We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Yaba Chigui Lodge

Save
Share
1.6 km following Papagayo Street 200 km away from San Jose, Ojochal 60501 Costa Rica
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (54)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (12)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Yaba Chigui Lodge
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ojochal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Yabá Chiguí Lodge is a small lodge with 4 bungalows. The lodge offers personalized service, breakfast included, pool, free WiFi at Satú Ranch and parking. All bungalows have: king bed, ceiling fan, coffee maker & electric kettle, mini-fridge, hair dryer, safety-box and reading lamps. Brunka, Cabécar and Maleku bungalows also have a small sofa, an outdoor deck and an outdoor shower. Teribe bungalow has a additional queen-trundle bed.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Car hire
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Saltwater pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
58Reviews1Q+A3Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 54
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Amalia I wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
This small lodge is full of big attributes. It is cozy, warm, comfortable, airy, bright and exciting. On this my second visit to the place the congos (monkeys) and the chicharras kept a symphony of sounds that made you feel in the middle of the jungle. The pool is warm and delicious. Ana and Juan are so willing to make you feel at home and they certainly do! Breakfast includes everything fresh, eggs, fruit, bread and coffee. An unforgettable experience you will want to repeat!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from AnayJuanYCL, Owner at Yaba Chigui Lodge
Responded Mar 30, 2020
AmaliaIbarra, thank you for giving us the honor of hosting you again and for describing your second visit as nicely and vividly. It certainly brings a big smile to our faces. Best, Ana & Juan
Read more
rseg99 wrote a review Feb 2020
55 contributions120 helpful votes
Beware of this hotel. At your own risk. They do not do as they say. They break promises to hold rooms. They are incompetent at every level. Firstly their reservation system doesn't work. Refused both my Visa and MC, but both cards working fine with other merchants. Then they made a reservation for me manually said they would hold for me until 8pm. While I was 5 minutes away at 7:11pm they cancelled. Shame to this hotel. No ethics.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from AnayJuanYCL, Propietario at Yaba Chigui Lodge
Responded Feb 28, 2020
It was very unfortunate we could not meet Mr.rseg99’s needs but his account of facts is incomplete. Even though we have two different secure online payment processing systems (2checkout and Paypal) and we can also be found on Booking and Expedia, in his case he could not complete the payment of his reservation not because of his credit cards but because of a technical problem. Given this, as he recognizes, we made a reservation for him manually. We are also sorry to know Mr. rseg99 considered us to be incompetent at every level, even though we emailed him seven times with general information and extra details regarding his reservation. Furthermore, we attended his request to have an early check-in (9-11 AM) because he insisted, he needed to sleep. We offered to store his luggage and prioritize the cleaning of his room. The room was ready before the regular check-in hour (2 PM), and as promised we immediately phoned him to let him know. Since we did not get an answer, we also emailed him. After not hearing from him almost all day, we tried to reach him at another hotel we understood he had booked in the area. Through them, at almost 5 PM, we were informed Mr. rseg99 would check-in around 6 - 6:30 PM. Since he did not show up, past 6:30 PM, we contacted him again via email to let him know that the latest we could wait was 8 PM. His reply implied pushing once again his check-in to a later time, 9 PM. Last, he mentioned they were a party of three, when the reservation was made for two (in a room that has double occupancy). At this moment, we cancelled the reservation based on our policies and principles. While we appreciate open and direct feedback, and take it very seriously; we do not accept rude and disrespectful treatment towards our employees.
Read more
Josie wrote a review Nov 2019
Melbourne, Australia10 contributions1 helpful vote
We really enjoyed our two night stay at Yaba Chigui. Ana and Juan, the Costa Rican couple who live and run the B&B, are very warm and welcoming hosts. They really made us feel at home, and gave us great tips for how to spend our time in the area, including a highlight visit to the Whale's Tail at sunset. We stayed in the Cabecar room which was lovely. It has a modern, intelligent design with a clever use of space, and the room always felt light and airy despite the humid environment. The bed was enormous and comfy, and it faced the wide windows overlooking the forest and river below. Such a nice view to wake up to! Our room also featured both an indoor (hot) shower, an outdoor shower and a balcony. We had space to hang our clothes, and a hairdryer. The breakfasts were delicious. One day we had a Mexican style egg dish with homemade tortilla, sunny side up eggs and different sauces. The next day we had an Indian-Costa Rican fusion version of Chapati bread with delicious raita yoghurt. Juan also went to the effort of explaining the dishes which added a nice personal touch. Plus, each day we had fresh fruits, juice and delicious European style bread with jam. The pool has salt water instead of chlorine which is much better for the skin. I loved having an evening swim in the pool - very calming, and the water had been warmed by the sun throughout the day so it was a very pleasant temperature. Highly recommend for a couple!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from AnayJuanYCL, Owner at Yaba Chigui Lodge
Responded Mar 26, 2020
Dear J0siePhina, First, our apologies for such a delayed response. Reading your review, written so nicely and detailed, is very fulfilling. It also reminds us of all those little details we may sometimes take for granted due to the daily routine, but were of such importance to complete your experience. We have fond memories of your time with us and hope you are well. Best, Ana & Juan
Read more
Radu B wrote a review Oct 2019
Bucharest, Romania52 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Ana and Juan are a lovely couple that have built a little piece of heaven and are very happy to share it with their guests! We greatly appreciated that the family is highly dedicated to sustainable tourism. Our cabin was beautifully designed and very welcoming. Everything was perfect down to the smallest details. We loved having the view of the nearby creek from our bed and going to sleep with the sound of water. The breakfasts at Yaba Chigui were a delight! Each morning brought a new delicious surprise. Juan and Ana also offered us valuable information about the available activities in the area depending on the time of day, tides and weather conditions and spared no effort to make our stay perfect. Thank you so much for an unforgettable experience!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from AnayJuanYCL, Owner at Yaba Chigui Lodge
Responded Jan 29, 2020
Dear radub118, It is wonderful to read that your experience in the lodge and Ojochal's surroundings was unforgettable for you. Sustainable tourism is an ongoing effort and we are grateful to know it is appreciated even in the smallest details. Warm regards from Ojochal, Ana & Juan
Read more
Candace C wrote a review Jul 2019
14 contributions4 helpful votes
What can we say? We love this place! The lodge is so unique - it was designed by architects to be efficient and work with the land around it. You get your own little building, most with a private deck and outdoor shower - and it backs to a jungle with a stream so you can hear the sounds of nature all day and all night long. We never did get to see any monkeys during our stay, but we hear they are nearby. The best part of the Yabà Chiguì are the hosts - Juan and Ana are just wonderful. We loved chatting with them and they will go above and beyond in order to help you or give you advice. They speak impeccable English. They arranged for a massage for my husband and I (it was wonderful) and Ana even gave up her scheduled massage so we could have her spot! Breakfast is always delicious with lots of fresh, local fruits and a freshly cooked entree. The room was clean, well maintained, and very comfortable. The bed was great - a bit on the firm side, but that pleased my husband. One word of warning - the last bit of the drive to this place is quite a rugged dirt road. I would not advise attempting it in a vehicle without good clearance. We felt like Indiana Jones driving up and down those hills to get to town.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from AnayJuanYCL, Owner at Yaba Chigui Lodge
Responded Jan 29, 2020
Dear Candace, Thank you very much for such a complete review and helpful advice. We loved sharing our home and its surroundings with both of you. Best regards from Ojochal, Ana & Juan
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$113 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasOjochal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Yaba Chigui Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Yaba Chigui Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Playa Ventanas (2.6 miles) and Stam Café (0.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Yaba Chigui Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Yaba Chigui Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Yaba Chigui Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Yaba Chigui Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bamboo Room, Restaurant Exotica, and Citrus.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Yaba Chigui Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Yaba Chigui Lodge located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Ojochal.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Yaba Chigui Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.