We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,214: English reviews
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Our initial rooms were musty smelling (finally was able to secure another room after two days) and hours to check in. As an all-inclusive the food choices were poor, food was only just passable, there was a very large beach but the water was unswimmable, too many kids in the adult pool, kids were not well disciplined in the Family... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank PA_Ridgeman
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear PA_Ridgeman We are really concern with your comments about our resort, we regret for not meeting your expectations with the quality of the Food and Beverages, you can be sure that when you share this information with us, we are going to take the necessary actions to do the in order to improve even more our guests experience and... More 

Warwick
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

My new wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon, we are HHonors Gold members and were treated accordingly at check-in, i.e. taken to the HHonors office. We got a nice room on the ground floor of Building 3 right next to the pool. The all inclusive nature of the hotel is ok, but the food isn't always great at... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MLS_8
DoubletreePuntarenas, Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear MLS_8, Thank you very much for your positive comments. It is wonderful to know that you had a memorable experience celebrating your honeymoon in our Resort and in Costa Rica, a place without artificial ingredients in the happiest country in the world. We like to provide to our guests, the best memories, offering a great variety of food and... More 

Washington DC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed here with my husband at the end of an 8 day visit to Costa Rica. Check-in was not crowded because we arrived very early; I was a little disappointed that even though we arrived early we still were not able to check into the hotel any earlier than the 4 pm check-in time. Most hotels make an effort to... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank atravelerr
DoubletreePuntarenas, General Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear traveler Thank you very much for bringing these issues to our attention, because in that way , we may address our improvements areas. I really sorry that your check out process was not as efficient and fast as you would have expected, I am very concerned about your comment because we have an exclusive Hilton Honnors desk, as well,... More 

Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed there with my wife for our 10th anniversary Aug.7-11. Everything was perfect - we have no complaints. Staff was friendly, helpful, polite, spoke fluent English etc. We had a warm welcome from the front desk and especially we want to thank Cecilia, who was really friendly and also gave us all the information we needed and so on. The... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank kradik
DoubletreePuntarenas, Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear Kristjan and Marina It is delightful for all of us to read your wonderful comments about our service. We thank you for having chosen our resort as your preferred destination in Costa Rica. Your appreciation of our facilities, services and staff has a great meaning for us and for everybody who read the Trip Advisor suggestions. I will personally... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We just returned after staying here for 1 week and had a decent time. We stayed in building 3 with a corner room, which we understand is the best building. Our checkin was smooth as we were escorted to the Hhonors office for checkin. I wish I would have known that Hhonors members get free wifi, because I would have... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank AvidTravellerDub
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We had a room in building 3. :) The only problem we had with the room is not having hot water during the day. We hired Dimas for pick up to and from the airport. I would defintely recommend him. He also booked the ziplining for us, but we rode with another couple by cab. The Zipling/Horseback riding was fun.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank csmoore30
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The staff at this resort was wonderful. Very happy people and helpful. Go relax and enjoy. If you want a Hilton - try NYC

Helpful?
Thank BAMDJG
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear Bamdjd I am very happy to hear that the staff took as such good care of you because this is the goal we want to reach; I always encourage our Staff to keep going and create good memories . Motivation is really important and we feel grateful to know that your stay was wonderful. Hope to see you return... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Well arrive on a Monday..,staff very helpful....stay in room 3117---what a nightmare:( air conditioning not working room smell like mold the room was book for 4 people and we only had three towels ..hot water was Shut off for a period one evening without previous heads ups...all together not good to go with little kids I have 4 and did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ticojosh
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Arrived on a Friday at noon. No upgrades available, but our building 1 room was fine. Maybe because we were in #1139, first floor facing the ocean/hammocks. No noise issues, other than other guests returning to their rooms late, but that was only on the weekend. Very quiet Sunday & Monday night. The toilet needed to be plunged once but... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank wildfelinenv
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear Wildfelinenv Thank you very much for visited our property and posting this review on Tripadvisor. What an amazing time you had in Costa Rica! Such comments make us feel proud of our people, and our country. Did you notice how close and easy driving is from our Resort of the major tourist attractions of our country? Good to know... More 

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The resort is neat and everything seems to be nicely organized. For us it was just an one night stay while travelling through Costa Rica. I should not recommend it to use for this purpose, you feel somewhat out of place when you were used to quite and calm places before. Seems nice for a longer stay when you just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Boess
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,594 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1351)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (266)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (269)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
View from Room (88)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (117)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (25)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
3:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (488)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (151)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Lobby Pool (15)
Viewed
Main Pool (18)
Viewed
Relaxation Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Two Doubles Room (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (92)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Roble
22.5 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.4 mi away
Hotel Praiamar
Hotel Praiamar
#2 of 22 in Puntarenas
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
#9 of 22 in Puntarenas
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
21.0 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hotel Arenas
Hotel Arenas
#10 of 22 in Puntarenas
3.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The closest all-inclusive resort to San Jose! Doubletree Resort by Hilton Costa Rica - Central Pacific is a modern, full-amenity, all-inclusive resort hotel. This beachfront Costa Rica Hilton hotel is perfectly situated on the Central Pacific region outside the port city of Puntarenas, Costa Rica. Located only 50 minutes West of Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO) and the Costa Rican capital city of San Jose, and two hours south of Liberia International Airport (LIR). Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner served daily. Snacks and drinks available all day long. Two a-la-carte restaurants open for dinner. All-day activities for adults, teenagers or children, nightly entertainment and lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Address: El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble, Puntarenas 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Puntarenas > El Roble
Price Range: $174 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Hotel El Roble
Doubletree El Roble
Doubletree Hotel By
Hilton El Roble
El Roble Hilton
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Province Of Puntarenas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay