We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Ratagan Youth Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ratagan Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 38: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were with a waking group who took over the whole hostel for a weekend. Parking good, lovely location on the Loch shore. Rooms good, clean and warm and kitchen large and well equipped. Separate lounge as well as the large dining room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 24, 2016

Wonderful location, clean hostel, sympathetic warden - heaven! I hadn't visited this hostel before and will now choose it above the others when visiting Skye. My fellow inmates were interesting, friendly, chatty - not pushy- and it felt homelike very soon. Any tiny problems were attended to by Bartocz - yes, my spelling is rot !-efficiently and kindly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annadundas
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Ratagan Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Annadundas Thanks for your review following your recent stay with us at Ratagan,Im pleased to see you had a good time and enjoyed the company of our other guests(not inmates :) ) We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 20, 2016 via mobile

We booked on the day. Beautiful location on the Loch. Room was really for 5 so for three seemed relatively expensive. Breakfast was disappointing, no fruit was provided. Nearby hotel was great for evening meal. Overall we will definitely want to return but will be more careful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Ratagan Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Kathy M Thanks for taking he time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,We appreciate all feedback and hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Dan

West Lothian, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 11, 2016

My brother booked this whole youth hostel for the weekend for his munro compleation & party afterwards. Ihad an amazing time. Fantastic youth hostel, very clean spacious, well stocked kitchen, comfy bed & room, excellent location over the loch. 40minute flat walk to the pub. Lovely freindly guy on reception. Would defnitely return. Not expensive either.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 304carol66
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Ratagan Youth Hostel, responded to this review

HI 304carol66 Thanks for your review and its great to see you enjoyed our lovely hostel,I can see you booked the whole hostel which can be done in any of our rural hostels. I will pass on your kind words to the team at Ratagan who work tirelessly to ensure everyone leaves happy. We hope to welcome you back soon...

Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 10, 2016

Great location in the picturesque area, just by Loch Duich. Eilean Donan castle is a short drive away, you also have a great view towards Kintail Sisters. We stayed in the hostel on two occasions - once in Dorm, few years ago, this year we had a double, seperate room - Dorms are spacious, other couple we had a conversation...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KateAnna
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Ratagan Youth Hostel, responded to this review

HI KateAnna Thanks for your kind review and its great to see overall you had a good time.We will have a look at your comments regarding the noise and see if we can do anything to ease that. We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

Great self-catering kitchen and comfortable beds in a very quiet and picturesque localisation. May be a bit too dark or quiet for some, but the only drawback I found is that there is only one female and one male shower available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Ratagan Youth Hostel, responded to this review

HI Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Its great to see overall you had a good time and we hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Dan

Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

Situated right on the loch offering great views of Glen Shield this is the perfect place to unwind. Lovely evening walk along the lochside lane as far as you want to go. Free tea, coffee supplies and well equipped kitchen. Friendly warden and comfortable lounge. If you have never hostelled before then you won't be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Ratagan Youth Hostel, responded to this review

HI Paul H, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us. Regards Dan

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Arrived very late for an overnight stay so we could get an early start for our attempt on the South GS Ridge. The staff were excellent and left us breakfast out as we were up at 04:45. Can't fault the place. Very friendly, very cosy and very good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Ratagan Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Stuart B, Thanks for your kind review,Its great to see you had a good time and enjoyed the early breakfast,We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Dan

Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 27, 2016

Hostel is very cosy, staff is extremely nice and helpfull. Everything is clean and well maintain. You can feel as a part of an hostel family. But whats the best in this place is its location. Just by the water with a incredible view. Sunrises and sunsets make you want to stay there forever.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kajetan D
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Ratagan Youth Hostel, responded to this review

HI Kajetan D, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,Its great to see you had a good time and as you point out the location is amazing as our the views which everyone enjoys We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

United Kingdom
Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

You can't top that location especially when the weather is fine and you can see the mountains in the background. Facilities and dorm were clean and tidy and there was everything you could possibly need. One improvement however would be for the shower as it had very very little pressure and only one curtain separating the stall from the rest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abovetheclouds67
SYHAHostelling, General Manager at Ratagan Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear abovetheclouds67 Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Its great to see you had a good time and have noted your comments regarding the showers. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Regards

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ratagan
10.8 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
234 reviews
8.1 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
197 reviews
11.7 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
11.0 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
314 reviews
22.6 mi away
Torridon Youth Hostel
Torridon Youth Hostel
#1 of 1 in Torridon
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ratagan Youth Hostel has one of the best locations in Scotland. From the attractive lochside garden, the views across to the Five Sisters mountain range are breathtaking. Good facilities mean the hostel is popular with walkers and tourist alike. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ratagan Youth Hostel

Address: Glenshiel, Ratagan IV40 8HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ratagan
Price Range: $52 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ratagan Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ratagan Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“This is a hostel so comfort is adequate and facilities good for what you pay. Great value.”
  • Great view from the hostel garden with the 5 Sisters up on the right.
 of 5 bubbles 851andrewh851, yesterday | Read review
“Not beach front but loch side.....even better.”
 of 5 bubbles 304carol66, Sep 11, 2016 | Read review
“Standard dorm is fine for the hillwalkers. Families should try the family rooms to avoid the inevitable snorers.”
 of 5 bubbles AckyMitch, Aug 7, 2014 | Read review
“Room for 4 people (number 5 I think) had excellent views on the loch”
 of 5 bubbles eiola, Nov 15, 2013 | Read review
“If your are solo/couple - ask for room 6 at the ground floor next to the sitting area and facing the car park .It has a bunk bed and a single bed.p and single toilet/bath just opposite.”
 of 5 bubbles 18sergeiv, Oct 24, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay