We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amara Mountain Resort

Show Prices
#3 of 12 Hotels in Kalaw
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Amara Mountain Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 187: English reviews
Start your review of Amara Mountain Resort
 Click to rate
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When we drove through the gates I couldn't believe my eyes, I thought I was back in the U.K. Our guide told us that the original house was a colonial home and the house we stayed in was an exact copy of it. Reading the hotel book it states that the staff are from the region where they are given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ivyCharlotte4
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Another hotel, selling itself as a resort: something lost in translation, a resort is a town or a place, not a singular business Anyway a good 25 minute walk from town but still close enough to a temple for a bit of chanting to contend with, one finds creaking "gem". Only three rooms occupied when I stayed so dinner was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PUTNEYBIKER
Canton of Thurgau, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a cold winter night in this beautiful hotel. The rooms are big, have their own fire place - which can be a necessity on such a night. The bathrooms are big and the bathtub is stone. The dinner was very tasty and the wine menu adequate - better than most. A taste of the local whisky before bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 386gailr
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear 386gailr, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! Thank you very much for your lovely comments of your experiences of stayed and services about our team as for the first sight. Secondly, we are very glad that you have a perfect holidays at our resort. Restassumed that we still keep this kind of hospitatly of standard to welcome you once...

italy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stay in this hotel 1 night and was an amazing experience , the room is amazing with fire place for the cold winter ... very romantic ! I tray the massage spa and was very good ,only the room was a little too cold.the breakfast could be improve ...the quality of food good but the choice poor !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laura7777
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear Laura7777, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! First of all thank you very much for choosing our property amongst Resort in Kalaw as well as we would highly appreciated of your experineces sharing here on this page. We are very glad that you had perfect of your staye here with us and we always try to imporve the quality...

Kalaw, Myanmar
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The title is words another guest used to describe this charming hotel. We go loved the place. The garden is a delight to sit in amongst sweet peas and many other flowers. The cooler temperature was most welcome. The food was really good,much of it grown in the hotels near garden.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FutureCreation
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear FutureCreation, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! First of all, thank you very much for your beautiful comments and sharing of your experiences of fabulous stayed at our resort as well as we would much appreciate for taking time to write on this page every ascepts of praising nature and all about us. We do hope to chance to...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a beautiful setting. Unexpected Alpine. The room was nice and we were very glad of the mosquito netting. Odd that you had to order dinner ahead of time. Food and service were quite good though. We stayed here on the way to visit the amazing Green Hill Valley Elephant Camp.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amiesmie
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear aschilson, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! Thank you very much for taking time to write your lovely comment. We would highly appreicated for choosing our property amongst hotels in Kalaw. We are glad to know as you have a pleasent stayed here with us and spent of your perfect holidays. Looking forward to welcome you once again in...

South East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely setting in beautifully kept grounds. The hotel rooms are heritage furnished - certainly not modern - which means a compromise on modernity. However, our room was large and adequate for our overnight stay. The evening meal was truly excellent - as was the breakfast - and more than made up for any lack of modernity in the room. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mwD3475UC
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear mwD3475UC, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! Thank you very much for your beautiful comments about us as well as much appreciated for taking time to share of your experiences and recommandation about us here on this page. We are very glad to know that you have a very relaxing and enjoyable time during your stayed with us. Thank...

Reviewed February 14, 2017

Wonderful English Garden setting. The Chef is excellent. We chatted to him before dinner and he organised a wood fire to be lit in our room for after dinner. The sky at night is so clear up there but do go prepared for a chilly evening and morning especially if you like to sit out in the evening

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Steve R, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! Thank you very much to bringing your excellent stayed with us and much appreciated to taking time to share of your experiences at the Amara Mountain Resort. We are very glad that all of services from our team met your expectation and happy in the end during your stayed. We...

Fortaleza
Reviewed February 13, 2017

we stayed at this hotel and spent time at the excellent elephant conservation project nearby.. they say on the site that all 10 rooms are the same, but some are better than others, both in views and bath tubs! very well kept rooms..very good service..good restaurant..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sumeetbr
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sumeetbr, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! First of all, thank you very much for choosing us amongst many other hotels in the City of Kalaw. We would much appreicated for taking time to wriet here your beautiful comments about us and we alwyas try to do our best to meet all of our Distinquish expectation withing you and...

Reviewed February 12, 2017 via mobile

Lovely Hotel with houses imitating good old England in the country. Comfortable rooms with stylish bathroom, but awfull plumbing. Shower streaming hot or icecold. Friendly staf in a charming restaurant with very good food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willem v
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Willem V, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! Thank you very much for your beautiful comments and we are very glad to know as you had a great holidays and enjoyed the green enviromental of Kalaw. All of we are trying to improve as your comment of shower in the room. We do hope chance to welcome you...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

165 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (141)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalaw hotels
0.5 mi away
Dream Mountain Resort
0.4 mi away
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
#5 of 12 in Kalaw
26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dream Villa Hotel
Dream Villa Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kalaw
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw
0.5 mi away
Royal Kalaw Hills Resort
1.0 mi away
Hill Top Villa Resort Kalaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kalaw is a small town in Shan State, formerly created by the British government during colonial times as a summer resort in the highlands. The Amara Mountain Resort itself consists of two buildings, both colonial style and one built as early as 1909. It is surrounded by a cottage garden with ancient trees, brightly colored flowers and a bio garden, whose products are served fresh in our restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amara Mountain Resort

Address: 10/182 Thida Road Quarter 10 | Western Bogone, Kalaw, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Kalaw
Price Range: $138 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amara Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Amara Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Amara Mountain Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“upper floor recommended”
 of 5 bubbles amiesmie, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“we were in the newer building upstairs. the floors are wood and may be noisy if you are on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles 38ConradC, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
“All cabins seem to be the same.”
 of 5 bubbles Dugan65, Apr 6, 2016 | Read review
“They're all good & nearby”
 of 5 bubbles Simon3105, Feb 10, 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms are on first floor and huge!”
 of 5 bubbles 264traceyw, Jan 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question