We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel

Hotels.com$73*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$75*
$73*
$75*
$75*
$73*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 368: English reviews
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 19, 2017

Chance lunch with friends, food good but staff need a little polish. i always think the the sign of a really professionally run establishment is the speed with which you can catch a waiter/ress's eye, why do they walk passed and not look at the clients, just a little thing, one shouldn't need to shout or worse whistle.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BuckleeSalop1
TheMyttonAndMermaid, General Manager at The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BuckleeSalop1, Thank you for your constructive feedback within your recent review of The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel. It is crucial that all of our team members are always alert and aware and I will be addressing this within the coming weeks training. Thank you for your review. Kind Regards, Stephen Abbott General Manager.

Reviewed March 13, 2017

Stayed here for two nights. So much more than we were expecting. Stayed in the Mytton Suite which was absolutely spotlessly clean. Bed was comfortable, room spacious, tea and coffee making facilities available, Hotel on the corner of fairly busy country road but ideally situated for walks and country park and access to major towns. Road noise not excessive in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susannah W
TheMyttonAndMermaid, General Manager at The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susannah W, Thank you for your kind words within your recent review of The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the variety we can offer within our restaurant. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind Regards, Stephen Abbott General Manager.

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 12, 2017

Arrived on a busy Saturday early evening for a 1 night break. Checked in at the reception no problem, like others have stated, I also did not like being walked through the bar/dining area with our luggage to be taken to the courtyard room, felt extremely awkward. Checked into our courtyard room (16) very small room, but not a problem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
TheMyttonAndMermaid, General Manager at The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachel E, Thank you for your insight and feedback within your recent review of The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel. As a venue, we are always striving for perfection and your feedback will be taken on board, with regard to both food and our bedrooms. We are delighted that you did enjoy your stay and look forward to welcoming you...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 8, 2017

The Mytton is a lovely looking hotel by the river at Atcham, opposite Attingham Park. We've eaten here on many an occasion and never been disappointed with the surroundings, service or food. It's a very popular destination so we've always been happier to pre-book although I'm sure it's not always necessary.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Unclegadget
TheMyttonAndMermaid, General Manager at The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Unclegadget, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel. We are delighted with your 5 star review. We always recommend booking to avoid disappointment and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards, Stephen Abbott General Manager.

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 7, 2017

We have been here for lunch before and were not disappointed, We did the deer walk and snowdrop walk at Attingham Park and stopped here for lunch and a visit to the quaint church at Atcham. We had the seafood sharing platter with a bowl of fabulous chunky chips. The platter was varied, fresh and delicious. You pay for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
TheMyttonAndMermaid, General Manager at The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patricia M, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our popular Seafood Platter, and look forward to welcoming you back for lunch the next time you visit Attingham. Kind Regards, Stephen Abbott General Manager.

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 5, 2017

Staying in the vicinity in a hotel without breakfast facilities. Decided to pop into the Mytton and Mermaid as they offer breakfast to non residents plus we have stayed here before, so thought it would be up to usual standard. I chose scrambled egg and smoked salmon on toasted brioche. When it arrived the plate was garnished with yellowing greenery,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GrommoD
TheMyttonAndMermaid, General Manager at The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GrommoD, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your Brunch at The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel. We are grateful for your insight and will be relaying your comments to our kitchen brigade. We are always striving for perfection and are disappointed we did not meet our high expectations during your recent visit. I do hope...

Reviewed March 4, 2017

A pleasant hotel with loverly bedrooms. The fresh cooked food at breakfast was excellent. The 3 course special meal in the evening was really good value. Friendly staff. Unfortunately they only serve cake if you pre order afternoon tea. A slice would have gone down well with our cup of tea on arrival

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 24, 2017

We visited the Mytton and Mermaid for a late Sunday lunch. The food was excellent,, pleasant and helpful staff and will allow dogs in the bar area. Really enjoyed our late lunch after a lovely walk at Attingham park across the road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amydavidson2016
TheMyttonAndMermaid, General Manager at The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review

Amydavidson2016, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your late lunch, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kind Regards, Stephen Abbott. General Manager.

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 19, 2017

I was taken here by an Investment company of whom I am a client. The restaurant and bar areas are very tastefully decorated. The dinning room is in a 'vintage' style. The atmosphere was great for lunch but could also be great for dinner when the lights are lower. I had a simple steak ciabatta with an onion marmalade. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian L
TheMyttonAndMermaid, General Manager at The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adrian L, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent lunch at The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel. Chef and I are thrilled that you enjoyed your meal, and appreciate your feedback regarding the quality of our local produce. I have also passed on your feedback regarding your beer to our Bar Manager, who will be investigating accordingly....

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 19, 2017 via mobile

We have recently stayed here for a couple of nights, the hotel is nice and the room was lovely at first glance but definitely not worth the money. The pillows where like wafers and old and when asked for more we were told they only had one spare????? Not sure why. The bed wasn't great and the mattress kept slipping...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jen0785
TheMyttonAndMermaid, General Manager at The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jen0785, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed our restaurant but are disappointed regarding your feedback of our bedroom. It does seem we have fell short of our normal high standards, with reference to service and replenishing of the room. Your insight will...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atcham
6.2 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
595 reviews
3.6 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 14 in Shrewsbury
330 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is a grade II listed building, built in 1735 standing on the banks of the River Severn. A central location less than 10 minutes from Shrewsbury town centre and 5 minutes from J7 of the M54. The entrance to Attingham Park (National Trust)is directly opposite the hotel. Seasonal menus feature local produce. Log burner for cooler days. Local ales and fine wines to compliment good food. Free parking on site. Picturesque black and white cottage also on site. Flexible accommodation, doubles including Superior, twin, single, family and ground floor options all available. A perfect location to discover Shropshire. Alternatively if business brings you to the area the Mytton is perfectly placed for Telford, Shrewsbury and further afield. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel

Address: Atcham, Shrewsbury SY5 6QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Atcham
Price Range: $82 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mytton And Mermaid
Mytton & Mermaid Hotel Atcham
Mytton Mermaid Atcham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
SOUTH WALES, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Walsall, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Lovely views”
deniset163, 1 week ago | Read review
“Room 2 was large and at the front of the hotel”
tetuan22s, 1 week ago | Read review
“Room 1, Attingham Suite, views across the front lawn to Attingham Park.Lovely room but traffic noise quite early in the morning.”
TonyA1958, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“hotel is on a fairly busy country road. Windows in main house are natural not double glazed. Views at back are of the river and church.”
260susannahw, Mar 13, 2017 | Read review
“All rooms were very good”
N2914AHsuzanneb, Mar 4, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotels.com
$73* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$75
TripAdvisor$73
Expedia.com$73
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates