We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort

Save
Share
Al Jabal Al Akhdar, Jabal Akhdar, Nizwa 621 Oman
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Limited Time Exclusive
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$445
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Prestigia.com$709
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2551)
Room & Suite (565)
Videos (4)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 5 hotels in Jabal Akhdar
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Perched 2,000 metres above sea level on the curving rim of a great canyon, the resort is a secluded haven for the intrepid and discerning. Discover a cultured treasury of authentic indulgences and immersions in the destination’s rich heritage. The arrival experience takes guests on an adventurous drive – two hours from Muscat International Airport or four and half hours from Dubai – past date plantations, dry riverbeds known locally as wadis, and historical forts. The resort echoes this fortified architecture, placing guests in modern ramparts inspired by the commanding indigenous citadels and re-imagined with sophisticated contemporary interiors. A total of 115 luxury rooms and pool villas overlook either the dramatic canyon or tranquil gardens and a spa-like bathroom complete with a rain shower. Luxury villas grant guests an intimate escape each with personal villa host services and a private infinity pool overlooking the cliffs or hidden in an exotic garden. Each villa features state-of-the-art interactive LED IPTVs and spacious walk-in dressing areas, all adding to a sense of sublime luxury. A selection of six dining venues to choose from, Al Qalaa a fine dining Arabian grill concept, Bella Vista a Roman inspired restaurant overlooking the grand canyon, Al Maisan all day dining serving world classics and cooking classes or Al Baha the café deli situated in the open air courtyard. Celebrate on Diana’s Point platform with a unique private dining experience overlooking the canyons. A cliff-edge infinity pool, two Jacuzzis, children’s pool, state-of-the-art Fitness Centre and tennis court are available to enjoy. The Anantara Spa harnesses the essence of Arabia complete with a Hammam and private outdoor relaxation areas and separate male and female indoor swimming pools. The kids’ and teens’ club offers fun-filled activities for all ages. The resort presents travellers with authentic experiences, allowing them to explore the nearby culture, history and landscape. Activities include Via Ferrata, hiking, cultural tours, abseiling, mountain climbing, archery and mountain biking. Those looking to immerse themselves in the captivating traditions of Oman can visit the mountainside ancient villages and nearby heritage sites or take part in Omani cookery lessons, part of Anantara’s signature Spice Spoons series.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Bicycle tours
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
Arabic
Hotel links
Special Price:Limited Time Exclusive
2072Reviews109Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,753
  • 222
  • 69
  • 21
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Thomas F wrote a review Jan 17
Zurich, Switzerland142 contributions82 helpful votes
for the price service was absolutely not up to standard. Reservations not forwarded, orders forgotton, staff didn't seem to know anything about the hotel. Restaurant staff didnt know what they offer. It went so far that they told us meals dont existed until we showed it to them on the menu
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Maren Kuehl, General Manager at Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort
Responded yesterday
Dear Thomas F, Thank you for taking the time you took to share your review with us following your recent stay. I sincerely regret that you left our beautiful resort feeling disappointed with the levels of service you have experienced. Your feedback was well accepted and will be shared with the concerned departments for further evaluation and corrective action to be taken. We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations. We hope that despite your disappointment we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to our resort for you to experience the levels of service our guests have come to expect from us. With kind regards, Maren Kühl General Manager
Read more
Tomo wrote a review Apr 2020
147 contributions119 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
From the moment you arrive, they treat you like royalty. Every single aspect about this place is top notch: from the service, rooms to the facilities. It's one of those resorts that leaves a lasting impression. I loved walking around the resort. The swimming pool has a lovely view of the mountains. We didn't join anything but they offer a wide range of activities for both adults and children such as hiking and yoga. Our stay was perfect in every single way. I will definitely love to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
6 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from DSymes_Anantara, General Manager at Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort
Responded Apr 12, 2020
Dear snowplumeria, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your amazing review with us. It is great to see that you had an amazing time with us, discovering and exploring the culture of Oman and we hope that you brought back some great stories to tell as well. Once again, thank you and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our Resort in the near future. With kind regards, Dagmar Symes General Manager
Read more
nusaibaalmaskari wrote a review Jan 15
1 contribution
. The hotel was amazing , clean and the staff was so welcoming. but we have one complain, the room service knocking the door on all the guests and in one of the cases he entered the room without the permission of the guests
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Raquel Alce, Other at Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear nusaibaalmaskari, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that your overall experience was satisfactory and enjoyed most aspects of your stay. Thank you for your kind comments on the cleanliness, our amazing hotel, and most especially how welcoming our Team Members are. We regret to hear that you were not happy with room service knocking and entering the room without permission. We understood that one of our team member was delivering amenities in the rooms. We sincerely apologize for this experience and noted well the points you mentioned. We will ensure to highlight this to the concerned department to avoid the reoccurrence of this matter. Thank you once again for your comments which we highly value and use as an opportunity to continuously improve our products and services. We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends to our beautiful resort in the near future. With kind regards, Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort Team
Read more
Mr.Denise wrote a review Jan 14
Dubai, United Arab Emirates6 contributions
It was there for short holiday , nice , relax and comfortable hotel . Great selections of food , nice clean and simple buffet .I love the pizza , buratta salad and tiramisu . Polite chefs and service team. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Maren Kuehl, General Manager at Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Departure07943597595, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your review following your short holiday with us. It is great to know that you spent an wonderful time with us and left with fond memories of our lovely team members and the food. Our culinary team will be very happy to receive your encouraging comments. Thank you for your choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future. With kind regards, Maren Kühl General Manager
Read more
MinhTienNguyen wrote a review Jan 14
Canton of Bern, Switzerland14 contributions7 helpful votes
First of all, I really have to admit that the hotel is located in a spectacular environment, the hotel facility as well as the rooms are really great and beautiful as well as the food & beverage selection is marvelous. Now comes the but... there have been certain things do not meet the standard of a 5* hotel or the high price a guest pays for the stay. And in our opinion, this is not about the lack of effort of the individual employee, because we experienced most of them to be very eager to provide a good service, but rather about operational flaws, not really customer friendly processes and/or lack of training. 1) On the day we arrived, we were welcomed friendly with a small upgrade to the next room category (which was basically a room on a higher level) which is in principle nice, as well told that we have a resort credit of 10 OMR per room (which we already knew from the booking page). Now, we were presented the room rates we are supposed to pay which was about 2000 OMR per room while we booked for 1000 OMR through their own site. Going back and forth, the receptionist did not believe this and went back to clarify. Despite having the confirmation mail, we were now unsure if we were the ones to be wrong and checked online on their page again to get the price bucket. What we saw there really shocked us: We could have booked the room even for 500 OMR on that day - how are these huge price differences possible for a 5* hotel? We understand that there are price differences based on the demand but a 5* needs to have a certain minimum price level? Anyway, after the receptionist has gotten back to us, it seems that he would still not believe us and we even had to send in the e-mail so that the reservation department could check that. I mean looking at the price difference (2000 OMR vs. 500 OMR on that day...), with a common sense that should have been solved quickly. The whole process left us as if we were the dumb guys there, booking too early and even got a prize which is impossible. The receptionist even said several times, we have already provided you with an upgrade and the resort credits as a courtesy - this sounded a bit like a slap into our face since this upgrade has been provided considering the price of 2000 OMR. We asked to talk with the duty manager just to clarify this issue and they promised us that she/he will get back to us as soon as possible. For 2 days, we have not gotten any calls regarding this issue despite the fact that we have reminded them 2 and every time, there has been an excuse for why she/he would come back to us later. No one did until the checkout day... 2) There is a fine dining "Al Qalaa" which we wanted to try out. We made a reservation about a week before staying there via e-mail and also got a confirmation e-mail for this. On the day of the dinner, we went to the restaurant just to find out that there is no reservation on our name and that the restaurant is full. We then showed the reservation confirmation and they asked us about the name of the employee who did the reservation. Instead of providing a solution immediately, they threw the colleague under the bus in front of us by saying that "Oh, it's her? She must have totally forgotten to put you on the list and so on...". How does finger pointing help in that situation? So with some effort in the end, we have received the table but would have imagined for such a price that we would not have that hustle to just get a table - again, there is the feeling that you need 3) There is a happy hour (50% on drinks) from 5-6pm and we kindly asked the waiter if we can still place an order at about 5:55 to benefit from the happy hour. He said in full confidence that this is no problem at all as long as we place our order before 6pm. Having done so, we received the drinks, no problem. But when the waiter brought us the bill, 2 drinks were on the happy hour rate and 2 on the normal ones. He explained and discussed with us that this is due to the system and anything after 6pm that he has to type in is not eligible for the rate anymore. We cannot understand this since he promised that it is possible at all and did not even mention this mechanism. After a discussion of 10 minutes and him going to his manager in the end, we got the reduction. Do not get us wrong, for us it is not about the money but rather about the expectations and promises a hotel does. And for a 5* hotel, we would expect something differently. 4) Last but not least, there are some smaller things that could have been improved. Maybe it was due to COVID but for a guest that should not be noticeable. In the SPA area, water, fruits or towels should be provided and stocked up on a regular base. While there were no fruits at all, we had to ask twice for water and towels, otherwise, they would have not been refilled that fast. Also, during dinner, waiters were constantly asking to clean up plates even if the cutlery are not in the "4 o'clock" position. We had to always be cautious that a plate would not be dragged away even if we haven't finished it. Again, for us it is not about the money, otherwise we would not have booked the hotel. But when you pay a certain price then you expect a certain level of service. One of this would not have been a problem but all this together, that sums up to a level that makes the memory of the stay not really great. No one seemed to take our seriously and it has been only on the last evening / check out day that all of this (point 1-4) has been addressed. Only until then, we got a small excuse in form of a champagne bottle and 10 OMR each on the final bill. But no explanation or real excuses at all or even the possibility to talk to the duty manager. Bottom- line, since we did not receive any explanation, do not book to far in advance, because you might be "ripped off" even though it might not be intentionally.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Maren Kuehl, General Manager at Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort
Responded yesterday
Dear MinhTienNguyen, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your detailed review with us. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the spectacular location of our resort, the hotel facility as well as your rooms. Our culinary team will be happy to know that you appreciated our food and beverage selection. However, it saddens us that despite our efforts you left feeling disappointed with some aspects of your stay and that we have failed to deliver the high levels of service that you have come to expect from us. Please rest assured that we have taken good note of your constructive comments and we have shared them with the concerned departments to take the necessary corrective action. We take your feedback very seriously and I sincerely regret the shortfalls you experienced, and any frustration caused as a result. Nonetheless, we hope that you will keep some positive memories of your experience as it will be a pleasure to welcome you again. With kind regards, Maren Kühl General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$245 - $638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
OmanAd-Dakhiliyah GovernorateNizwaJabal Akhdar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
115
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort?
Nearby attractions include Jebel Akhdar (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Al Maisan at Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort, Bella Vista at Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort, and Al Qalaa at Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.