We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Hare And Barrel Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Hare And Barrel Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 60: English reviews
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We arrived to a warm welcome and the room was fine for our stay. After a quiet nights sleep we enjoyed a lovely breakfast. Great hospitality! The black pudding was excellent. Plenty of parking and the free Wfi worked. Would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Juliette C
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found this place very friendly and welcoming. Basic , but had everything we needed for our overnight stay, staff were chatty and helpful, food was fine, been reading on here people saying its dated, suppose it is a bit, but hey, its a place to sleep and it was clean. if you feel you need all ultra modern stuff... More 

Helpful?
Thank denise b
Shropshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was OK with everything you needed, best of all they don't scrimp on the Tea or Coffee in the room that to me is a plus point. The only down point was having the wash basin actually in the room but that's down to the space available. Staff are very friendly and courteous as are the locals and other... More 

Helpful?
Thank nutterathome
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

Very friendly place and the food is of a high standard with plenty of choice too. I cant give the place a 5 as its a bit dated. I found my room clean and tidy, the shower could do with being bigger but it worked perfectly. I would go back there again no probs just don't expect the ritz ok.

Helpful?
Thank Jamie O
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

I arrived to be welcomed by a friendly receptionist who showed me my room which was around the back of the hotel itself. The rooms are separate from the hotel which pleasantly surprised me. I researched the history and found that the rooms are actually converted old stables. The room features traditional dark Victorian ceiling beams and doors. There is... More 

Helpful?
Thank 226jeanies
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights and got such a lovely welcome. We arrived and the pub itself was full of locals who created such a warm and friendly atmosphere, and the smell of good old pub grub was amazing! The room was spotlessly clean, warm and had everything in it that we needed, including plenty of space to store... More 

Helpful?
Thank LadyCat01
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2016

A lovely welcome from the girl on reception! We were in room 11, at a quick glance we thought old fashioned but ok!?!? Oh how wrong we were! The furniture looked like it all came from rejects from a charity shop, peeling edges, stained, splashed dirty marks. I'm assuming the bed came from the skip at the back of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sara T
Malcolm R, Owner at The Hare And Barrel Hotel, responded to this review

This whole complaint is down to not finding these guests when their taxi turned up. On arrival it was explained that they should book a taxi for a specific time as Taxis in our town are very hard to get at weekends. The driver turned up at the requested time in reception but the guests were not there. We called... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, the staff were all very friendly, breakfast good, however the accommodation is very dated and it needs a complete refurb. In fact another couple who were due to join us checked out within 10 mins of arriving and went to an alternative hotel around the corner.

Helpful?
Thank Liz M
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2016

Stayed for 1 night in room 8, and am pleased to report that the feather duster has been used as I could not find the previously mentioned cobwebs. The room was clean, warm and quiet - situated out the back. The bed is very firm (hard) but we slept ok on it. The toilet/shower room was compact and the shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carole M
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2016

The young lady who escorted me to my room was very polite and I had been contacted earlier in the day to check that I was aware that the hotel was closed Sunday evening. I was in room 8, a double room of reasonable size and with decent furniture. However the mattress on the bed was dreadful, like laying on... More 

Helpful?
Thank tojo33
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watton
0.5 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
11.6 mi away
Premier Inn Thetford Hotel
6.8 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Willow House
The Willow House
#1 of 3 in Watton
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
2.6 mi away
Phoenix House
Phoenix House
#1 of 1 in Little Cressingham
5.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Hare And Barrel Hotel

Address: 80 Brandon Road, Watton IP25 6LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Watton
Price Range: $87 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hare And Barrel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hare And Barrel Hotel Watton, Norfolk, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay