We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kinnaber

Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edzell
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kinnaber
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 47: English reviews
Zürich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2016

I stayed 3 nights with a work colleague in March 2016. It was absolutely lovely, the room is small but very cosily furnished. The bathroom was lovingly decorated and spotless. I loved hearing the many birds singing outside the window in the morning. For breakfast we got to choose between bacon, sausage & eggs and salmon & scrambled eggs, plus... More 

Helpful?
Thank xuan-minh
GRANNYANNIE71, Owner at Kinnaber, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for KINNABER and also for bringing such lovely weather with you. You must come more often !! We are pleased to report that our wifi is now super duper and back in action. Thank you again More 

Ravenna, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

Jim and Anne were able to accommodate me when my usual B&B was full and they recommended the Kinnaber so I booked. I must say that I wasn't disappointed one bit. Jim and Anne from the onset were very welcoming and nothing was a bother. I was up early every day and there was always my breakfast waiting. I couldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank wazza1979
GRANNYANNIE71, Owner at Kinnaber, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send your kind review. You will be most welcome at KINNABER anytime. More 

Lockerbie
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

My husband and I stayed at Kinnaber on August 15 following a local wedding. I booked both rooms, one for us and one for my husband's parents. Upon arrival we were greeted by Jim who explained his wife was currently out. He showed us our rooms before we brought our bags in from the car and by the time we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sunworshipper89
GRANNYANNIE71, Owner at Kinnaber, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your detailed review and constructive suggestions. I have replaced the towels in question and you were correct - a tad past there best. You had a lovely time at the wedding - first time away from your baby. Glad you all enjoyed breakfast. It is nice when away and have the time to relax at... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

Spent 8 nights with Anne and Jim while attending the British Open and they went out of their way to ensure that I had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Nothing was too much trouble - Anne even did my laundry, pressing everything and putting it away in the wardrobe! My room was attractively appointed, very comfortable and scrupulously clean. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick C
GRANNYANNIE71, Owner at Kinnaber, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a complimentary review. You were such a pleasant and easy guest. So sorry your man did not take the OPEN golf trophy home to OZ. Also my apologies for not replying sooner. We would be delighted if you could return with your wife. More 

Toronto, Ontario
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

Jim and Anne made us feel most welcome in their lovely home. We found the room to be very comfortable with beautiful ensuite. Breakfast was superb. Smoked salmon with the creamiest scrambled eggs we'd tasted.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank margaretstanfield
GRANNYANNIE71, Owner at Kinnaber, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments about KINNABER. Our scrambled eggs are very popular and we are glad you enjoyed them. More 

La Mesa, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

I recently returned from a trip to Scotland for over 3 weeks. Jim and Ann were absolutely wonderful. They made my stay so comfortable and homey. I was doing the British Open and they were a great home base to come back to. Who wouldn't want a jacuzzi bathtub to relax in with a glass of wine? They were helpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paula F
GRANNYANNIE71, Owner at Kinnaber, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the nice review. I only wish we could have made the Scottish weather better for you to enjoy seeing your fellow countryman win the Open. More 

Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

Extremely comfortable and friendly. For golfers(which was the reason for our visit)Edzell G. C. is within walking distance with plenty courses within easy driving distance. If I can find any fault it is no wifi was offered though I did not ask.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 901sandy
GRANNYANNIE71, Owner at Kinnaber, responded to this review

Yes we do have Wifi and advertise that we do. Sorry about not asking if you needed the code. Our guests are split between thosethat use the devices and those who don't. It is perhaps something we should get into the habit of asking our guests. Thank you for your comment and the 5 star rating. More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

Here we received a rather brusque but pleasant welcome, perhaps because Ann was busy. She did the laundry for me at a price of 20 pounds, which was very helpful as we were travelling. Not many B&B's will offer this service. The laundry was clean and ironed. Our room was somewhat cramped, with 2 twin beds close together. The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Madelinethoughtful
GRANNYANNIE71, Owner at Kinnaber, responded to this review

We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at Kinnaber and that we fell below our normal high standards. If I appeared 'brusque' I do apologise as it is very important when meeting guests for the first time to create a good impression, as one does not get a second chance. However you also said I was... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

A most pleasant visit very welcoming couple. Late entry was no problem. Parking was on road but nap problem, big wide road but not a main road. Excellent breakfast, wide choice, we were able to choose time. Good all round experience. Will return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank grahamn205
Moffat, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Anne and Jim made us more than welcome, despite their being 'suffering' from on-going building work. They pushed the boat out to be as helpful as possible. Blue room was spotless and very comfortable. All the usual in-room catering was there for us to use. Special thanks to Jim for giving us a lift up town on a wet and... More 

Helpful?
Thank John G S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edzell
0.2 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
5.1 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
9.7 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Panmure Arms Hotel
Panmure Arms Hotel
#1 of 6 in Edzell
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
5.2 mi away
Gramarcy House
Gramarcy House
#2 of 10 in Brechin
5.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ramsay Arms Hotel
Ramsay Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fettercairn
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Additional Information about Kinnaber

Address: Ramsay Street, Edzell, Brechin DD9 7TT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Brechin > Edzell
Price Range: $90 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Kinnaber Edzell, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing