We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hill Cottage Crowborough

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crowborough
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hill Cottage Crowborough
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 143: English reviews
Start your review of Hill Cottage Crowborough
 Click to rate
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed over after a wedding nearby and was a delightful experience all round. The room was snug but comfortable and slept like a baby until awaking to a glorious view and the smell of breakfast luring us downstairs to feast, ready for a day in the beautiful surrounding countryside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Legroom_Needed
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review and we look forward to seeing you again

Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Reviewed January 20, 2017

I stayed here for two weeks in Bedroom 1 which was cosy, warm and a home from home. The breakfast was amazing every morning -so much to choose from! Ted and Maggie are the best - so friendly and inviting. Will definitely book again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raines20172017
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your lovely review. We hope everything is going well with your new life in Monaco (it will certainly be warmer!), and we look forward to seeing you again when you visit your family.

Chepstow, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 28, 2016

Lovely B&B charming facilities with a very warm welcome. Lovely breakfast and adjacent to a very nice pub. I could have stayed for a week. Olde worlde rooms but with en suite very clean & Off road parking

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review, you will always be welcome.

Kuwait City, Kuwait
Reviewed December 23, 2016 via mobile

Lovely B&B in a quiet area which lead to a great nights sleep as there was no noise from passing traffic. Traditional rooms with everything we needed. Helpful and friendly owners who supplied us with good breakfast before a long day of travelling.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 6, 2016

I stayed at Hill Cottage for over a year on weekdays whilst working nearby. Ted and Maggie couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating. I tested all the rooms and can confirm that all the beds are comfortable! Breakfast was excellent, whether it was the full English or something lighter. Because the B&B is popular I did occasionally have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sueE5193RB
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review Sue. As you say, you were here so long, nearly 18 months in fact, that you must have sampled every option, and we thank you too for being such a wonderful guest.

Reviewed September 26, 2016

A charming, luxurious cottage which is beautifully furnished, extremely comfortable and a pleasure to stay in. We had 2 rooms over 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Ted and Maggie are excellent hosts and aded such value to our holiday weekend with family. It's on a quiet little lane, yet so close to the town. The full English breakfasts are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giles S
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Hi Giles and thank you so much for your super review, we know you had a great time here visiting old friends, and no doubt will continue in much the same vein during the rest of your trip....enjoy!

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed September 26, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised on arrival at Hill Cottage for a weekend stay. We were warmly greeted by our hostess, Maggie and shown our rooms which were extremely comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast was both generous and delicious! We most grateful when Ted (Maggie's husband) offered to give us a ride into Tunbridge Wells when we were unable to find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 557gabby
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Hi and thank you so much for your very generous review, it was a pleasure to have you both over the weekend and glad you enjoyed the open top run into the Wells - at least you got your hair dried!

Sutton, Surrey
Reviewed September 18, 2016

We had two rooms at Hill Cottage this weekend and couldn't fault our stay. The cottage is classically British, large open hearth, timber beams etc etc. We received a very warm welcome upon arrival and the rooms were spotlessly clean & very well appointed. The bathrooms were also modern and clean. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of options from fruit, cereal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GaryBSutton_Surrey
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review, we certainly enjoyed having you to stay and hope to see you again sometime

Reviewed August 14, 2016

Very lovely b&b, very friendly hosts, the room and bathroom was clean, nice and comfortable. The breakfast was good and they were keen on special needs. I loved the old look of the property, the beams and the old windows, all in all a very nice place to stay at.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renate M
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Hi Renate, thanks for your great review, you certainly covered a lot of ground while you were with us and obviously enjoyed yourself. Hope the cats and parrots gave you a good welcome home!

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 9, 2016

My husband and I spent 3 nights here. The room we had was furnished to a high standard and was immaculately clean. Our room had a dedicated bathroom which was just across the landing. The bathroom was large with a corner bath and, again very clean. Breakfast was delicious with cereal, fruit and yogurt as well as a full English....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SienaMirabella
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, we remember you well and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crowborough
7.0 mi away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
493 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
596 reviews
7.5 mi away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
252 reviews
4.9 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,366 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hever Hotel
Hever Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hever
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hill Cottage dates back to around 1600 and is a quaint,cosy, heavily beamed stone built country cottage, set in a quiet wooded spot on the edge of town next to a traditional English country pub, yet within short walking distance of Crowborough's two main business parks, local bus services, and the mainline station with trains to London which is just an hour away. Whether your stay is for business, pleasure, or a mixture of the two, we make sure your day gets off to a great start with a wonderful breakfast, and a light packed lunch too if required. There is plenty of car parking, free WiFi, flat screen TV and a hairdryer in your room, comfortable beds with quality linen, fresh fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries. We look forward to meeting you and making your stay in Crowborough most enjoyable....... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hill Cottage Crowborough

Address: Hill Cottage Mount Pleasant, Crowborough TN6 2NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Crowborough
Price Range: $50 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hill Cottage Crowborough United Kingdom
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hill Cottage Crowborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Lovely pub next door offering traditional ales, wines and evening meals.”
 of 5 bubbles GaryBSutton_Surrey, Sep 18, 2016 | Read review
“Number 1 had nice views down towards the pub and valley.”
 of 5 bubbles Bindertech, Jun 29, 2016 | Read review
“The twin bedded room with the ensuite is lovely and quiet and overlooks the back garden.”
 of 5 bubbles Rita713, Apr 12, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are brilliant! Depends if you want an ensuite or not!”
 of 5 bubbles 878kerrif, Apr 5, 2016 | Read review
“Sat Nav and a torch .Pub opposite ,no noise.”
  • FRONT ROOM
 of 5 bubbles greggM403, Apr 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question