We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Playa Viva

Save
Share
Carretera Zihuatanejo-Acapulco Playa Icacos Juluchuca, GRO, Petatlan 40834 Mexico
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (356)
Room & Suite (86)
Pool & Beach (82)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Playa Viva is a sustainable boutique hotel with 8 rooms on a private beach located 30 minutes from Zihuatanejo-Ixtapa International airport. Play Viva is located on 200 acres with 1.3 kilometers of beach front. 85% of the property is in a Private Reserve for use of guests and includes a turtle sanctuary, archaeological site, working permaculture farm, forest restoration, estuary and much more. Come enjoy yoga, surfing or any of the many local activities. Playa Viva is off grid, operating 100% on solar power, solar thermal water heating, grey and black water management systems and built with local materials and craftsmanship. We specialize in farm to table, sourcing much of our food locally and can handle a wide variety of dietary concerns from vegetarian and vegan to many types of allergies.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Internet
Pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Currency exchange
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem

Location

Full view
Contact
Carretera Zihuatanejo-Acapulco Playa Icacos Juluchuca, GRO, Petatlan 40834 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Juarez Intl Airport198 miSee all flights
Extapa-Zihuatanejo Internacional Airport18 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
213Reviews7Q+A54Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 206
  • 2
  • 1
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
C B wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
I have to travel in may, 2021 but since now they are asking me to pay in advance and if i cant go, they wont reimburse, i have never had to pay any hotel, in advance without providing the service. im dreading to get there even before i have to get ready for the trip, if they treat me with little courtesy in e emails i wonder when i m there
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from David Leventhal, Owner at Playa Viva
Responded Apr 14, 2021
Cristina, Thank you for your review. "Radical Transparency" is part of our ethos. Your review helps clarify this issue for any future travelers to Playa Viva. It is important to us that all guests be a good fit with the experience we offer. We are not for everyone.  Over the 12 years we have operated, we have always asked for payment in advance. Our policies as published on our website see https://www.playaviva.com/rooms (in English) or https://www.playaviva.com/es/habitaciones (in Spanish) clearly states our Room Guarantee Policy as follows, "All reservations are prepaid." It further states, "We don’t overbook so when we take the deposit your reservation is guaranteed." We have operated this way since we opened in 2008 and have received hundreds (if not thousands) of guests, yet you are the ONLY guest who has had issues with this policy. We are sorry, but someone with trust issues is really not a fit with our ethos. We reserve the right to cancel and refund any reservation including yours. We are sure you will find a hospitality experience and many hotels that fit your expectations, obviously we are not one of them.
Read more
christine wrote a review Mar 2021
San Rafael, California6 contributions2 helpful votes
Its like you are on a privateM90 island! The ranch and beach front is so expensive you feel like you are a million miles from the city life! The staff are so welcoming and friendly! We all got to know each other on first name basis. Alyra who managed the health and wellness, was so amazing! She would play her guitar and sing to us during yoga and at the bonfires. The resort is not just self sustainable but is helping the ecosystem in many ways through turtle rescue to reforestation. Food was so healthy and delicious farm to table!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jennifer G wrote a review Apr 2020
Houston, Texas2 contributions1 helpful vote
I went here on a yoga retreat and really like the people, the fact that there were dogs on the property, the flowers around the property, and the yoga but I was not prepared for the environment and it wasn't what I was expecting. Upon arrival, there was bat feces all over and daily we had bats on the ceiling of our bedroom . I wasn't prepared for the environment. I wished I had long protective clothing and the mosquito ate me alive despite dousing myself with their recommended mosquito repellent. In addition it was so humid to wear it was hard to get clothes on without powder. and it was uncomfortably hot, and i tend to run cold. The food wasn't bad, but it wasn't good. And it was served buffet style outdoors and sometimes the line never went down and food would run out. Also, we signed up for a surfing excursion and after driving for an hour, there was no beginning surf lesson as promised and no surf board. We had to wait hours for others to be done with their boards. As a result, we missed out on yoga for the day and we were extremely bored with nothing to do. It was a long drive for a terrible experience. And then we had to miss the meals at the retreat as well as yoga. We were still charged for the excursion. We were supposed to receive a credit but this didn't occur. Moreover, they added extra drinks to our bar tab and tried to charge me double but this did get sorted out. In addition we were kicked out of the retreat without warning for I guess complaining! I would never go back to this place. This was a decision of our agent, International Yoga, and I don't think it was the resort's decision. I did really like Julia, the property manager I will add. Go to Haramara in Sayulita if you want top notch service but still the secluded serene experience!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from leventhald, Owner at Playa Viva
Responded May 19, 2020
Jennifer, Thank you for your frank review of your experience at Playa Viva on a yoga retreat. We appreciate your kind comments about our team and the beauty of the property. We are sorry that you were, in your own words, "not prepared for the environment" and while I'm not sure what you were expecting, I'm sorry we didn't live up to your expectations. We appreciate your review particularly because it is important to us that guests at Playa Viva know what they are getting into. Yes, we are immersed in nature and so this will mean that you will have miles of private beach, no road noise, innumerable stars in the night sky and food direct from our organic farm. At the same time, this does mean bats, mosquitoes and immersion in nature. The good news is that bats eat up to 1,200 mosquitoes per hour, so we like having them around, while not in rooms, but in the bat houses we build for them. We don't expect to fully control nature, so please accept our apology about bats in your room. This is not the norm but the exception. As for your experience with the excursion, please accept our apology that it did not live up to your expectation. In speaking with our excursion team, they told me that you signed up for paddle board but upon arrival at the excursion destination you changed your mind and wanted to surf. We had planned enough paddle boards for you and and your partner but unfortunately we only had enough surfboards for those who signed up and so we did not have any left for both of you. We will do our best to bring extra's next time so please accept our apology about not having what you wanted once you arrived. As for getting kicked out of the retreat, I was not there during your stay, but I was told by all managers present (as well as the owner of the yoga retreat company) that you had agreed to leave, then you agreed to change your behavior (which lead to you being asked to leave), and so all agreed you could stay. Seems like staying really might not have been the best choice for all. I can't recall if we have ever had a situation like this where a guest was asked to leave. I also do not know if you have been asked to leave other hotels or retreats. While the fact that you were asked to leave may have tainted your review and your experience at our hotel, I will leave that up to all reading your review (and our response) to decide. Thank you for included the fact that you "were kicked out of the retreat" in your review. Either way, we appreciate your candid review and apologize for those items that we might have messed up. We appreciate all reviews, especially reviews with constructive criticism, as those allow us to improve our experience for future guests. We are lucky to have many return guests, so I guess we are doing something right and learning from each guest.
Read more
JustineChris wrote a review May 2019
London45 contributions110 helpful votes
We decided stay at Playa Viva due to its remote location and sustainability credentials. It is not often that a hotel goes beyond these expectations, but Playa Viva did just that. They are doing amazing work with the land, sea, staff and local community. The established permaculture farm provides much of the food at mealtimes. The rooms are made from natural materials, they are much more beautiful and well appointed than the pictures on the website suggest. The natural swimming pool is a joy to swim in as the sea was rough when we stayed and had strong currents. The food surpassed exceptions, we had a great selection of vegan and vegetarian options each day. There is a wide range of tours and activities to choose from, but you may just find yourself wanting to chill and enjoy the wonderful space. Digital detoxing encouraged and easy to do! Staff are super friendly and the daily yoga was a huge highlight of our stay. Overall one of the best resorts we have ever stayed at around the world. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ElaineMarieShannon wrote a review May 2018
Rothesay, Canada27 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I left my heart and soul in Playa Viva...at least that is what it feels like. WOW!!!! From the seamless transport to this magical location, the delicious basil margaritas, the food, the beach, the amazing staff, the turtles and the bioluminescence. I think I could write a whole book on things to love about Playa Viva. We hosted a Filmpreneur Summit in May at this amazing location. The size of the resort was perfect for our small group and we are already making plans for our 2019 Summit!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: All room have an amazing ocean view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
playa viva hotel petatlan
LOCATION
MexicoPacific CoastGuerreroPetatlan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Playa Viva
Which popular attractions are close to Playa Viva?
Nearby attractions include La Chole Archeological Site (1.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Playa Viva?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Playa Viva?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Playa Viva?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Playa Viva?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Playa Viva?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Playa Viva have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.