We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar

Room/Suite (4)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$108
Agoda.com$108
Tripadvisor$108
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... made pond. There is no landscape, no flowers. Lobby is nice. Room.is large but there is no screens on windows so you can't...
... Overall prices are slightly on the higher side.The double room was Ksh 11,000 for BB that accommodates. The Menu at the...
... worked out well through the whole visit. Large comfortable room with a private terrace. Comfortable bed. Very nice common...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Traveler wrote a review Mar 2021
Kyiv (Kiev), Ukraine493 contributions114 helpful votes
Overpriced for what you get. Hotel is in a middle of grass field There is nothing there but man made pond. There is no landscape, no flowers. Lobby is nice. Room.is large but there is no screens on windows so you can't open them.for.fresh air. There is no fan, no AC. TV has 7 channels.
The worst is stuff. There is no receptionist. Bartender / manager is not pleasant . And all stuff are like that. Upon entering we were just standing there helpless while they were passing us without even asking if we need anything .
Get your act together people. Learn some hospitality and how to treat your guests
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Phillipa Bengough, Owner at Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Responded Mar 8, 2021
Many thanks for taking the time to review Soames Hotel. We always appreciate the feedback we get, and will take on your comments positively and constructively. We are an 'out-of-town' hotel and have never pretend to be anything other than this. If you were looking for a more wilderness place to stay there are many lovely options. We keep our grounds simple to conserve the amount of water necessary to keep them going. When we started this project 8 years ago there was literally nothing here so we are happy to at least have some medium size trees growing. All our rooms have 5 big windows and double doors. They all open up fully and we do not need screens as we have so few insects. The bed has a mosquito net for night time use. As for 'value for money' we rate along the same lines (or lower) than most similar properties in the region. I am sorry for the poor service you received - we mostly get excellent comments about our team - almost all have been here since the start. I believe it was not intended, and we are grateful you pointed this out so that we can look at ways to ensure guests on arrival get a little more attention. Hope you enjoyed your time in Nanyuki.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace K wrote a review Nov 2020
Juja, Kenya25 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We stay with friends in the cottages for two nights. The staff were welcoming and helpful.The entire grounds, buildings and rooms were well kept, clean, cosy with a simple farmhouse concept. Meals are prepared fresh and decent portions of not too hungry😋.
We appeciated beautiful sights of Mt. Kenya from the cottage rooms and outdoor dining area.
Overall prices are slightly on the higher side.The double room was Ksh 11,000 for BB that accommodates. The Menu at the time due to COVID was alacarte and not buffet on average meals range ksh 1000-2000.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Eric G wrote a review Feb 2020
Nairobi, Kenya7 contributions
Spent 2 nights with friends. All worked out well through the whole visit. Large comfortable room with a private terrace. Comfortable bed.
Very nice common lounge with a large fire place, bar and terrace.
Food was great with a good menu.
Best of all were the very friendly and accommodating staff.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
ChintaSouthAfrica wrote a review Dec 2019
South Africa69 contributions21 helpful votes
Very well located. Attractive bedrooms. Sunday night is not ideal as it was on skeleton staff and staff looked tired.
Food was good. Beautiful view of Mount Kenya. Wake up early to get your best view. Good reception/lounge area.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
petersinclairis wrote a review Nov 2019
Lavington, Kenya4 contributions
You feel welcome the moment you arrive, even before being greeted by the helpful staff. You can sit in the comforting dining room or on the terrace overlooking the garden that heads in the direction of Mt Kenya. Food is really good: fresh, local and well cooked. Wine list is above average. Service is very good too. Impressive.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Previous