We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Twitchen Farm

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Twitchen Farm
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Short break for walking on the beautiful North Devon Coast. Friendly welcome, comfortable room on the ground floor, choice of wholesome food for breakfast. Good wifi and TV (who needs them!) and a lovely area to explore

Helpful?
Thank bissell2
jaynej, Owner at Twitchen Farm, responded to this review

Thank you, so pleased that you enoyed your stay at Twitchen Farm and got out and about walking in the Exmoor National Park, it is especially lovely at the moment with the autumn colours and the Stags rutting. More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was offered a corner room with a view which turned out to be a view of the hedge...beyond which there was the car park. To make a cup of tea you will need to boil the kettle on the floor because the cord is too short. So is everything else, short: Breakfast, the hospitality the willingness to provide information.... More 

Helpful?
Thank diglon
jaynej, Owner at Twitchen Farm, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay at Twitchen Farm did not meet your expectations. As your visit was so long ago (Nov 2015) I can not answer specific points. I can only say that Helen and I always try to take great care and have pride in the high quality of our rooms and customer care. There are full details... More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Stayed for four nights at Twitchen Farm and fell in love with the area. Truly stunning views from our bedroom and bathroom. We took our sons dog with us on the holiday and it is a really dog friendly place. Very comfy, clean room. Excellent breakfast, very very good quality produce- sausages in a class of their own! Very friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank lynnej1949
Helen A, Owner at Twitchen Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. The view is starting to change now that autumn is on it's way and the trees will soon be red and gold. Best wishes, Helen. More 

Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2016

Stayed for 1 night as a last minute booking. We booked the family room due to having a large dog with us who likes to spread out. Room very comfy & clean, shower nice with plenty of hot water. Only niggle was size of TV for room size but then you are not within area to stay in to watch... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rose063
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

Only stayed for one night as we were passing through but I had great memories of the lovely view, most cosy breakfast room (delicious food) Cute big doggie, hot chocolate in the room. Pretty room... nice walk through the farm with sheep roaming.... would go back again some day. The owners were extremely kind ladies too.

Helpful?
Thank SnowQueen85
jaynej, Owner at Twitchen Farm, responded to this review

Thank you, I have had order more hot chocolate as there has been a run on it! All the others things here all the time, come back and see us some time. Jaye More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. Comfy bed, good bathroom, good wifi, & very tasty tea/hot choc facilities ! Met their gorgeous friendly dog too. Breakfast was well done everyday (sausages amazing), and their one off kippers. Great place to stay to visit Exmoor, not too long a drive to anywhere. One night I went searching for stars among the awful clouds,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Inazumamazzy
jaynej, Owner at Twitchen Farm, responded to this review

If the conditions are right, this is definately one of the best places anywhere in England to see the starry night sky, or fab sunsets. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for two nights, the room was great, clean, dry and a nice size. Breakfast was very good. Nice relaxed place without pages of rules and regulations. Lovely setting and lots of nice places locally. Very dog friendly and our dogs felt right at home. We will definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
jaynej, Owner at Twitchen Farm, responded to this review

Thank you Tracey, your right we don't like rules and regulations, or signs telling you what to do! Glad that you had a nice relaxing time. See you again Jaye More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

What a lovely place! Great hosts who really look after guests, knowledgable and so helpful. Oh and cook fab breakfasts :-) We had a family room so we had space for our dogs crate & it was perfect size. Beautiful views & walks from the farm. The pub down the road is amazing so no need to do a long... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
jaynej, Owner at Twitchen Farm, responded to this review

Thank you Caroline, Pleased that you enjoyed the area and the great pub in the village. There is lots to explore around, the dog walks are endless. More 

Manchester UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2016

Nothing really wrong with this place except just a little bit soulless eg rooms and breakfast room a bit chilly, no biscuits, breakfast good but not outstanding. I think the problem was the other farms we stayed in in Devon had so many more personal touches. On the positive side there is an excellent pub, the Black Venus in walking... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkiegirl29
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2016

Not my first visit, but the first time I have taken my grandchildren. they are aged 6 and 4 years. They really enjoyed the stay and loved the breakfast. We had dinner at the local pub which is always a good experience.

Helpful?
Thank chris1905barnes
jaynej, Owner at Twitchen Farm, responded to this review

Thankyou so much, really happy that you all enjoyed your visit to Twitchen Farm. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Challacombe
4.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
449 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
210 reviews
9.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
130 reviews
18.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
595 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the Exmoor National Park, close to Challacombe village. Twitchen Farm is an 18th century courtyard farmhouse converted to offer high quality en-suite accommodation. A family business run by Helen and Jaye, Twitchen Farm takes pride in serving a fantastic breakfast, sourced from local and organic producers when possible. Enjoy the real ales and great food served in our award winning village pub the Black Venus. Well behaved dogs are welcome in some of our rooms. Farm walk and other longer routes. A great base for exploring North Devon's beaches, villages, National Trust properties, gardens etc.. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Twitchen Farm

Address: Challacombe | Devon, Challacombe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4TT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Challacombe
Price Range: $96 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Twitchen Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Twitchen Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Kipscombe ideal for one or easy access. Windows on 2 sides at ground level needed curtains to be drawn if you want to change clothes”
 of 5 bubbles bissell2, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Find a place that cares about its guests”
 of 5 bubbles diglon, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“all rooms are good, but park near the door if it's raining!”
 of 5 bubbles leanng2013, Sep 21, 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are good you wont be disappointed”
 of 5 bubbles spunky66, Sep 13, 2015 | Read review
“Front rooms with greta views”
 of 5 bubbles Chris648, Sep 6, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay