Yaba Chigui Lodge

Yaba Chigui Lodge

1.6 km following Papagayo Street 200 km away from San Jose, Ojochal 60501 Costa Rica
Traveler (75)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#3 of 4 B&Bs in Ojochal
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
4.9
Value
4.8
Yabá Chiguí Lodge is a small lodge with 4 bungalows. The lodge offers personalized service, breakfast included, pool, free WiFi at Satú Ranch and parking. All bungalows have: king bed, ceiling fan, coffee maker & electric kettle, mini-fridge, hair dryer, safety-box and reading lamps. Brunka, Cabécar and Maleku bungalows also have a small sofa, an outdoor deck and an outdoor shower. Teribe bungalow has a additional queen-trundle bed.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Saltwater pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Car hire
Massage
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Electric kettle
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

1.6 km following Papagayo Street 200 km away from San Jose, Ojochal 60501 Costa Rica
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 40 out of 100
40
Palmur Sur Airport
14.5 mi
See all flights
Puerto Jimenez Airport
40.1 mi
See all flights
83Reviews2Q+A5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 78
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
VC wrote a review Feb 2021
Wallisellen, Switzerland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the luck to stay for 3 days at Yaba Chigui Lodge. First of all Ana & Juan are the best hosts ever. They are such warmhearted people and we wish them all the best for their future. It was such a pleasure to spend time with them in the morning and talk about all different topics. Whatever we wanted to know, they provided us with the best possible information (day trips, Covid-Testcenter for our flight back, restaurants and our upcoming trip to Corcovado) and helped us tremendously.
Me and my partner stayed in the Cabécar Bungalow (one of the four bungalows) and it was really nice. The bed was very comfortable with a stunning view into the jungle. It is equipt with two showers (indoor and outdoor) the best was that the bungalow is designed to hear the wildlife during the night and that was magical. In the morning you can enjoy a marvellous breakfast which is prepared freshly from the hosts.
Thank you Ana & Juan - we hope to see you again.
Best Mehdi and Valérie
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juan Fernando Cordero, Owner at Yaba Chigui Lodge
Responded Sep 21, 2021
Medhi and Valérie, thank you for your lovely review. You have put into words what we enjoy the most as hosts, which is sharing a little of our home and experiences. But most importantly, allowing Costa Rica's wonderful nature to be the main highlight of your stay. Best, Ana & Juan.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amalia I wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This small lodge is full of big attributes. It is cozy, warm, comfortable, airy, bright and exciting. On this my second visit to the place the congos (monkeys) and the chicharras kept a symphony of sounds that made you feel in the middle of the jungle. The pool is warm and delicious. Ana and Juan are so willing to make you feel at home and they certainly do! Breakfast includes everything fresh, eggs, fruit, bread and coffee. An unforgettable experience you will want to repeat!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AnayJuanYCL, Owner at Yaba Chigui Lodge
Responded Mar 30, 2020
AmaliaIbarra, thank you for giving us the honor of hosting you again and for describing your second visit as nicely and vividly. It certainly brings a big smile to our faces. Best, Ana & Juan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grace wrote a review Mar 2022
Christchurch, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A car is essential for this lodge but due to circumstances outside our control we didn’t have that luxury. However the owners were totally amazing arranging taxis and even taking us to and collecting us from restaurants. (Lodge doesn’t have a restaurant) The rooms were stylish and spotless. Each room was detached and it felt as if you had a little bit of the rainforest to yourself as you sat on the balcony. Nice little swimming pool. The owners were hands on and really wanted all their visitors to have the best experience possible. Loved the outside shower.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juan Fernando Cordero, Owner at Yaba Chigui Lodge
Responded Mar 30, 2023
Bjgw5204, thank you for your comprehensive review. Reading that you "felt as if you had a little bit of the rainforest for yourself" makes us very happy, as this was one of our main goals when designing the lodge. As you mention, having a vehicle is essential to reach us and explore the surrounding area, which has many activities and dining opportunities. It was lovely having you as our guests. Ana & Juan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
darrello wrote a review Jul 2022
Ottawa, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything was exceptional, the rooms are lovely and the balcony is right in the forest. Breakfast was beyond great and the owners were very nice and gave great recommendations for stuff to do in the area. Highly recommended. Juan and Ana are amazing hosts - providing quiet advice about what is worthwhile in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juan Fernando Cordero, Owner at Yaba Chigui Lodge
Responded Mar 30, 2023
darrello, thank you for your kind words. We apologize it took us a while to answer your generous review and recommendation. It was a pleasure having you both as our guests. Ana & Juan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
UC2002 wrote a review Jan 2021
Goettingen, Germany
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you’re looking for a beautiful, peaceful and welcoming haven to kick back and enjoy nature, look no further. This place is incredibly gorgeous, also because of its wonderful and caring hosts. Extraordinarily kids-friendly and filled with knowledge on the environment, the region - and life itself :-) We enjoyed every minute here!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juan Fernando Cordero, Owner at Yaba Chigui Lodge
Responded Feb 12, 2021
UC2002, thank you for such a lovely review! Hosting your family was a joy for us. Ana & Juan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rseg99 wrote a review Feb 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Beware of this hotel. At your own risk. They do not do as they say. They break promises to hold rooms. They are incompetent at every level. Firstly their reservation system doesn't work. Refused both my Visa and MC, but both cards working fine with other merchants. Then they made a reservation for me manually said they would hold for me until 8pm. While I was 5 minutes away at 7:11pm they cancelled. Shame to this hotel. No ethics.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AnayJuanYCL, Propietario at Yaba Chigui Lodge
Responded Feb 28, 2020
It was very unfortunate we could not meet Mr.rseg99’s needs but his account of facts is incomplete. Even though we have two different secure online payment processing systems (2checkout and Paypal) and we can also be found on Booking and Expedia, in his case he could not complete the payment of his reservation not because of his credit cards but because of a technical problem. Given this, as he recognizes, we made a reservation for him manually. We are also sorry to know Mr. rseg99 considered us to be incompetent at every level, even though we emailed him seven times with general information and extra details regarding his reservation. Furthermore, we attended his request to have an early check-in (9-11 AM) because he insisted, he needed to sleep. We offered to store his luggage and prioritize the cleaning of his room. The room was ready before the regular check-in hour (2 PM), and as promised we immediately phoned him to let him know. Since we did not get an answer, we also emailed him. After not hearing from him almost all day, we tried to reach him at another hotel we understood he had booked in the area. Through them, at almost 5 PM, we were informed Mr. rseg99 would check-in around 6 - 6:30 PM. Since he did not show up, past 6:30 PM, we contacted him again via email to let him know that the latest we could wait was 8 PM. His reply implied pushing once again his check-in to a later time, 9 PM. Last, he mentioned they were a party of three, when the reservation was made for two (in a room that has double occupancy). At this moment, we cancelled the reservation based on our policies and principles. While we appreciate open and direct feedback, and take it very seriously; we do not accept rude and disrespectful treatment towards our employees.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
girl222 wrote a review Mar 2022
Chicago, Illinois
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I were booked at a different place but found out three days before our stay that a 4x4 was required. I quickly looked online and found Yaba Chigui Lodge had one unit left for our dates. I booked it without even reading reviews. Juan and Ana were so welcoming! We were there for three nights and felt like we were family being welcomed into their lovely home!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juan Fernando Cordero, Owner at Yaba Chigui Lodge
Responded Mar 30, 2023
Tanya, it is very fulfilling to read that you felt you were welcomed as family. This is our home and welcoming our guests is what we enjoy the most. Ana & Juan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Girlfromtx wrote a review Dec 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have so many wonderful things to say about Yaba Chigui. Juan and Ana are fabulous hosts! They even provided me local transportation since I did not have a car. The breakfasts were delicious, the room was amazing and so unique. The property has lush gardens and I truly felt at home here. My only regret is that I didn’t get to stay longer. You will love being here right in the middle of the rainforest. The outdoor private bridge patio was so cool. I got a special surprise as Howler and White Face monkeys visited the property while I was there. Truly an amazing experience and I can’t wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juan Fernando Cordero, Dueño at Yaba Chigui Lodge
Responded Jan 8, 2021
BackPacker646553 thank you for such lovely words. Knowing you felt at home is most valuable for us, as it is the core element of our philosophy as hosts. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Best, Ana & Juan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louise H wrote a review Apr 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was an exceptional place to spend a few days. Excellent room, amazing views out of the balcony. We were lucky enough to see monkeys from our room. The owner Juan was so kind and so helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for him. Breakfast was a real treat. Freshly made, local produce, Costa Rican specialities.
It is off the beaten track- you'll need a 4 wheel drive vehicle!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: 4 wheel drive essential to get here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juan Fernando Cordero, Owner at Yaba Chigui Lodge
Responded Jul 21, 2023
T5549Plouiseh, it is great to read you had a wonderful stay with us!! The view from the balcony is one of our favourite things in the lodge, but seeing monkeys is defintely a treat. Best, Ana & Juan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pacho Jones wrote a review Dec 2018
Madrid, Spain
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and myself enjoyed 3 marvellous days at Yaba Chiguí. The lodge is a perfect combination of design, genuine hospitality and nature. For those travellers that look for unique and different places to stay, Yabá Chiguí is a must on the Pacific southern coast of Costa Rica. Ana, Juan, Sofía and their team dedication and care to their guests make our days during the time we share with them. We are just looking for the next opportunity to repeat our stay!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AnayJuanYCL, Propietario at Yaba Chigui Lodge
Responded Feb 14, 2019
Francisco, many thanks for your kind words. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Yabá Chiguí Lodge. It was a pleasure hosting and sharing with you so many after-breakfast conversations. We hope to have you again as our guests. Warm regards, Ana & Juan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lucy O asked a question Nov 2018
kent uk12 contributions20 helpful votes
Can we gat to the accommodation without a 4x4??
Answer from AnayJuanYCL
Ojochal, Costa Rica
Hello Lucy, Yes, you can reach the lodge without a 4x4. However, it would be ideal if the vehicle has high clearance. Best regards from Ojochal, Ana & Juan
Louise H wrote a tip Apr 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"4 wheel drive essential to get here"
Read full review
Julie R wrote a tip Jan 2022
14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The road up is rough for the last mile or two so a 4 wheel drive is helpful. It’s well worth it when you get there!!"
Read full review
Krazy4CostaRica wrote a tip Mar 2017
Ojochal26 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All bungalows along the river"
Read full review
Cityphile wrote a tip Feb 2017
Norwich, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room with an outside shower and a good view of the jungle - we liked Cabecar"
Read full review
Mary J wrote a tip Jul 2016
11 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is a lovely, eco-friendly hotel. All rooms are comfortable with great views. Brunka with disability access is slightly larger."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ojochal area.
PRICE RANGE
$119 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasOjochal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

YABA CHIGUI LODGE $129 ($̶1̶5̶5̶)

Frequently Asked Questions about Yaba Chigui Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Yaba Chigui Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Playa Ventanas (2.6 miles), Cascada El Pavon (1.5 miles), and Stam Café (0.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Yaba Chigui Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Yaba Chigui Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Yaba Chigui Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Yaba Chigui Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bamboo Room Restaurant, Restaurant Exotica, and Citrus.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Yaba Chigui Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Yaba Chigui Lodge located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Ojochal.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Yaba Chigui Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Ojochal HotelsOjochal Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in OjochalHotels near Yaba Chigui Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars