We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Shell Island Resort

Room/Suite (533)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$359
Fully refundable before 06/16/23
No prepayment needed
Vio.com
$322
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... oceanfront condo with beautiful views. Even better in end room, on north side, with side window. Front staff very friendly...
Nice stay. Oceanfront. We started out in a walk-out room but the AC wasn't working so we had to move the first night. The...
... arrived late and exhausted and there was an issue with our room (no fault of the resort). I spoke to the staff(Dallas) and...
Most popular question about the rooms
... states in different vehicles. I understand there is only one parking permit per room. We'll be sharing a room but have three vehicles. Is there anywhere off-site to...
Answer from Kim R
Jun 2022 |
The resort is at the end of the key and there really isn't any other parking nearby except for private residence cul de sacs and d...
Read more

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Regina S wrote a review Apr 2023
Blairsville, Pennsylvania1 contribution
Wonderful oceanfront condo with beautiful views. Even better in end room, on north side, with side window. Front staff very friendly & helpful. Especially Trinity! TMI, Each unit decorated & supplied with different amenities. Ours was very tasteful with no carpet, only rug. BYO everything or plan a trip to Harris Teeter. Our unit sparsely supplied with low quality tp, paper towels, dish detergent, soaps, need to ask front desk for additional bath towels. Pool towels supplied. Pricey but view & accessibility to beach can’t be beat!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Traditional probably old & not very nice. We had deluxe which was decorated neutral beach.Nice...
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk, Guest Services / Front Office at Shell Island Resort
Responded Apr 18, 2023
Thank you for your review Regina! We take pride in providing our guests with exceptional customer service and a wonderful experience. Please come back to Shell Island Resort to see us soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TnC326 wrote a review Apr 2023
Lancaster, Pennsylvania55 contributions31 helpful votes
Nice stay. Oceanfront. We started out in a walk-out room but the AC wasn't working so we had to move the first night. The walkout room was clean and comfortable (just hot). Management quickly offered us to move and we did. 8th floor room was very nice. Seemed to be recently updated. Clean and spacious. Water (as stated in a few of the other reviews) is bad but manageable. Overall the hotel is nice and clean. Great indoor/outdoor pool facilities. Staff are very accommodating. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk, Guest Services / Front Office at Shell Island Resort
Responded Apr 18, 2023
Thank you for your review! We apologize if you stay wasn't as anticipated. We hope you will come back again in the future, to see us at Shell Island Resort.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yvonne e wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
This resort is so beyond beautiful!!! Everywhere you look has a gorgeous view! Everyone guests and staff were so kind! We arrived late and exhausted and there was an issue with our room (no fault of the resort). I spoke to the staff(Dallas) and they were amazing. So kind and helpful and genuine!!! They(Jacob) even helped me with my bags since I have a broken foot and I didn’t even have to ask!!! The next morning a staff member followed up with us (Tiffany) and gave us wonderful advice on sight seeing and directions on how to get there. She even made special arrangements for us to have a breakfast for our inconvenience. I wish I could give them 10 stars. Best vacation ever!!! We are already planning to go back next year.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk, Guest Services / Front Office at Shell Island Resort
Responded Apr 16, 2023
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear your stay with us was beyond memorable. We work hard every day to ensure guest satisfaction and it is always nice to hear our hard work is paying off. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Shell Island Resort we can’t wait to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sunshine22667581158 wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
Excellent stay, we were very pleased. Clean rooms, excellent staff. Great indoor heated pool. Loved the room setup. My entire family loved our stay. Great parking for guests and plenty of luggage rolling racks
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk, Guest Services / Front Office at Shell Island Resort
Responded Apr 18, 2023
Thank you, for taking the time to leave us a review and provide feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Shell island Resort. We take pride in providing guests with great customer service and a memorable experience. Come back to see us soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MMC77 wrote a review Apr 2023
Waynesville, North Carolina4 contributions1 helpful vote
$735.60 Total Paid
-$674.61 - Total For 3 Nights For Premium Suite
-$60.99 - Total Resort Fee For 3 Nights

Our Unit - Premium Suite: 409

Issues:
March 27, 2023:
*At check-in we were told there was no housekeeping provided for our 3 night stay and we could call housekeeping if we needed additional towels. We were also informed that the water would be shut off that morning from 12:00 am - 3:00 am.
*Upon entering our Premium Suite
-We received 2 bath, hand and wash towels for our entire 3 night stay.
-There were no tissue boxes.
-We were given no back-up toilet paper.
-There was a semi-large ketchup or red sauce stain on the bedroom comforter.
-The lamp in the bedroom didn’t work.
-Coffee and filters were provided for 1 night.
-The dining room lights flickered/didn't work when we tried to turn them on.
-Bird poop covered our patio table and chairs.
-The furniture in our "Premium Suite" was chipped and cheap.

March 28, 2023:
*The water was not turned back on until 1:30 pm. There was no water available in our unit for 13 and half hours. We couldn’t shower or leave our room for the day to start our birthday trip until the water was turned back on.
*Construction in the unit above us started at 8:00 am and continued throughout the morning with very loud banging.
*I called housekeeping for more towels and they had no one available to bring the towels to the room. I walked to the Front Desk to pick-up fresh towels.

March 29, 2023:
*Construction in the unit above us started again at 8:00 am and continued throughout the morning with very loud banging and the new addition of the sound of drilling.
*I called housekeeping for more towels, coffee filters and toilet paper, and again they had no one available to bring anything to the room. I walked to the Front Desk to pick-up fresh towels, coffee filters and toilet paper. I was handed one towel and one coffee filter and I was told they would radio housekeeping to bring additional towels, filters and toilet paper. None of these items ever came to our room. Two hours later I called the Front Desk to let them know none of these items had come to our room...and they had no answer or apology.

We made our issues known to the Front Desk each morning and they said that there was nothing they could do and they would not issue any credits or refunds.

Pros:
*The ocean front view from our room was beautiful.
*We enjoyed having a full size refrigerator.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Little to no supplies and there is no housekeeping, so bring your own cleaning supplies; towels;...
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk, Guest Services / Front Office at Shell Island Resort
Responded Apr 10, 2023
Thank you for taking the time today to leave a review. We apologize if some aspects of your stay were not as you anticipated them to be. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and it is with mention of such items that we continue to improve the property every day. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Shell Island Resort.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456

Questions & answers about the rooms

suzannehstanley asked a question Nov 2017
Wilmington, North Carolina
Are there any 2-bedroom accommodations?
Answer from Front Desk Staff
Dec 2017 |
All of the rooms at Shell Island Resort are one bedroom suites. You do have the option of one king bed or two double beds when you book your suite. All of the rooms also have a separate living area with a full-size sleeper sofa.
0 votes
Show all answers
Jennifer V asked a question Apr 2017
Charlotte, North Carolina110 contributions50 helpful votes
What is the difference between the traditional suite and the deluxe suite?
Answer from Donna H
Oct 2017 |
Sorry,I didn't know they had 2 different suites. I know the room we were in had a kitchen and sofa dining table, it was rather large.
0 votes
Show all answers
drysilk asked a question Sep 2016
Lake Wylie, South Carolina37 contributions10 helpful votes
What are the approximate rates for a 2 bedroom unit during the month of June?
Answer from Renee J
Sep 2016 |
We were there in sept. Our room had a king with a sleeper sofa in the living room. $200 a night
1 vote
Show all answers
Answer from Cody T
Jun 2015 |
If you request a room on the 2nd-4th floor (best to call with your request ahead of time we are now in our peak season) on the south end of the resort, you can actually walk from the garage directly to your room without going through the lobby/elevator. The second-best option would be to request a room close to the elevator. Also feel free to park temporarily in our loading zone when you are coming or going, there is an elevator right inside the front entrances. We look forward to welcoming you!
0 votes
PreviousNext
1