We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Pool
at Casa Marta Cartagena

Pool & Beach (5)
17% less than usual
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$60
$50
View Deal
Orbitz.com$60
Travelocity$60
Agoda.com$50
Hotels.com$60
Expedia.com$60
Hotwire.com$60
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Pool review highlights
Lovely little hotel in the heart of Cartagena, family run. Great spacious room with great blue and white decor. Central patio with pool is absolutely lovely for a relaxing evening on one of their rockung chairs.
... we needed and then some! Hot coffee delivered to our room each morning, full access to the outdoor kitchen and living area, and the little pool/courtyard area that was the perfect place to relax after long days of shopping and wandering the city. Most importantly, the rooms were very...
... at home! This is not actually in the proper walled city, but it is still an AMAZING area and is a 5 minute walk to the main area. Also, the pool is very tiny- a few feet wide and does not have the traditional US Style Swim up bar, as you are likely thinking of it. This is a "room" in a...

Reviews that mention pool

Write a review
Lovely little hotel in the heart of Cartagena, family run. Great spacious room with great blue and white decor. Central patio with pool is absolutely lovely for a relaxing evening on one of their rockung chairs.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Marta is a cool little guest house located in the very exciting neighborhood of Getsemani, in the heart of Cartagena. The owner Marta was so friendly, and Miguel (the manager) made sure we had everything we needed and then some! Hot coffee delivered to our room each morning, full access to the outdoor kitchen and living area, and the little pool/courtyard area that was the perfect place to relax after long days of shopping and wandering the city. Most importantly, the rooms were very clean and the beds were totally comfortable. We will most definitely stay here again next time we're in Cartagena!!!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Traveled with friends
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The woman who runs this hotel might be one of the nicest women in Cartagena. She was amazing- made us feel completely at home! This is not actually in the proper walled city, but it is still an AMAZING area and is a 5 minute walk to the main area. Also, the pool is very tiny- a few feet wide and does not have the traditional US Style Swim up bar, as you are likely thinking of it. This is a "room" in a house style hotel. I think there were only 3 rooms, so you are really staying more like in a guest house, with a private room and bath. You have to ring the buzzer to get back inside, and it is VERY quiet inside. It is lovely, but just be aware of those factors. Not a traditional hotel. Again, the woman running the house is absolutely amazing. Very clean and comfortable beds!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Traveled with friends
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
First the good: Casa Marta has an excellent location, right next to the Plaza de Trinidad, which is basically where all the night life is in Getsemani. Despite being so close, the room we were in was actually quite quiet. It was clean and had everything we needed, although I don't think its aesthetics are going to blow anyone away. It was fine.

The people at Casa Marta are generally friendly, which is good, as they don't give you a key to the front door, so you need to basically ring the bell every time you enter the property. But they always answered with a smile and everything was nice.

My main issue with the Casa is that it's not really a hotel, B&B, etc. It pretty much felt like staying in someone's extra room. Upon arrival we were asked to enter our information into a spreadsheet, handed our key, and that was it. No welcome, no map, no suggestions of where to have dinner, local attractions, etc, etc . . . basically nothing that you would expect to get as the basic level of welcome when you check in to a hotel (and which we received at all other hotels we stayed at in Colombia). Again, the people weren't mean about it, they just didn't seem to care at all to offer help (e.g., we didn't even realize the pool was for our use until later when we read about it on Trip Advisor). Similarly, whenever I left the room to go into the hallway, I felt like I was staying in somebody's house, as they tended to be hanging out a few steps away (with a small child). This didn't cause any problems, but it wasn't very much like a hotel.

Overall this place was fine, as we had a guidebook and there are plenty of places nearby to have breakfast (which was not included in our stay), and there are late-night convenience stores for anything else you need. If you don't care about those sorts of services, then this place is a pretty good value for the money. If you do want that sort of attention in your hotel, then you should probably look elsewhere.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We found this hotel rather expensive for the quality on offer. 755€ for 4 nights, 3 people in the same room. Bye the way, this amount was debited from our account DURING our stay, without the slightest notice or bill, so be aware!! On my bank account there is no mention of the local currency, only dollars and euros.
We booked this hotel based on other travellers opinions, however quite a number of these opinions were recorded in 2014, 2015. I get the impression we're not even discussing the same place, something (or someone) must have changed along the way. The service generally was very average, not enough towels in the bathroom, only Spanish spoken, we had to fill in our details on a computer when we arrived, this is a first for me, and I've been in quite a few hotels and B&Bs. The swimming pool which features on various photos is just an oversize bath, and was anything but clean. On a positive note, the breakfast was good. To summarize, if you're going to fabulous Cartagena, shop around for something better than this. Otherwise, we absolutely loved Colombia.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2016
Room Tip: Only 3 rooms I think, better to avoid the small one, I had to pull the bed slightly away from the...
See more room tips
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Response from jmmv1976, Manager at Casa Marta Cartagena
Responded Jan 11, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We regret to see that you didn't have a good experience staying with us.

This is quite unfortunate as most of our guests do enjoy their stay, but we recognize that not all guests have similar preferences. For instance, some guests don't mind the language barrier at all and are aware of our billing policy, which we explained to you in writing. You also received an invoice with the breakdown of your expenses. The reason why we do this is because we've had many bad experiences where guests checkout without paying. In any case, we will further clarify our policies with the online booking agent you chose so as to avoid similar misunderstandings in the future. Additionally, we will look into the situation with the plunge pool, this time of the year is a windy and rainy one and sometimes sand and tree leaves tend to accumulate, but we can assure you the water is clean as we do maintenance in a weekly basis.

Regarding the pictures, we have this issue all the time. Often guests upload pictures onto our trip advisor page, sometimes of the wrong place and sometimes inappropriate ones. We are constantly writing to trip advisor on this matter.

We, however take full responsibility for these observations and will strive to do better.

On the positive side, we appreciate that you liked the breakfast.

With best regards

Casa Marta
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Previous