We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Ghanzi

Thakadu Bush Camp

Save
Ghanzi south side, Ghanzi Botswana
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (115)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (13)

About

#3 of 12 Specialty lodging in Ghanzi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Thakadu is a family run bush camp in the middle of a private game reserve, just 3km outside of Ghanzi, 700km from Gaborone, 500km from Windhoek and 280km from Maun. We have comfortable en suite rooms, swimming pool and a bar overlooking our waterhole, as well as a very popular restaurant serving game dishes from our own farm for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available

Location

Full view
Contact
Ghanzi south side, Ghanzi Botswana
Getting there
Sir Seretse Khama Intl Airport332 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
214Reviews5Q+A30Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 71
  • 72
  • 38
  • 18
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We had a fairly comfortable night after arriving quite late. The dinner was excellent. A rustic set up but we didn’t really have enough time here to explore all that is available especially the wild life. The staff were friendly and the atmosphere very tranquil.
Read more
We stayed in a nondescript cottage here while in transit from Maun to Windhoek. It was clean and met our needs. The staff were friendly. The restaurant was better than expected. It was fine for one night, but there is nothing that we saw to recommend it as a destination in its own right. It would be a particularly long drive, but had I to do over again, I would consider driving from Maun to Windhoek without stopping overnight. I can’t speak to value because this was booked as part of a larger package.
Read more
The restaurant has a lovely outlook on the water hole where a variety of animals come to have a drink of water and it was truly amazing to watch.On top of the spectacular view the restaurant had really good food and friendly service .My stay was very peaceful and a delight .The room was equipped with hot water a very comfortable bed an air conditioner and of course a coffee stand for those who would like a cup of goodness before bed. I would definitely recommend Thakadu for those who are searching for a relaxing break or even just for an adventure as they also have very enlightening activities one being the bushman walk . This was undeniably one of my best stays in Botswana .
Read more
we stayed 1 night(thankfully) not as we had booked thru our travel agent but in a meru, cottage and 2 budget rooms. Well these budget rooms are disgusting shacks that should not even be charged for. Stinking toilets , plank shacks. we have previously stayed here on 3 occasions and this must rate as the worst, serious lack of maintenance . Wont be back
Read more
Response from Jeanette W, Manager at Thakadu Bush Camp
Responded Jul 13, 2019
I will reply to your review with our side of the story. Your agent booked what we had available, we could not upgrade you as all the other rooms were taken.The fact you could not get what you wanted made you angry with us. I presume as you have not mentiond the other accomodation you were happy with them, The wooden budget cabins are what they are BUDGET, and are slightly more expensive than camping with your own tent and bedding and using the communal ablution block. If the toilets were stinking ( I have checked they are not) perhaps you should have discussed it with the management, instead of going back to South Africa to complain.
Read more
We camped here for one night on our way to the CKGR. Our campsite was well established with big shady trees and was easy walking distance to the shower block (clean with hot water) and the main reception/restaurant. We had a delicious dinner in the restaurant which overlooks a waterhole and saw various animals throughout the evening. Bar serves cold beers and wifi was pretty good. It's a short drive to Ghanzi if you need to stock up on supplies.
Read more
Response from Jeanette W, Manager at Thakadu Bush Camp
Responded Jun 30, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$100 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BotswanaGhanzi DistrictGhanzi
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Thakadu Bush Camp
Which popular attractions are close to Thakadu Bush Camp?
Nearby attractions include Gantsi Craft (3.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Thakadu Bush Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Thakadu Bush Camp?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Thakadu Bush Camp?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Thakadu Bush Camp?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.