We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Castlecary House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Castlecary House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

431 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 422: English reviews
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed 2 nights on a recent trip to see family. The room was large and comfortable and to eat we went to the wee pub on the side of the hotel. Food was lovely and reasonably priced. The haggis and black pudding fritters are amazing. Atmosphere is warm and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Josiedoll69
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review, we are pleased to hear that enjoyed your stay with ourselves and we look forward to seeing you again soon. From all at Castlecary thank you More 

Coltfield, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for a night in a twin room. The rooms were not in the main building, but were lovely and spacious. The food in the pub bar was really good and very reasonably priced. Staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome. The rooms were lovely and clean and beds comfy.

Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Delighted to hear of your enjoyable stay with ourselves and that you also enjoyed our homemade cuisine as well. I will pass your comments to the team accordingly. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit, from all the team at Castlecary Hotel thank you. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The bar /restaurant which is attached to the hotel, is situated just outside Cumbernauld just off the M80. Handily placed for tourists and businessmen, the restaurant offers a very good menu at reasonable prices. The food is freshly 'home' cooked' and the staf are very friendly and attentive without being overbearing. Def worth a look.

Helpful?
Thank David B
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words which are appreciated, we are pleased to know that our efforts do not go unnoticed. From all the team at Castlecary thank you. More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night. Just for passing through. The hotel was a nice surprise. The room was large, the room and bath was very clean and the bed was very good. The parking was free, and just a few meters from the room. The wifi was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Anne O
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the opportunity to stay with ourselves and we are glad to hear of an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you again very soon from all the team at Castlecary thank you. More 

Anstey, Leicester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I reviewed the hotel five years ago and after a gap of two years, stayed there again for one night on 30th July. It was a pleasure to return. I had hoped to eat in the restaurant in the evening as it was my son's birthday so I phoned to book but was informed that there was a function so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chris mccall
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

It was our pleasure and we also look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Thank you so much for the kind words I pass on your thoughts to the team, from all the team at Castlecary thank you More 

Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had an overnight stay here while visiting family in the area. We cannot recommend this hotel and will not return. We are regular visitors to the area and normally stay in a Premier Inn or Travelodge, however we decided to treat ourselves to something different this time. The website and pictures on Booking.com looked lovely, how deeply disappointed we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Terribly disappointed to read your review, we will investigate all the points covered to provide a full and satisfactory resolution. However, we cannot understand why these issues were not brought to our attention at the particular time, regardless of the time of day!! any opportunity to correct faults are now lost and leads us now to this conversation. We take... More 

Aberdeen Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We discovered this hotel a few years ago and have stayed there at least six times and have never been disappointed. The food is very good from the breakfasts to the high tea and above all great value for the money you pay The poacher bar is another asset with a lovely 'snug' Finally the location is logistically good as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter W
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and detailed review. You have kindly covered all the areas of the business that we attempt to promote and sell all in one. Thank you from all the team. More 

Midlands ,England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from two days spent here and fr the price we paid it was very good . A very large room like a little cottage with a clean comfortable bed so had good nights sleep in a very quiet room . The bathroom didn't have a shower as I prefer a bath but perhaps other rooms do... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate P
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind feedback, we are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that you would not hesitate in booking with ourselves again. From the team at Castlecary thank you. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an excellent Sunday Lunch destination for all the family. The menu choice great value for money. The food on offer was tasty food. Dining room staff were both attentive and courteous during this visit.

Helpful?
Thank Don M
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we are pleased that you all enjoyed your dining experience with ourselves and that you found the team to be both attentive and courteous. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. More 

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was looking for somewhere to have afternoon tea that served a bit later than the usual 12-3 and found here. For the 5 of us we were only just over £30. It was just over £10 for a tea for two. At that price I wasn't exactly sure what to expect as most places are that price per person but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear that you and your colleagues enjoyed our afternoon tea selection. As you mentioned we like to offer a homemade baking variety and provide a varied selection of fillings all freshly prepared by the team and all at a very reasonable price. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbernauld
1.5 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cumbernauld) Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk Central Hotel
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Park Hotel
#4 of 10 in Falkirk
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Be welcomed by our friendly staff when you stay at the Castlecary House Hotel. Strategically located in the heart of central Scotland, this hotel enjoys a quiet suburban location, a short drive from Glasgow city centre and an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. Enjoy complimentary WiFi in all public areas of the hotel, ample complimentary car parking and easy access to the M80 North and South, as well as Scotland's main motorway network M8/M9/M73/M74. Visit The Falkirk Wheel,The Helix Park and The Kelpies, The Forth & Clyde Canal, stunning Loch Lomond, take the kids for an educational day out at Stirling Castle or Blair Drummond Safari Park or head into Glasgow (train station 3 miles from hotel) or across to Edinburgh. Whether you are a serious shopper, culture vulture, theatre-goer or visiting on business you couldn't be better placed.All of the guest rooms at this hotel offer modern amenities including a freeview TV, black-out curtains, a spacious work area and WiFi. Larger rooms are available, ideal for longer stays and families. Food is Homemade. We make it easy for you to enjoy a delicious meal without even leaving the hotel with a choice of dining options from the informality of Camerons Restaurant which has built an excellent reputation for serving a variety of traditional Scottish dishes using fresh and local produce to the hotel's traditional pub The Poachers Lounge & Snug which serves fine home cooked food and is a local legend! Host a successful business or social event in our Cameron Suite for up top 150 guests.Highlights set in a quiet suburban location, close to GlasgowEasy access to the M80 North and South and many attractions and businesses Camerons Restaurant The Poachers Lounge & Snug traditional pub and function suite ideal for parties or meetings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castlecary House Hotel

Address: Castlecary Road | Nr Cumbernauld, Cumbernauld G68 0HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Cumbernauld
Price Range: $67 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlecary House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Castlecary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecary Hotel Glasgow
Castlecary House Hotel Cumbernauld, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay