We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castlecary House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Castlecary House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

478 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 469: English reviews
Start your review of Castlecary House Hotel
 Click to rate
Fife Scotland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff were lovely, it was a little chalet outside the main building, not a hotel room. The room was clean but very tired and in desperate need of makeover. The bed was lumpy as were the awful pillows. No lock on the bathroom door either. We had booked a table for eight and the food was fine, again the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NIcola D
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we will take on board all your thoughts and pass them to the accordingly. From all the team at Castlecary thank you.

Alexandria Scotland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just back from a 2 Night stay in this hotel. I was visiting the area to attend a wedding in another venue. The Castlecary hotel provides first class accommodation supported with a raft of first class staff. The booking in was easy and the bar of the hotel is staffed with attentive,courteous and professional people. The bar meal menu is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TamDennett
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you and your very kind feedback I will pass your thoughts to the team accordingly. From all the team at Castlecary thank you.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came for a last minute break away with my partner for a night. Not one single complaint. From the moment we arrived the staff were brilliant and friendly. The wee bar was fab, food and drink excellent! In particular the waitress Lauren, so helpful and nothing was a problem. Will certainly be returning in future!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen m
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for an excellent review, I will pass your thoughts to the team accordingly. We look forward to seeing you again soon, from all at Castlecary thank you.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Awful 2 night stay. Pub food disgusting.politely complained to manager he said nobody else had complained -we were the only people eating.!!Fish was cold inside burnt batter. Chips were unedible-appeared to have been reheated. Room was clean but bed broken and next bed they gave us had to have duvet folded over to lie on as it was so uncomfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monarchofglen
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

After deliberation with my team, we cannot except or agree with your comments. Our Manager has confirmed that you were not the only diners having fish at that time and this has been confirmed with the food checks at that time, we do not reheat fries they are prepared to order. Apologies that the bed was not to your liking,...

Glasgow
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Attended my friends birthday party here on Saturday 25 March. We had booked to stay as felt it would be better than traveling back to Glasgow. When we booked in we were given our keys and the receptionist explained that we would be in the rooms at the side of the hotel, we were in Hammies Way. What can I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cloharry
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Delighted to read such a wonderful review, we also look forward to seeing you on your next visit. From all the team at Castlecary thank you.

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 17, 2017

Had dinner here yesterday with my partner and her mother. Couldn`t fault it. Attentive staff,pleasant surroundings,good food and excellent value for money. What more can you ask for.Will certainly return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank james a
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to forward us your thoughts regarding your recent dining experience in our Camerons Restaurant. Your comments will be passed to the team accordingly, from all at Castlecary thank you.

Dingwall
Reviewed March 12, 2017 via mobile

Staff were lovely. ..food at the pub was great. Was disappointed that my room was not in the hotel and in a separate chalet. The bed was old and the most uncomfortable I have been in. Room was fairly clean

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen F
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit and that the team took care of you. Apologies that your accommodation was external I have advised of your comments regarding uncomfortable bed. From all the team at Castlecary hotel thank you.

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 7, 2017

My company normally automatically book me locally with a golf course attached, I don't play golf and have no intention of learning. I came this time at short notice and fancied some img new so booked in to this hotel with no preconceived ideas of castles or grandeur as the price speaks for itself "reasonable". Most of the rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun T
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a very kind review, we certainly hope to see you again soon. I will pass your thoughts to the team accordingly. From all the team at Castlecary thank you.

Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 6, 2017 via mobile

Just had castlecary beef burger sticky toffee pudding a very warm greeting will definitely go back staff very professional a menu for all tastes although they. We're no special deals I lounge you can now get special deal in restaurant aithough decor is a bit dark it adds to the character of the building free parking space and well used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janmchugh
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind feedback, I agree the burgers and our homemade sticky toffee is delicious. We look forward to seeing you again soon. From all the team at Castlecary thank you.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile

We have been at the Castlecary House Hotel, the Poachers Bar for a family get together meal. The food we ordered was excellent quality and large portions, we all thoroughly enjoyed the food and the homely atmosphere. We will certainly return again for the Sunday lunch. Thankyou

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alister M
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

I will pass your thoughts to the team accordingly, thank you so much for your positive feedback. We very much look forward to seeing all again soon.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (74)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbernauld
1.5 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cumbernauld) Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glasgow Stepps Garfield House Hotel
8.7 mi away
Mondo Hotel
Mondo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coatbridge
120 reviews
8.7 mi away
Halo Crowwood House Hotel
Halo Crowwood House Hotel
#89 of 96 in Glasgow
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Be welcomed by our friendly staff when you stay at the Castlecary House Hotel. Strategically located in the heart of central Scotland, this hotel enjoys a quiet suburban location, a short drive from Glasgow city centre and an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. Enjoy complimentary WiFi in all public areas of the hotel, ample complimentary car parking and easy access to the M80 North and South, as well as Scotland's main motorway network M8/M9/M73/M74. Visit The Falkirk Wheel,The Helix Park and The Kelpies, The Forth & Clyde Canal, stunning Loch Lomond, take the kids for an educational day out at Stirling Castle or Blair Drummond Safari Park or head into Glasgow (train station 3 miles from hotel) or across to Edinburgh. Whether you are a serious shopper, culture vulture, theatre-goer or visiting on business you couldn't be better placed.All of the guest rooms at this hotel offer modern amenities including a freeview TV, black-out curtains, a spacious work area and WiFi. Larger rooms are available, ideal for longer stays and families. Food is Homemade. We make it easy for you to enjoy a delicious meal without even leaving the hotel with a choice of dining options from the informality of Camerons Restaurant which has built an excellent reputation for serving a variety of traditional Scottish dishes using fresh and local produce to the hotel's traditional pub The Poachers Lounge & Snug which serves fine home cooked food and is a local legend! Host a successful business or social event in our Cameron Suite for up top 150 guests.Highlights set in a quiet suburban location, close to GlasgowEasy access to the M80 North and South and many attractions and businesses Camerons Restaurant The Poachers Lounge & Snug traditional pub and function suite ideal for parties or meetings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castlecary House Hotel

Address: Castlecary Road | Nr Cumbernauld, Cumbernauld G68 0HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Cumbernauld
Price Range: $63 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlecary House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castlecary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecary Hotel Glasgow
Castlecary House Hotel Cumbernauld, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Castlecary House Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Castlecary House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I was only in two of the rooms but other looked different but I think no matter what room you get you will love it,”
Cloharry, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“There are various rooms located about the site, preference seems to be in the hotel, the other rooms are ok though,”
whickerg, Mar 4, 2017 | Read review
“to be honest never seen to many rooms at the place but we stayed in 145”
mgrover90, Dec 30, 2016 | Read review
“Less mobile clients could choose rooms near the elevators”
Colnagorod, Nov 22, 2016 | Read review
“The website photos perhaps resemble the rooms in the main building but is not like any of those at the side and back buildings.”
342rosemarieb, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question