We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Meadow House

2A High Street, Burwell CB5 0HB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Meadow House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

We hope the owners take note of the following to improve the experience for future guests. Upon arriving, from the outside the B&B looks inviting enough. First impression when entering was one of clutter and entering someone's home - it was a bit confusing. We went up to our room and to be honest it felt like a time warp... More 

Helpful?
Thank LilMissLanza
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

Hilary's Cottage is well positioned in the pretty and well kept village of Swaffham Prior. Local walks are well signposted and maintained and the village itself has two churches and to windmills. The cottage is spacious, sleeps six people comfortably and is very well equipped. It is charming and has character and as such is not immaculate but is well... More 

Helpful?
Thank CJB1963
Nottingham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

While our room was ok and the breakfast passable, so many establishments go to real lengths to make guests welcome and comfortable. This was absent here and we would not return. I am sure with greater research we could have found more pleasing accommodation.

Helpful?
Thank Cook6

Travelers are raving about these Burwell hotels

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

My family and I have been staying at The Meadow House B&B for a number of years and always experienced an excellent stay therefore we are shocked at the number of bad reviews which is why I have decided to write an opposing one. The trouble with TripAdvisor is that all the guests that have stayed over the years who... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 4annaspanner
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

I booked the self-catering Apt. 14 for 10 days but after the first week had to request a refund on the remaining nights because the apartment was flea infested. They did not offer alternate accommodation or even make an apology; in fact I was told I was overreacting, and that I should have told them right away because they "would've... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diana B
MeadowHouse, Owner at The Meadow House, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear you feel this way. It has been a long time since anybody has stayed in this apartment with dogs and after every stay the apartment is cleaned thoroughly, so I am unsure how this has happened; However we should have been alerted about this problem when it had arisen so we would have been... More 

North London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

We were clearly disturbing the proprietor when we arrived as she seemed more interested in the tennis on the TV than on taking us up to our room. The room iteself was a 1980s horror, cluttered with collectables, old books including two copies of the same 80s Guiness book of records, and a collection of knitted monkeys. It really needed... More 

Helpful?
Thank HighgateExigeant
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Great welcome and very comfortable stay for 9 of us in 3 separate rooms plus a self contained 'flat'; individually cooked breakfast very sensibly to a prearranged schedule, using excellent local produce (top notch sausages from Peter the butcher). All helped make the family wedding in nearby Swaffham Prior the more enjoyable. Large family size rooms, all with TV made... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Rob S
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

I stayed here one night with my Mum. Never again. We got caught in traffic, so were slightly late. The owner was very unwelcoming. We were supposed to stay two nights, but one night was enough! The shower was dirty. I was told that my trained assistance dog would need to stay in the car when it clearly states on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruth G
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Myself and my partner booked through booking.com and managed to get the last double room at Meadow House which was great as the idea was to be in the area ready for a nearby Christening the next day. When we arrived we were told we didn't let them know we were part of the christening so we were given an... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maz91186
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

When my husband and I arrived for the first of three night stays at this property only to be told by Mrs March that our fully booked pre-paid vouchers were no longer valid as we had paid this money into a Travel Company that suddenly went into receivership, and the established well known company that took over this business was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burwell
3.0 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Swaffham Bulbeck
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rosery Country House Hotel
Rosery Country House Hotel
#5 of 10 in Newmarket
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Deerview Bed & Breakfast
7.2 mi away
Bloodstock Barn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay