We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at The George Townhouse

Room/Suite (197)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$72
View Deal
Orbitz.com$73
Travelocity$73
Expedia.com$73
Hotels.com$73
Hotwire.com$73
CheapTickets$73
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... visit a local attraction we picked the The George Townhouse on a whim. Glad we did, adequate parking, a well appointed bar and dining area. The room we had was large, with a very large and very comfortable double bed. A decent en-suite. We even had a Nespresso although working out what...
I had a lovely stay at the George. The staff were very friendly and attentive, the food and drinks were really tasty and the room was beautiful and clean. I would definitely visit again and recommend the George to friends and family.
... our meal if every thing was ok, and it was! We were not hurried and everyone cleared their plates with a smile on their faces, clearly still looking forward to choosing a tempting desert - there was still a little bit of room left for more indulgence at The George :) Will definately return...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
All will be revealed (be ready to groan). Taking the opportunity to visit a local attraction we picked the The George Townhouse on a whim. Glad we did, adequate parking, a well appointed bar and dining area. The room we had was large, with a very large and very comfortable double bed. A decent en-suite. We even had a Nespresso although working out what capsule we needed led to producing lots of froth! I did warn you. We paid for the breakfast and was not disappointed. Decent quantity well presented and cooked. Ok there’s a but, all be it a small one. We had a room on the High street which suffered a little from noise, the locals do like the sound of their car horns, especially at 07:30!! I don’t know how they’d fit secondary glazing though. Only an hour from home but we’ll use again.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review of your stay. We're ecstatically pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. All of the team read our reviews and it's a real boost to know that our guests are enjoying themselves. I'm sorry that the locals disturbed you early in the morning. Next time you stay with us, we would be happy to book you a room with a church view, negating this problem.

Thank you once again, we very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I had a lovely stay at the George. The staff were very friendly and attentive, the food and drinks were really tasty and the room was beautiful and clean. I would definitely visit again and recommend the George to friends and family.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It means a lot to us that you really enjoyed every aspect of your stay and that you left us happier than when you had arrived. We very much look forward to seeing you, your friends and your family in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We had a perfect, relaxing and tasty Sunday lunch with our family members, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff when we asked.

The staff were not overly fussing us, which was good, and did ask us once during & at the end of our meal if every thing was ok, and it was!

We were not hurried and everyone cleared their plates with a smile on their faces, clearly still looking forward to choosing a tempting desert - there was still a little bit of room left for more indulgence at The George :)

Will definately return...
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for such an honest, detailed review. I am so glad you enjoyed your experience at The George Townhouse and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will not go to this hotel again. Room and restaurant good but that is where it ends.
First morning breakfast took forever to come. Complaints from guests to no avail. Staff barely visible. No explanations until forced to. Other guests also unhappy. Scene from fawlty towers. Returned from our day sightseeing and definite lack of housekeeping. Bed looked almost as it was left. Not all bins emptied.
Breakfast today improved. More dedicated staff. However while talking to other guests it appears they had similar issues with the breakfast on previous day but were unhappy that there room also showed lack of housekeeping. This couple had stayed here before and the decline now will not prompt them to return again. Not a cheap hotel either - poor value for money.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019
Room Tip: look around for other hotels
See more room tips
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for this review. As great as it is to read positive reviews its also great to read the negative ones and act upon the comments made. In this case however I'd like to reiterate the explanations for the blip in service standards and also apologise once again for the housekeeping errors.

Firstly, the unforeseen equipment issues did set us back significantly as I explained to all the guests that morning. We did manage to get this resolved very quickly with an emergency call out from our engineer meaning we could still serve, just slightly later. It did however mean that equipment was not ready when it should have been and breakfasts took longer to come out. I made the call to carry on serving cooked breakfasts just with a longer wait rather than not serving hot food and restricting guests to the continental option only. Unfortunately your experience was also affected as front of house staff were also working hard to assist the kitchen in serving.

I do feel your point raised about no explanations until forced to is slightly unfair. I managed that morning to make my way around the majority of the guests to apologise and explain as to why there was a delay. They all seemed very sympathetic with my reasoning. I also waited a number of hours after my rota'd finish time to explain to you in person as to why the delays occurred.

Please do not feel at all that I am making excuses I am as frustrated as you as to the breakfast situation. The housekeeping problems however is unacceptable. I will be catching up as a matter of urgency with the full housekeeping team to review their procedures and the standards they should work to. I also since have seen that my colleague has offered you a repeat complimentary stay so that your experience can be one to remember at our usual high standards.

Once again my sincere apologies for the poor experience you have had here at The George and can assure you, as you saw on day two's breakfast, the first morning was anomalous and not representative of our service standards as a whole.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
+1
yes we've stayed here before but now since the last overhaul all we can say is ..wow.
What a truly incredible place it is. The young management crew are certainly doing an excellent job too. Room very spacious with everything you could need for a relaxed break a large comfortable bed ensured a good nights sleep then the coffee machine for morning drinks was very welcoming. Breakfast first class and the full English was certainly filling and tasty with all the extra's that go with it. We have always visited during the weekend of he british F1 and with two tv's we managed to catch qualifying on the Saturday and also the cricket and tennis sunday, i'd got my ipad so no problem watching the actual race on the sunday through a very good wifi signal... Evening meals again first class we both had steaks which we cooked to perfection. We enjoy wandering around Shipston as its so laid back you can't fault anything and actually found a lovely little chapel this visit just a mile out of the town.....thank you all for a fabulous two days we will most defo be visiting again next year same weekend as the F1 until then have fun and continue to please your guests ...
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Response from GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse
Responded Jul 20, 2019
Wow! Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It was our pleasure to have you and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards

Matthew Hiscoe
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Previous