We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hill Cottage Crowborough

Certificate of Excellence
Mount Pleasant, Crowborough TN6 2NF, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crowborough
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hill Cottage Crowborough
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 133: English reviews
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived earlier than we had anticipated but the owners gave us great service all the way. Wonderful room (number 1) with modern bathroom and good bed. The breakfast was excellent! The pub next door don't serve dinner on all evenings, so you may have to drive (or walk - but its a fair bit) to the town center.

Helpful?
Thank Bindertech
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back some day. For information, the Wheatsheaf opposite serves evening meals only 3 days a week, Tuesday to Thursday, but there are a number of good alternatives just a short drive away. More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately we did not get to stay here as it looks lovely and came highly recommended. However, although quick to respond via email, when I called to try and book a room I spoke to an extremely rude man (presumably Ted). He informed me quickly that the information on his website was incorrect and although it states room 1 can... More 

Helpful?
Thank socopet
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Before responding to your review we must emphasise that you did not stay with us and have no experience of our service. I do remember your call because of your request for an extra bed, and you are right, our website should have been updated, so that is in hand as I write. I refute your accusation of rudeness, we... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I could be clinical and efficient and write that the room was beautifully presented, well stocked with tea and coffee, pristine and quiet...and leave it at that. However, this would be an injustice to Ted and Maggie who are warm and welcoming and thoroughly good people. They immediately feel like life-long friends who will talk and, just as important, listen... More 

Helpful?
Thank KashBB
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Wow, what a lovely review, thank you so much Kash. We look forward to seeing you again and picking up the conversation where we left off! More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2016

Spent a night here following a visit to the seven sisters. We were made to feel very welcome by the couple who own the house. The room was very clean and beautifully decorated. There are towels provided and shower gel and shampoo. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great night sleep. We had a full English breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank 08Rachael
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your very kind review, apart from enjoying your stay with us we were very pleased to hear how much you like the general area, and we very much look forward to seeing you again. More 

Reepham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2016

We have not stayed in many B&Bs but I think this is the one by which all future ones will be judged. We stayed 2 nights while attending a friend's 70th birthday celebrations and we couldn't have made a better choice. The room was small but very comfy and had plenty of storage. The beds were comfortable and we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rita713
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Hi and thank you very much for your very kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and it makes a nice change for us to prepare a different kind of breakfast, you were lovely guests and we hope to see you again when your friend is 80! More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016

Stayed here for a wedding reception late march. Really nice B&B, owners were welcoming and friendly. Rooms were very clean and tidy, bed was super comfy (we had room 4 - the double with the separate bathroom). Slept like a log. Bathroom was new and clean too, we indulged in a bath too which was lovely. There's free wifi too... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kerri F
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your very kind review, we're glad you had such a good time and enjoyed the breakfast. If you're ever back this way we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

The family, 5 of us shared all the 3 rooms, making it even more cosy. We only stayed the one night to attend a 50th anniversary party but would really have liked to stay longer as Ted & Mags are so professional and welcoming .All the reviews speak for themselves. All rooms clean ,plenty of towels ,refreshments ,toiletries. I believe... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gregg M
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Hi Gregg, that's a lovely review from you and your family, thank you very much. You were great fun as guests, a real pleasure, and we hope you can find an excuse to visit us again. More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2016

Ted and Maggie Hirst are very good hosts. They run a beautiful cottage here in East Sussex. We had the room with an en-suite which was comfortable and spotlessly clean. Ample storage space, very comfortable beds and pillows. Should you wish to have a fully cooked breakfast, note that the eggs are fresh from the chickens in the garden, everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank winningij
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Hi and thank you very much for your very nice review, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and wish you luck with your house hunting. More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2016

After a four-hour journey to get there for a training course, the welcome was the least friendly I have ever experienced at any accommodation I have stayed in. Three dogs came bounding out of the door and the proprietor looked at me as though it was my fault they had done so and didn't seem to be expecting a guest... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter T
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. It was extremely unfortunate that our dogs chose the precise moment of your arrival to escape, they are not allowed into guest areas and I'm afraid my immediate and very real concern was that they didn't run into the road and get killed, so I had to act quickly to... More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2016

Stayed one night while my husband had an operation at the Horder Centre. Maggie was very welcoming and helpful. Bed comfortable and my twin room cosy. The cooked breakfast was delicious... Quality ingredients and well cooked! Yum. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank CBStroller
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again (but under different circumstances of course!). More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crowborough
7.0 mi away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
4.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
4.9 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
4.5 of 5 stars 1,263 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 stars 929 reviews
6.4 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hill Cottage dates back to around 1600 and is a quaint,cosy, heavily beamed stone built country cottage, set in a quiet wooded spot on the edge of town next to a traditional English country pub, yet within short walking distance of Crowborough's two main business parks, local bus services, and the mainline station with trains to London which is just an hour away. Whether your stay is for business, pleasure, or a mixture of the two, we make sure your day gets off to a great start with a wonderful breakfast, and a light packed lunch too if required. There is plenty of car parking, free WiFi, flat screen TV and a hairdryer in your room, comfortable beds with quality linen, fresh fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries. We look forward to meeting you and making your stay in Crowborough most enjoyable....... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hill Cottage Crowborough

Address: Mount Pleasant, Crowborough TN6 2NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Crowborough
Price Range: $53 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hill Cottage Crowborough United Kingdom
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing