We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at The George Townhouse

Room/Suite (206)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$85
View deal
Expedia.com$85
Priceline$85
Hotels.com$85
Travelocity$85
Orbitz.com$85
Agoda.com$84
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... the last time. We stayed for three nights in a deluxe double room, it was lovely, really spacious and the bed was super comfy....
... I’m poorly & can’t get there. I had booked a non refundable room, payment in full before attending I admit, however I didn’t...
... the rooms were an excellent standard. We stayed in a classic room which was not massive but more than adequate. There was no...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Katharine M wrote a review Sep 14
6 contributions
+1
We have stayed at this hotel before, but not for some years. We returned because we had enjoyed it so much the last time. We stayed for three nights in a deluxe double room, it was lovely, really spacious and the bed was super comfy. The bathroom was great with a roll top bath, very large shower + great temple spa products.
There is a nesspresso machine in the room which we made good use of.
All of the staff who looked after us during our stay were superb, they are a young team, but you can tell they have all had good training and were polite,friendly and helpful at all times.
We ate in the restaurant on all three evenings as the food is so good and there is plenty of choice, all of our meals were superb, especially the lamb and the steak.
The breakfasts are excellent, as well as the usual continental buffet there is a great choice of cooked dishes. I really recommend you try the poached eggs which were amazing.
I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel if you are in the cotswolds, it is fantastic value for money and the staff really make it an enjoyable experience
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The George Townhouse
Responded 1 week ago
Katharine M, we're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us! We look forward to your next visit! Take care! SImon Taylor General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chimpa wrote a review Aug 2022
Tamworth, United Kingdom18 contributions32 helpful votes
I asked to move our hotel booking as I’m poorly & can’t get there. I had booked a non refundable room, payment in full before attending I admit, however I didn’t know I was going to be ill.
The rude woman on the phone just said, well you should of picked a different rate!! I only wanted to change the date, not have a refund but she wasn’t interested.
Told me hotel policy blah blah & I should contact booking.com. I told her I already had but she was totally vile & didn’t care.
Don’t bother booking with this place! They took our money & then basically thought well f*** you we’ve got your money & don’t care if you can’t come.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The George Townhouse
Responded Aug 16, 2022
Hi Chimpa, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. If you'd be willing to provide more feedback, please reach out to myself on my email gm@thegeorgeshipston.co.uk so I can assist you further. I hope to hear from you soon. Simon Taylor General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charlotte W wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
My husband and I stayed here on the 16th July as part of our weekend away. It is quite a beautiful building and the rooms were an excellent standard. We stayed in a classic room which was not massive but more than adequate. There was no wardrobe but as we were only there for one night it was fine. Fans were in the room without asking. Nespresso coffee machine provide and you could help yourselves to refills and water downstairs. Lovely bathroom with an amazing shower. Really friendly staff. We did not eat in here at night as we had booked somewhere else but wished we had the food looked excellent. Breakfast in the morning was delicious with a good selection. Centrally located to walk around d the town with the car park and outdoor area round the back. Lovely little town not too busy. We'll worth a visit !
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The George Townhouse
Responded Jul 25, 2022
Charlotte W, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CumminLondon wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom11 contributions40 helpful votes
Enjoyed a great two night stay at this lovely hotel. Plenty of parking spaces at rear of hotel. Rooms comfortable and well equipped. Had two excellent evening meals and good breakfasts. The real highlight are the young, friendly and efficient staff who make a great team. I snapped my key in the lock for my room and they went out of their way to help resolve the situation (especially Georgie who was a real star). Thank you Team George Townhouse for a perfect stay.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The George Townhouse
Responded Jul 11, 2022
Hello Cumminlondon, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. At the townhouse we pride our selves on providing the best service and experience for our guests. I will pass on your kind words to both Georgie and the wider team. Have a great day. The George
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie w wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Nothing was too much trouble , fantastic very large room . Evening meal amazing , breakfast generous portion . All the staff so friendly especially Ben . Will be back again for sure . Highly recommended place to stay 👌
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at The George Townhouse
Responded Jul 4, 2022
Thank you so much Julie. It was an absolute pleasure to have you as our guest. We really appreciate your taking the time to leave us your feedback as well. We very much hope to see you again some time soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456