We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Matakana Country Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Matakana Country Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 89: English reviews
Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 10, 2016

We received a wonderful welcome from Susan on our arrival, where we were shown around the property, which is beautifully presented and to our room, the Champagne Room. It is massive with a huge bathroom, windows all the way round and a circular verandah. We had canapés and wine early evening (complimentary), which were taken on the terrace overlooking the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 19, 2016 via mobile

Matakana Country Lodge is set in the countryside near Matakana with far reaching views towards the Coromandel. The property is exquisite and is a credit to the hard work of Susan and Garth, who proved to be excellent hosts. On arrival we were offered drinks and canapes on the terrace. Susan had, knowing that local restaurants would be busy on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian2011
Bungay, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 19, 2016

After a long drive and over an hour stuck in traffic we arrived later than intended at Matakana Lodge.Out came Susan to welcome us with an immediate offer of a cold drink which we accepted ....it was taken out to the pool for us to relax and enjoy.In addition to this she had provisionally booked us into a local restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluecarmg
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed January 20, 2016

This is one of the most spectacular settings you will ever see. Sitting on top of a ridge you can literally see for miles. The accommodation is very nice; clean modern and Quiet for sleeping. Garth and Susan could not be more welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen E
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed January 4, 2016

This is a very good place, with the luxury of a motel but the personal touch of home. Clean and comfortable, inviting and airy. Pleasant owners. Matakana is a lovely place to visit with good walks and cafes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emily12000
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 9, 2015

This B&B is a Queenslander style house set on an amazing vantage point. Our room was well equipped and opened out onto the patio area. It had a pool and a Hot Tub. Garth and Susan very good hosts - wine and nibbles hour a great idea in getting to meet fellow guests. Unfortunately I was suffering from an upset...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek P
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed June 20, 2015

Matakana Country Lodge is a bed and breakfast set well off the beaten track with wonderful views of native bush. This accommodation is immaculately kept and perfect for getting away from it all. We stayed in the champagne room which is the largest room with a nice personal balcony. Luxurious bathroom and comfortable bed. The welcoming hosts offer pre dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1811027Scott
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Yes our driveway is not for the faint hearted being part gravel, part concrete and fairly steep. I do worry about guests arriving for the first time after dark - they must wonder where the heck they are going as it is also pitch black being rural. Most people arrive...

Aberdeen Scotland
Reviewed May 8, 2015

We had 'confirmed' bookings for two seperate nights, 6th and 11th March. The confirmed bookings were made over 8 months in advance. Arrived around 4pm on the 6th to be informed that the owner had cancelled our booking. Two lame excuses were given for cancellation, one, 'customers do not usually book two seperated nights', two, ' I was awaiting a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 28kiwi
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this review

It was a shame that in 5 and a half years of running the lodge you were the first booking I mucked up. I took full responsibility for my actions and did my best to right the wrong as you well know. I am really disappointed that you felt it necessary to write this review but I hope you feel...

Hungerford, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 4, 2015

We stayed just 1 night in this most beautiful house. More's the pity. Our hosts were lovely and even had breakfast with us before our departure. The scenery and the peace was so special. A most welcoming retreat from the world below.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mau G
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this review

Yes it is a shame we have so many guests only spend one night. It doesn't give you time to appreciate what the area has to offer. Glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us. Cheers! Susan

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed March 24, 2015

We booked this place very last minute on the day we arrived. We weren't expecting much as we booked last minute and although reviews were good the website didn't look like it would be anything extraordinary. However when we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised. We were the only ones staying that night. We wished we could have stayed at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lifeisbeaut
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your detailed description of the property in general. We get told on a regular basis that the website images do not do the property justice. On the flip side, guests expectations are exceeded which is always nice. Thank you also for making the statement "you need to stay more than one night". We try telling...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
2.3 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
62 reviews
5.1 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
129 reviews
3.4 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 8 in Matakana
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 10 in Matakana
61 reviews
3.0 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
76 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#5 of 10 in Matakana
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
T ... more   less 

Additional Information about Matakana Country Lodge

Address: 149 Anderson Road, Matakana, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Matakana
Hotel Class:4 star — Matakana Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Matakana Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Matakana Country Lodge staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Matakana Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms are lovely but champagne room is the largest one with a personal balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 1811027Scott, Jun 20, 2015 | Read review
“All 3 rooms are beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles maddiecornwall, May 4, 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in the Chardonnay room which was very nice. Other reviews suggested that the Champagne room may be a bit larger with its own spa bath.”
 of 5 bubbles I2455VSkellys, Feb 5, 2015 | Read review
“All three rooms are lovely, Champagne is the biggest and has a spa bath”
 of 5 bubbles mfranks911, Jan 30, 2015 | Read review
“All 3 are delightful.”
 of 5 bubbles DebOz, Jan 14, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay