one of those places that is high on my list to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Hotabouthotspring wrote a review Jul 2016
Singapore, Singapore78 contributions61 helpful votes
visited dec 2014. Service polite but can be better. Room decor can be improved to be more tasteful and modern. Food wise there are snacks served after breakfast which is a nice gesture. Prefer squarish hot spring. Water very hot and time spent removing dead maple leaves. Food wise unless you enjoy fugu for almosT every course at entire dinner. Taste like chicken when fried. But really the next day we prefer a change.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015Trip type: Traveled as a couple
555_Travel wrote a review Jan 2016
Singapore, Singapore221 contributions207 helpful votes
We had a decent stay at this Ryokan. The room and amenities was what you would expect at this price point. Service was okay but at the same time it wasn't anything special either. The room we had was a hybrid of a western style bed room and a traditional Japanese room with tatami mats for the living / dining area. The room also comes with an outdoor bath where you could manually adjust the temperature of the bath. This was a great feature because we adjusted the temperature low enough so that our young kids could join us in the bath. I should also highlight that the bath is quite shallow, which made it quite easy for our kids to stand up in it. The shower room was great as well, the biggest and nicest one I've ever seen in a Ryokan, it had a rain shower and a large window that overlooks the private garden and outdoor bath. The room also has high tech stuff such as remote controlled lights that you can adjust from warm to cool and bright to dim, etc. The food here is okay. The first night's dinner was a bit of fusion, e.g. one of the dishes was pot-au-feu. The second night was a Fugu dinner. We were told that the Fugu was prepared at the Ryokan as the chef has a Fugu license, which I thought was impressive. The service at this place was okay too but as mentioned earlier, there was nothing that stood out for us. At the end of breakfast on the second day, I had asked our server if she could bring me a cup of tea and her reply was that I could boil water and make tea in my room by myself because the tea in the restaurant is the same as the one supplied in the room. Whilst this was probably true, I thought it was a strange answer. In an establishment like this, I assumed that they would be able to go and make it. It was a very cold morning, so perhaps she didn't want to make an extra trip?
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Response from AyamiPR, 広報担当マネージャー at Yufuin Ryokuyu
Responded Feb 14, 2016
Dear Mr./Ms. 555_Travel Thank you for staying at Yufuin Ryokuyu and your kind review. First of all, we apologize that you disappointed about the staff at the breakfast on the second morning. She was not much tactful. Our Manager have told her and the other staff that always think about what our guest really want. Should you have any request, please ask us anytime, before, after or during your stay. All the 10 rooms is hybrid style that you mentioned - two have 1 king-sized(180cm wide) bed and the others have 2 semi-double-sized(120 wide) beds. We are glad to hear that you could enjoy the outdoor bath(onsen) with your young kids. We have not realized that the depth was great for that kids, so we can inform other guests who accompanied their children. Also thank you for your comment about the rain shower. It is very unique facility around Yufuin area we can say. For food, exactly our chef has the licence, national qualification for Fugu. That is unique too. Fugu is Winter season's specialty, so you can enjoy it about from November till the end of February. Thank you again for your staying and review. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards,
Read more
s54yellow wrote a review Dec 2015
Tanegashima, Japan15 contributions19 helpful votes
Clean and spacious room with well temperature control, comfortable bed, high quality service. 20 mins walking distance to town central. I can't even think of anything they can further improve. Morning jogging around the area is great. But there is not much kid friendly facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015Trip type: Traveled with family
Response from AyamiPR, 広報担当マネージャー at Yufuin Ryokuyu
Responded Jan 12, 2016
Thank you for choosing Yufuin Ryokuyu. We are very pleased with hearing that you could spend wonderful time during your stay. In addition, we are so glad to you scored the perfect. But we apologize that the staff have not offer the amenities for your kids, I guess. So far, we have baby cod, pajamas for kids, tooth brush, slippers("GETA" in Japanese), plastic dishes and straws for drinking etc.. If you would like to find some facility for kids, please feel free to ask the staff. Or if you feel it is better that there are some specific facilities, we are willing to hear and consider about it. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. with best regards, Ayami
Read more
JapanKyushuOita PrefectureYufu
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Yufuin Ryokuyu
Which popular attractions are close to Yufuin Ryokuyu?
Nearby attractions include Artegio (0.06 miles), Yufuin Motorcycle Museum (0.1 miles), and Watakushi Art Museum (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Yufuin Ryokuyu?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Yufuin Ryokuyu?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Yufuin Ryokuyu?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Yufuin Ryokuyu?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Yufuin Ryokuyu?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tan's Bar, Murata Fushoan, and Tea Room the Theo.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Yufuin Ryokuyu?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Japanese, and Korean.
Are there any historical sites close to Yufuin Ryokuyu?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Bussanji (0.9 miles) and Ogosha Shrine (1.8 miles).