We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
18/09 Lileta Simien Mountains, Debark Ethiopia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (108)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (8)

About

#2 of 7 Specialty lodging in Debark
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The lodge was closed and totally renovated from March to October 2020. Images and reviews may not reflect the current status and condition of the lodge nor its performance or management. An award-winning lodge in the Simien Mountains of Ethiopia - in fact, the highest hotel in Africa at 3260m. Travellers visit to see the endemic animals of the Simien Mountains (Wolf, Walia Ibex and Gelada monkey). The views are incredible and it is for this reason that the Simien National Park was the 2nd World Heritage Site to be created after Yellowstone Nat Park in 1976. In 2016 Simien Lodge was awarded the Skal International Silver prize for rural accommodation. We were also given the World Travel Market African Sustainable Tourism 2nd place for poverty alleviation.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View

Location

Full view
Contact
18/09 Lileta Simien Mountains, Debark Ethiopia
Getting there
Bole Airport298 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
121Reviews4Q+A14Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 28
  • 42
  • 32
  • 14
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The Weak Knee Traveler wrote a review Oct 2020
Singapore, Singapore11,794 contributions662 helpful votes
+1
This is a great base for visiting the national park. Loved the huge rooms which were like cottages. WiFi is available at the reception area but not that reliable but this is just a same issue since one should be in sync with nature while the Mountains. Breakfast spread and service were great and the sunset view was beautiful. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
RRuk2011 wrote a review Apr 2020
London, United Kingdom101 contributions43 helpful votes
A good 3-course meal, including very good home-made soup. Nice sort of bar with very helpful staff there and thorughout the lodge. Walk to the room was a bit dark, room fine though bathroom somewhat basis. Video of gelada definitely worth visiting.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
sherischrdr wrote a review Apr 2020
5 contributions
Staff was nice, breakfast and dinners basic but tasty, and rooms large. Hot water bottles available each night after dinner. Fun documentaries on Geladas in the evening, fireside. Ambiance of lodge is rustic and authentic Ethiopian feeling. Design of tukuls sadly doesn't take advantage of the mountain vista views and windows view onto sidewalk so no privacy either. Location in Simien NP is great for finding troops of geladas nearby and exploring the park on foot. Loved fireside dinner setting and large shelves in tukul for backpacks/luggage.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from HeadGelada, Propriétaire at Simien Lodge
Responded Apr 14, 2020
We had a choice when we built the lodge: 1) Adopt the lighthouse approach and end up in every photo that anyone takes looking back along the escarpment. (there are no other buildings in this World Heritage site) 2) Shine lights at night all along the escarpment and disturb the hunting habits of the wild animals. 3) Build on the escarpment and run the risk of the roofs blowing off in the rainy season. (there are very big storms from June to August, usually when the tourists are not there.) 4) Build just 50m from the escarpment and be kinder to the environment. So we rejected options 1-3 and went for number 4. We have in fact adopted the environmental approach for over ten years which is why the gelada are such a pleasure to watch and are not invasive like baboons in other parks where investors have not paid attention to maintaining a distance between wildlife and humans. . We do appreciate that tourists want to open the curtains in the morning and see the view. But we feel that walking 50 meters is not too much to ask in order to preserve this pristine area of natural beauty.
Read more
Daniel R wrote a review Mar 2020
Sydney, Australia292 contributions54 helpful votes
Just spent the one night here. Room is perfectly fine. Basic but comfortable. Lodge itself is again simple with a dull bar serving overpriced drinks. Staff were disinterested but no worse than anywhere else in Ethiopia. Food in the restaurant was very very average. I didn't touch breakfast and dinner was very much "high school canteen" style. While we didn't pay (operator prepaid meals), I did note they were very expensive and numerous groups were complaining about this. Such a shame as there is great potential, however they are clearly more focuses on ripping off tourists
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from HeadGelada, Propriétaire at Simien Lodge
Responded Mar 28, 2020
Breakfast is free - nobody pays. A three-course dinner is $20 (£18 or £16). It is a fixed price. Is that really exorbitant given the location 800km from the capital and 3260m up in the mountains? About 50% of the foodstuffs have to come from the capital.
Read more
Minstrel115 wrote a review Mar 2020
Saskatoon, Canada392 contributions42 helpful votes
+1
Located in the Simien mountains, world heritage site, this lodge is surrounded by a stunningly beautiful view. My room (an Ethiopian tukel) was very spacious with a very warm bed. After the delicious dinner and viewing video in the main building, they distributed a hot water bottle for the bed to everyone. The bathroom in tukel had plenty of hot water for the shower. Woke up early the following morning to view the sunrise and headed for the hike - saw many gelada monkeys. I cannot imagine how much hard work and dedication poured into building and maintaining this lodge for all of us to enjoy the beauty of nature. Gratitude, totally. I would recommend bringing a warm outfit as the early hours and evening can be chilly because of the altitude.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HeadGelada, Propriétaire at Simien Lodge
Responded Mar 16, 2020
Thank you! Our clients generally fall into three categories. 1) Those like yourself who come realising where they are in the world and who absolutely love it. 2) The vast majority who go away happy and never think to reach for their mobile. 3) The teeny-weeny minority who want to grumble about the slightest thing. So happy that you are in the first group. Glad that you had a great time.
Read more
Previous
ALSO KNOWN AS
simien hotel addis ababa
LOCATION
EthiopiaAmhara RegionDebark
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Simien Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Simien Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Simien Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Simien Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Simien Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.